We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - and what a breakfast!”
Review of The Barge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barge Inn
Sussex
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place – and what a breakfast!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it:
- The location is right by the canal & lock, an easy walk to the centre of town, and with plenty of parking
- The room ("The Moorings") was large & nicely decorated, with a comfortable bed. It was directly over the bar, but the noise was never enough to disturb us.
- The bathroom & plumbing were modern, with a large shower cubicle and a thermostatic shower control.
- Although it was part of the pub, the accommodation had its own private entrance, rather than making us enter via the busy bar
- The breakfast was fantastic! Great variety, high quality, and served by an absolutely lovely lady for whom nothing was too much trouble.
We’ll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E-EMCEE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    58
    17
    13
    17
See reviews for
59
94
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our second visit to the Barge Inn, and it was as good as the first time. Although a small room (we did book at the last minute on a bank holiday weekend) we received a very warm welcome. . Although we arrived at a very busy time, we were shown straight to our room which was clean, comfortable and well equiped. All the staff at this loverly old Inn are a pleasure to meet, and we were remembered from our previous visit.
The food is excellent, all home cooked and reasonably priced. The breakfast in particular was a joy. We look forward to another visit soon.

Room Tip: Always ask for a large double, I think they have 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew652380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We when out for a family birthday Sunday dinner, so back to the Barge to see if the food had improved, after twelve months. Not only had the food NOT improved it was a disaster, complained about quality, don't get us wrong some of the meals were not bad too good. The Beef was so tough, five people all left their meals, as totally inedible. One of the deserts (Rhubarb crumble and custard), more like rubber stodge, with over cook rhubarb and powdery custard, but, the chocolate pot deserts, well, they were in a plain old glass tumbler with a bit of thick, hard, bitter chocolate mousse in a glass, plonked in the middle of an old plate. Totally thrilling experience we don't think, unappetizing and poor service, the term used was, "All alright guys", which should have been "Is the meal to your liking ladies and gentlemen" or "how is your meal everyone"
Never again will we grace there threshold again for anything. We would go without first. We refused to pay the bill and so we all left without paying.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our stay was for 2 nights, and our room (The Wharf), a claustrophobic small double. The initial fascination with canal barges a few feet away was soon overtaken by wishing we were on one. Had to ask for a light bulb for one bedside lamp, and something to wedge the sash window open (a flowerpot was brought) within the first few minutes. There were cooking smells, and noise from the staff loading empty bottles into the bins. We agreed it was not wonderful, but as we planned to be out for most of the time with friends, not to worry. However, in the night I became unwell, and as a consequence, had to stay for the whole time in the bedroom. The en suite shower room had a window, but it was not designed to open, having no hinges or fittings, and had expandable foam squirted around it. A shoddy blind with bits falling off adorned it. There was a sweet victorian fireplace between the loo and shower with original soot. The bedroom boasted a dining type chair with stained upholstery, a perfumed plug in witha lot of dirt on it and hidden behind the curtain. In defence of this place, the Landlady was friendly, and the place attracted a lot of people due to its location by the canal, though out of the town centre. Would I want to stay there again, or recommend it? Even if I had been well, the answer would have to be no.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebS323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Decided to try The Barge after watching the documentary and then speaking to them concerning camping facilities. They were very laid back and welcoming and we have visited twice this year in our camper van. Both times we have had a great welcome, great food, brilliant live music and entertainment on Saturday nights with very welcoming locals. We are due to return in a couple of weeks with at least 3 more visits planned before the end of the year. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I booked into the Barge Inn due to it's location, I needed to stay on the K&A canal and entertain five to dinner, the Barge was convenient. When we arrived we were given a very warm reception and shown to our room. The room was clean, modern and very comfortable, quality white cotton bedding etc, etc.
Dinner was excellent, very reasonably priced well presented and generous portions.
Breakfast, we arrived 15 minutes before the official start time, but were served immediately by a very friendly member of staff. The food at breakfast was again perfect, good selection of fruit, cooked food and pastries. All we could want and more. This place is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had the most expensive room, probably priced so due to it's size but all the rooms seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were on a walking trip along the Kennet & Avon canal from Bath to Devizes.
The Barge Inn was just under half way and proved to be quite a find.
Excellent everything really. Good room (the Lock) with superb on-suite bathroom.
Some delay being served the evening meal due to the restaurant being full and only one waitress at first. Food excellent and breakfast first class.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
0.6 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
517 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Polebarn
The Polebarn
#3 of 4 in Trowbridge
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barge Inn

Property: The Barge Inn
Address: 17 Frome Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Barge Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
The Barge Inn Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing