We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family getaway (with one disappointment...)”
Review of Woolley Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woolley Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous couple of days at Woolley Grange. Overall our trip was first class, but we have dropped a star due to one disappointment and a few (admittedly pedantic) niggles.

We were given a very warm welcome to the hotel. Our room was perfect for our needs. We are a family of four with a three year old and three month old. We stayed in Magnolia which had a sitting room-cum-bedroom, bathroom and main bedroom. When we arrived the room was prepared with two cots; however, we needed a sofa bed and had bought a Moses basket with us for the baby and this was rectified immediately. The room was spotlessly clean and well equipped, with extras such as a changing mat and naps bin.

Both children spent time in the crèche. The staff were wonderful, particularly Karen who looked after our baby and babysat for us one evening. The Den itself had so much for the children to do our three year old couldn't wait to get back there on day two! The rabbit was also a big hit.

The spa was a real treat. The pool is a good size and the spa treatment fantastic. The changing area is a little small and must get quite tricky at very busy times, but this was not problematic for us.

We all loved the walled garden and seeing what was being grown, as well as meeting the chickens and ducks! The play area and houses were really sweet and had the weather been a little warmer we could have been out there all day.

Meals in the orangery were very good, particularly the children's menu. Children's meals could either be preordered, or if ordering on being seated children were brought a small starter so rumbling tummies were kept at bay. Lunch was good but slightly overpriced. Breakfast fabulous! The staff were great - particular mention to Richard for entertaining us with his encyclopaedic knowledge of Disney and Louise for providing the 'magic pillow' for our daughter's sore tummy,

Our evening meal in the candlelight restaurant was truly superb. The coffee parfait one of the best desserts we have ever tried. Unfortunately this was where the disappointment did arise though. We had understood on booking that the restaurant was adult only in the evening, and this fact was reiterated on check in when we were shown round Woolley Grange. However, on the evening which we ate in the restaurant one family had for some reason been allowed to have their children dine with them. Two of the children were of primary school age and kept getting up from the table and at one point even started singing. (At which the couple on a neighbouring table asked to complete their meal in the adjoining lounge). This is not meant as a criticism of the family involved as the kids were just being kids and certainly not badly behaved, but of the hotel for bending the rules in this way. This meal was meant to be our opportunity for some kid free time and we had been looking forward to it for some time. Such a shame that the atmosphere in the dining room was spoilt in this way as it would have been perfect otherwise. Particularly irritating given the cost of the meal. The food is worth every penny and ordinarily this wouldn't be a problem but the atmosphere being disturbed meant the value was undermined. Unfortunately the manager was not available for us to discuss this before we left the hotel due to working patterns.

Otherwise a couple of minor pieces of feedback:
- on checking in to our room every light was left on, they were also all left in by housekeeping the next day. Despite bright days lights were also on all over communal areas. This just seemed really at odds with the sustainability message of the work being done elsewhere at Woolley Grange.
- we had to hunt down staff on a couple of occasions, once to order lunch and once to order evening drinks. Not hugely problematic and the staff were super on the whole, but may be an issue for some.
- a step for small children to use to the very high sink in the bathroom (as provided in the communal loos) would have been useful.

But overall what a fantastic stay - THANK YOU!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Ormeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Ormeley

Thank you very much for your feedback and I am delighted you had a enjoyable time.

We differentiate the two restaurants by atmosphere in that we aim to create a grown up atmosphere in the main dining room and more relaxed family atmosphere in the Orangery.
I am sorry this balance was not struck correctly when you dined and as with your feedback about staff availability to place orders, your feedback is very useful to help improve our service.

I have also passed on your feedback about lights in rooms to the housekeeping team as it sounds as though more were left on than should have been.

I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 462 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights / 4 days at Woolley Grange with our 5 year old twins and could not recommend it highly enough. The service, friendliness, accommodation, facilities and cuisine were all outstanding. The pool and walled garden are particularly delightful and the twins had so much to do at the hotel that it proved a real mission to drag them off to Bath for the day. Thanks in particular to the staff in the Restaurant and Den who looked after the twins especially well. We even managed to take advantage of having two tired twins and snuck in a candlelight dinner! We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing and enjoyable holiday and will definitely be returning. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devkumar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Stephen H

Than you very much for taking the time to write a review.
It sounds as though you tried most of the things we have on offer; great that it worked for all ages in the family!

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

All ten of us had a great weekend,1 to 70 years old. Children's facilities - creche, pool,grounds,baby sitting -were ideal. Rooms were very comfortable. The restaurant was excellent. The staff were terrific to children and adults. High quality , but very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Stephen H

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
It sounds like you tried most things during your stay and there was something to keep all ages happy!

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have visited Wooley Grange on a number of occasions now. The last time was a few years ago and then we visited again in March 2014. The food was excellent, the staff were great and especially good with the kids at mealtimes.

The new pool is great - it's not massive but it does the job. We managed to get in a swim before breakfast both days we stayed and the kids loved it.

We left our kids in the crèche for 2 hours - they enjoyed it and the team there were very professional and did a great job in looking after them.


Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Guy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guy U

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. So pleased you had an enjoyable time and hope to see you again before long.

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We went with our 1 year old after hearing great reviews . All the staff are very friendly and accommodating . The food is delicious for adults and the children's menu was perfect for our little one . There is so much for children to do but it's balanced nicely with keeping the hotel tidy ( not children's toys everywhere ) so that it feels like a space for parents to relax too . Will be back soon

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank cedar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear cedar_10

Thank you so much for writing a review and I am delighted you had such a great time.
It sounds as though the balance of family atmosphere and grown up time was just right for you.
I hope to welcome you back to Woolley very soon.

Best wishes
Clare

PS when travelling with pre-school children, come mid week and take advantage of our special offers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I was on business trip in the area and booked this hotel.
It is an old 'castle' with a calm environment.
I got a small room upstairs. it was nice and clean.
the bathroom was ok but the ceiling above it was very low.
in the sink there are 2 taps for cold and hot water. It has a vintage look but not practical...

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Yaniv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Yaniv M

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Woolley and I am so pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere. We are upgrading the last of our bathrooms this year and part of the specification is to include a mixer tap. In the meantime, please do ask for this feature when booking as this is the style in the majority of our bathrooms.

With best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I took my wife, parents and in laws to Woolley Grange for lunch with my 4 year old daughter to celebrate her birthday. The staff were very welcoming and even set up a special table with bunting for the birthday lunch. They were happy to bring out the cake we brought along and the quality of the lunch was exceptional. I'd highly recommend Woolley Grange for lunch with children or for a meal with adults. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Dan186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Dan186370

Thank you very much for reviewing your lunch at Woolley this week. I am particularly pleased to hear that as we have a new lunch menu. Birthdays should always be magical and none more so than when you are young. As your little one gets older, we offer many different types of birthday party for children, so hopefully she can enjoy many more with us.

Warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
550 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
745 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
692 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolley Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolley Grange

Address: Woolley Green, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: $137 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolley Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel, restaurant and spa set in 14 acres of lovely grounds on the edge of Bradford on Avon and the Cotswolds. Freshly cooked food from the walled kitchen garden, comfy country bedrooms, open fires, children's club and ELEMIS spa with two swimming pools. Pets welcome too! Only 15 minutes from beautiful Bath...ideal for a town and country break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woolley Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolley Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Woolley Grange Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing