We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Barge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barge Inn
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Excellent roast dinner We went for a Birthday celebration Sunday Lunch and it was excellent. Very generous portions all roast Dinners served piping hot, Couldn't fault it, staff are friendly, will be dining here again and will be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiltshirefriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 247 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Easily one of the best roast dinners I have ever had! Very generous portions, amazing food! Couldn't fault it, staff are always friendly and a lovely welcoming atmosphere, becoming a weekly tradition coming to The Barge!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed for one night on my own mid-week in December and the bar was busy but not greatly, and the food was fine, in sensible portions and reasonably priced (standard pub). Breakfast was amazing, and fellow customer caught me staring at breakfast slate side plate with strawberries, croissants and toast on, and said "You won't go hungry here!" and he was right.

My room (Wharf) was small with double bed, spotless, warm with equally spotless bathroom. However, the room is small as I said, the bed is shoe-horned into the room and fine for one person without too much luggage, certainly not for two people(!), and for no more than a day or two's stay. Nice view out across the canal and lock.

Friendly service all round, but not sure about the asking double-room price for this particular room.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank mgillate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Clean comfortable rooms in a very friendly pub. Perfectly located for shopping in Bath. Superb veggie breakfast, refreshing change, no hash brownies in sight! Good evening menu. Try to get the room at the top of the building as much quieter. Not from the noise of the pub but the other guests

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here in one of the king rooms 'The Moorings'. The room was beautifully decorated, the bed was more comfy than our own bed at home, the ensuite shower room was modern clean with lovely toiletries and towels. The breakfast was amazing, choice of cereals and juices, a breakfast plate with fresh strawberries and blueberries and Greek yoghurt, rustic bread toasted with butter and jams, and small pastries ...then a choice of cooked breakfast. All the staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. We will be back! The Barge is right on the canal, parking available. Being relatively early bedders we were concerned that the noise from the bar may disturb us, it was slightly noticeable, but on closing time, which was not late, it all died down and we has a lovely peaceful night. There is a separate entrance for those onB&B, so you are not tied to opening times for access to your room. Be prepared for the narrow steep stair to the rooms, large heavy suitcase may be a challenge, we just had an overnight bag which was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JintyT615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Three couples stayed, all very pleased.
Our room small (but price reflected this) but clean; beer and breakfasts excellent (at opposite ends of the day!), very booked up and busy for meals over the w/e.
Staff very accommodating (eg we needed early breakfasts - no problem full breakfast service brought forward, was pouring with rain - they found a spare umbrella).

Room Tip: The small room is indeed small! (But was reflected in the price)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I had not been to the Barge for over 10 years since moving away from Bath. It has always been fabulously located but on my last visit it had really deteriorated. However, it is now back on form.
Good selection of beer, and good quality pub grub. Very clean inside and we love the canalside garden even through the steps up are somewhat rickety!.
Due to its location is always going to be busy and it will take some time to get served at the bar at busy times. Having said that the food comes out quickly enough and is worth the wait. If you want express service then maybe a relaxing experience in a pub by the canal is not for you!
Glad that it is back on form!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank UkAwayfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
531 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#12 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barge Inn

Address: 17 Frome Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: $97 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Barge Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
The Barge Inn Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing