We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a great setting.”
Review of The Barge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Barge Inn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a great setting.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stumbled accross this pub whilst looking for another, and was delighted we did! The views of the canal round the back were lovely and there was plenty of in door and out door seating- staff were very accommodating as we flitted between the 2 when ordering food. Prompt service and a very tasty dinner with generous portions. Would recommend to anyone staying in the Bradford on Avon area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyBoop1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    58
    18
    14
    20
See reviews for
61
97
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the barge for the first time and was much better than I anticipated. The Tithe room was lovely and spacious, very well presented too. Dinner was well cooked and great value and the staff took great care of us. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Front room staff are friendly and helpful but there really aren't enough of them. We had dinner in the bar and waited over an hour and a half for our food. We struggled to get the staff to check where our meals were as they were busy with a big queue at the bar. The food was nice but it didn't justify the wait.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickjb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location with lots of outside space - perfect for summer dining. Let down by +45
Minute wait for food and when we asked where our food was,, we were met by a member of staff who couldn't have cared less. Had we not already paid, we wouldn't have stayed. That said, the food was good quality....just a shame we were bothered by so many wasp.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We booked into the Barge Inn on Saturday morning. I was surprised by the room it was very clean, fresh and tidy, nicely decorated with excellent facilities.
Had a lovely lunch in the garden and later when the other guests arrived we went into the dining room for our evening meal, service was good, staff friendly and courteous and the food was very good. The menu was small the food fresh cooked well and presently nicely.
Breakfast was quite wonderful, fresh strawberry's, proper bread toast, Danish pastries, cereal, full English.
Would not hesitate to recommend and will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath, uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Myself and my wife ordered dinner on Saturday evening 29th June and had a drink in the garden whilst we waited. After 40 minutes no food had arrived and when we enquired were told it would be at least another 15 minutes. We decided to wait but after another 20 minutes there was no sign of the food. After an hour and 10 minutes we eventually cancelled our dinner and got a full refund. We were not the only ones who had a very long wait as there was another table we spoke to that had an even longer wait than us. It was so late by this time we had to get a take away instead. A dreadful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui_PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Well, where do I start? I feel so strongly about the appalling service and rudeness of the staff that I feel the need to share with others and warn them off!! We booked a table for 17 people tonight, 20th June 2013, but were seated on 4 separate tables, which defeats the object of dining out together! When we asked to move the tables together this was refused for petty reasons. Then when I dared to suggest to the waitress ( who I am informed, is also the manager) that we have our mains at the same time as the one peron who had a starter, she rudely responded by saying 'clearly you don't eat out often, because we always serve the starter before the main!' Quite honestly you could not make it up! Clearly Hayley, as I believe is her name, needs to go back to charm school and learn about accommodating her diners reasonable requests! The food was ok, nothing to get excited about though. We were equally unimpressed by being overcharged at the end of our meal and there was no apology or attempt to make things better, despite all of the above.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
0.7 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
433 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
971 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barge Inn

Property: The Barge Inn
Address: 17 Frome Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Barge Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
The Barge Inn Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing