We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, gorgeous building and grounds - almost perfect!”
Review of Woolley Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woolley Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were looking for a last minute place to go for the weekend with our dog and, through an agency, we booked this hotel. I didn't realise until too late that the whole place is geared towards kids - perfect if you're a parent, less so if you're looking for a little R&R but that's my fault, not the hotel's.

Arrived late due to traffic and were greeted very warmly. All we wanted to do was collapse that night so we didn't really see much of the building until the next day. We were staying in West Gable - top floor of the main house. The room was delightful - quirky with lots of (very hard if you hit your head on them) beams but - for practicality purposes, sticking people with a dog on the very top floor wasn't the greatest thing. It was a lot of steps when the dog needed to go out very early morning!! Having said that, it was probably easier for us to be there than someone with a pushchair.

Breakfast was nice - quite a lot of choice but no full English bizarrely - and the only thing that let it down was the parents who have lost their ability to manage the level of their own voice when their kids aren't there to be shouted at. I know I'm being grumpy there - I'm sure if I was there with kids, it would have seemed perfect but it might be an idea to have some tables set aside for people without children - we weren't the only couple who heard more than we wanted to about 'Dahlia playing swingball instead of eating her croissant'.

The grounds are just lovely - manicured but not overly so. Plenty of outdoor games for kids (which we also played once the kids were in bed), and an outdoor pool that looked very inviting. For parents - the pools (in and out door) are available for children to use at all times. For adults without kids - beware - the pools (in and out door) are available for children to use at all times and are therefore in no way relaxing!

Didn't use the spa but it looked lovely. The walled garden was interesting - shame the eggs had all sold before we got to them!

Great location , really accommodating and friendly staff and next time I'll be prepared for the braying parents!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear LTH3554

Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. We try to make arrangements to suit those travelling without children for mealtimes and give guidance on the better times to swim when it is more likely to be quieter. Really pleased to see you would consider a return stay and we could recommend rooms more suited for access for dogs.

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Woolley Grange
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 446 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was, from start to finish, a superb weekend. The staff were incredibly friendly, the accommodation was superb and comfortable and the food was second-to-none. Perfectly situated on the outskirts of Bath [just a 15 minute drive away], this weekend will live on long in the memory.

Room Tip: We had the front room which was spacious and superb.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelLover613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Hotellover613

Thank you for your enthusiastic review. We are so pleased you had a great time and it is wonderful for the team to get such great feedback. It was a pleasure to look after you all and very much hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Warm wishes
Clare and the Woolley team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

To celebrate my 80th Birthday I arranged a family get together at Woolley Grange. It had been recommended and last August my wife and I drove down from Gerrards Cross Bucks to check it out. We met the delightful Clare who gave us an extensive tour and listened to our detailed requirements.We felt very comfortable with the ambiance of the lovely building and Clare,s response to our plans which entailed accommodating twelve adults and nine grandchildren in six rooms plus all food and drink over two days.
When we viewed the Wine List we considered the prices to be somewhat steep in the light of expected consumption and we decided to bring our own Champagne and table wines and to pay corkage.
Thus some six weeks ago we gathered from six different parts of the country on a Friday afternoon.The kiddies had high tea and later the adults had an informal dinner in the Orangery. Richard, the Restaurant Manager did very well to take orders from sixteen of us and together with his staff serve an excellent meal with my Fizz and wine suitably chilled.
Nothing was organised during the day for Saturday but extensive use was made of the Spa and the childrens facilities.The little ones had a nice "Birthday Party" at 5.00pm and the adults and teens gathered at 7.00pm in the large private dining room for Champagne and sat down to an excellent three course meal. The room which serves as a library and cinema had been made over for us and was beautifully presented. Again Richard and his staff did us proud.
After breakfast the following day we all dispersed to our respective homes about noon.Every one of the family commented on what a wonderful,memorable gathering it had been.The rooms were delightful,the building fascinating and the food and service was first class.
We recommend the venue for a gathering such as ours or for a nice break for parents and children. The children loved it and with the creche and evening baby sitting available Parents can relax in a "country house" atmosphere.
Daniel and Monica Moloney

Room Tip: To avoid stairs we were in Stone Cottage across the courtyard at the rear.Several of our children ha...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielmoloney34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Daniel

Thank you so much for your super feedback following your 80th birthday celebration with us. We were delighted to be able to look after you and your lovely family. Your very kind comments are a great boost for the team.

I do hope we can welcome you back for a relaxing break very soon.

With my warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Nice setting and lovely room. Really comfortable bed. Good attention to detail throughout and very clean. Our little boy loved playing in the gardens and all of the staff bar one were very friendly. Nice little touches throughout and the spa is terrific. WiFi was poor throughout but this didn't affect our stay.
The only negatives are the food and the waiting staff. The menus are confusing and a bit weird. Why are there two children's menus with very little difference between them? Main menu is seriously lacking in choice and the a la carte menu is disappointing. And what exactly is available to order from room service? I challenge you to find out definitively!
While the waiting staff were very friendly - the service was bad; we saw staff bickering with each other, tutting, huffing and stomping around. They frequently got orders wrong. They would benefit from some training and coaching and perhaps a manager presence.
The place was so nice that we'd probably go back - but I doubt we'd eat there again, even going as far as to head out elsewhere for breakfast.
A note in the information booklet advises you to tell a manager before you leave if there were any issues - if I had found a manager, I would have!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brainz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear 177Kooky

Thank you very much for your review and taking your time to give your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that the service you experience was not smooth. I would really welcome the opportunity to talk with you about this element of your stay as we are really keen to review our performance and make changes to ensure improvement. I hope to hear from you.

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay this year with extended family and took five rooms between us.

We stayed 3 nights.

It's striking distance from Longleat which the adults and kids both love.

The crèche, particularly the staff are excellent.

The food is good but I agree with the previous reviewer that the service can be a little hit and miss from a timing and accuracy perspective. Albeit very friendly. Wine list good and fairly priced, by London standards.

The decor is very shabby chic which is entertaining in the whole, but not in the restaurant when you can't put your legs under the table comfortably or some of the seats in the main lounge. I am tall though.

Overall it's a lovely and relaxing place to stay which feels more like you are staying with a wealthy friend in the country rather than a hotel (must get one of those!)

Stayed: May 2014
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear James D

Thank you very much for your review and I am so pleased all generations of your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lovely area, gorgeous hotel and more than happy with the room. However, we arrived for lunch with a very hungry 5 year old and placed our order, 35 minutes later I went to find out how long it would be and was told he had forgotten to put our order through, so all in all our lunch took an hour and a half to reach us. Same happened to us at dinner time and then when the baked Camembert arrived it wasn't baked! Shame really as everything else was fantastic and I would have given five stars if the service hadn't been so poor. The best thing is the resident springer spaniel who I would have taken home with me in a flash. We will return and hopefully won't be forgotten again

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie14Millie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Millie14Mille

Thank you for your review and I am so sorry to hear your first dining experience did not go well. We do review all feedback as a team and they will be really disappointed to hear of what happened. It sounds as though everything else went well during your stay and I hope you are reassured we can look after you the way you expect.

I hope we can encourage you tot return for another stay.

Warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

As part of the Luxury Family Hotels chain you get the usual services for children that make it so good for those with little ones (ours are 3 and 1): in particular the creche (Bears' Den) and a baby listening service so you can leave the kids in bed while you have dinner in the restaurant.

It's a lovely house and our older son loved the kitchen garden where there is a real (non-functioning) tractor you can climb on, wooden huts that are kitted out as play shops, an old tractor tyre converted into a sandpit, and a brood of chickens whose eggs you can buy.

The swimming pool, housed in a separate building (with the spa) adjacent to the kitchen garden, is good for kids with lots of water toys. There's a swimsuit centrifuge dryer which is quite handy for when you take your wet costumes back to your room.

Kids' teatime in the early the evening was very stress-free and you are never made to feel in any way embarrassed when your little ones spread a carpet of half-eaten food across the table and floor.

Food in the restaurant is good (although the chill-out background muzak became a little grating after a while).

There is free Wi-Fi in the hotel. However mobile reception (on both O2 and Vodafone) was very weak. A real fire was lit in a fireplace in the lounge from time to time (it was still a little chilly in late March when we stayed) which was lovely.

It's worth walking down the steep hill to Bradford-on-Avon which is a pretty little town with places to stop for lunch/afternoon tea.

Room Tip: We stayed in Balcony which is a few steps across a small courtyard from the main house. It's ac...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d0gwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear d0gwalker

Thank you for your detailed feedback and it sounds like you experienced quite a range of facilities we offer. We are continually looking for more and different things to offer families to encourage hem to return, whilst retaining the core aspects of the experience which work.

Hope to see you soon!

Warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
537 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
865 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
736 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolley Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolley Grange

Address: Woolley Green, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: $137 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolley Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel, restaurant and spa set in 14 acres of lovely grounds on the edge of Bradford on Avon and the Cotswolds. Freshly cooked food from the walled kitchen garden, comfy country bedrooms, open fires, children's club and ELEMIS spa with two swimming pools. Pets welcome too! Only 15 minutes from beautiful Bath...ideal for a town and country break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woolley Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolley Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Woolley Grange Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing