We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for the whole family!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lock Quay Cottage

Lock Quay Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lock Quay Cottage
The Kitchen Lock Quay Cottage visible (far house) from the Lock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Lock Quay Cottage
The Kitchen
Lock Quay Cottage visible (far house) from the Lock
The Lounge with wood burning stove and leather sofa
The Dining Area looking out
Kitchen showing smaller sitting area with sofa bed
The Dining Area looking in
The Garden
Kennet and Avon canal from the bridge
The Double Room on the second floor
Single bedroom on the middle floor
Double bedroom on the middle floor
Twin room on the middle floor
The Lock area opposite
Welcome
The bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SueHerts
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for the whole family!”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A perfect holiday home for 8 adults, a toddler and a baby. The location and setting are wonderful, the cottage is beautiful and we all had a great time. The 2 year old loved the toy box and the adults had fun cooking in the well resourced kitchen. The cottage is warm and comfortable, just what we needed!

Date of stay: February 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EB77Londo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, homely cottage, perfect for a large group and great for a family or two”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a lovely stay at Lock Quay Cottage. We were two families with four young kids between us and the cottage was perfect for our needs. The cottage is warm and comfortable and very thoughtfully set out. The kids had a great time and loved mooching about by the canal. The owners were very helpful and the welcoming basket in the kitchen is a very nice touch. The cottage was also decorated for Christmas and had a festive ambience which helped us to maintain the Christmas mood! We will certainly be back in the future!

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage in a beautiful place”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in a large group of 10 and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the cottage to find a little welcome basket of cereals, bread and Jams etc.

The area is absolutely beautiful and the cottage is in the perfect location close to all the restaurants and cafes. It is well looked after and very spacious - even for a group of 10 it didn't feel cramped in the slightest. In fact it seemed a lot bigger than in the pictures.

David the owner was extremely helpful and answered all of my questions and queries throughout the booking process and up until the stay.

I would highly recommend the cottage to anyone and think its very good value for money compared to many of the other places i was looking at around the area.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DumfriesT...
Dumfries Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage in Pretty Town”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are a group of 6 friends who go on an annual short break together, usually abroad, but decided to go to Bath this year. Looking for good accomodation in Bath was very expensive so I decided to look further afield to towns on the railway line. We could not have made a better choice. The cottage was great value for money, with plenty of space for 6 women, 5 bedrooms and two bathrooms with an additional toilet downstairs. The house is furnished really nicely and the kitchen has everything you could possibly need, dishwasher, fridge freezer, washing machine tumble drier etc. There are games, books and DVDs, to keep you amused and a large TV, which we didn't use, we prefered to sit at the big kitchen table or at the large garden table. The garden is more of a multi tiered courtyard, but got plenty of sun. There is a lovely welcome basket with bread, milk, cake and Jam a nice bottle of lemonade and tea and coffee and a multipack of cereal, enough to have a nice cuppa when you arrive and a breakfast the next day. David the owner was helpful and answered any queries promptly.

The cottage is just across the road from the canal and you can watch the barges going through the lock and chat to the volunteers, there is a nice walk into town along the canal path. The town itself is a little gem with lots of nice pubs and tea rooms close to the cottage and a good Indian restaurant and take away round the corner. The Fish and Chip shop at the station seemed to be doing a brisk trade most nights. Bath can be quite expensive to eat in at night. The town has a Tithe Barn and Saxon church worth seeing, and there is a swimming pool and tennis courts, the cottage has racquets you can use. There are some good shops and supermarkets near too.

We found getting into Bath easy, there are regular trains either 2 or 3 an hour during the day, and it took about 17 mins to get to Bath Spa station. It is a short walk to the station using the shortcut through the new houses. Southern Rail does a sort of 3 for the price of two when buying tickets so ask about these deals if you are a large group. Bath was lovely and we had a great time there. I would highly recommend both the cottage and the town itself.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a lovely cottage in a nice location.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamB45133
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes, fantastic stay!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 8 mid twenties guys rented the house Mid June. The house was fantastic, slept 8 more than comfortably, well stocked and had all mod cons. A lovely welcome pack on arrival and great local information provided. The large TV was made use of for the opening week of the World Cup. A vast DVD/Book collection to choose from. So many great pubs within a few mins walk in either direction. The closest no more than 200 yards away. Fantastic weather made it all the better. Lovely little town, very picturesque, great facilities. Made use of the tennis courts, bike hire, canoe hire. Lovely Chip shop and Indian Restaurant as well as good pub grub at the various pubs. Perfectly located with easy access to both Bath and Bristol cities. All in all a great base for a large group of guys spending the week in the town and surrounding areas. Thoroughly enjoyed, wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann4558
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage for a get together”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Cottage was an excellent place for our family get together for my dad's 80th birthday celebrations. Family from around the country gathered in this deceptively spacious cottage.
Although nobody minded, one of the double rooms were accessed through a twin room (probably the only slight negative) Also with elderly parents the stairs were probably a little steep.
All amenities and pubs, restaurants, tea room etc we're very close and at walking distance.
Cottage overlooked the canal which was idyllic which everyone enjoyed - some even enjoyed a 2 hr canal boat trip.
The owner of the cottage was very helpful and kept in touch prior to the stay.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location near the canal and the space
Liked least: Access of one bedroom off another
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demmers
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem in Bradford on Avon”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I was looking for a place to accommodate a large group and the cottage was perfect; a home away from home. Plenty of room for us to do our activities in the living/dining rooms and a variety of different bedrooms to suit our group. If we'd have had time, I'm sure we'd have made use of all the fantastic DVDs/games/sky TV/board games! Dave gave a lot of information/advice on different things to do in the area, just a shame we didn't have long enough to investigate! Super easy to find and an affordable place to stay, with super/simple access to Bath. Would recommend to others 100%. Thank you for making it a hassle/worry free process. A real delight.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing