We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what dreams are made of”
Review of The Barge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Barge Inn
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our stay was for 2 nights, and our room (The Wharf), a claustrophobic small double. The initial fascination with canal barges a few feet away was soon overtaken by wishing we were on one. Had to ask for a light bulb for one bedside lamp, and something to wedge the sash window open (a flowerpot was brought) within the first few minutes. There were cooking smells, and noise from the staff loading empty bottles into the bins. We agreed it was not wonderful, but as we planned to be out for most of the time with friends, not to worry. However, in the night I became unwell, and as a consequence, had to stay for the whole time in the bedroom. The en suite shower room had a window, but it was not designed to open, having no hinges or fittings, and had expandable foam squirted around it. A shoddy blind with bits falling off adorned it. There was a sweet victorian fireplace between the loo and shower with original soot. The bedroom boasted a dining type chair with stained upholstery, a perfumed plug in witha lot of dirt on it and hidden behind the curtain. In defence of this place, the Landlady was friendly, and the place attracted a lot of people due to its location by the canal, though out of the town centre. Would I want to stay there again, or recommend it? Even if I had been well, the answer would have to be no.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebS323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 247 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Decided to try The Barge after watching the documentary and then speaking to them concerning camping facilities. They were very laid back and welcoming and we have visited twice this year in our camper van. Both times we have had a great welcome, great food, brilliant live music and entertainment on Saturday nights with very welcoming locals. We are due to return in a couple of weeks with at least 3 more visits planned before the end of the year. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank karenWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I booked into the Barge Inn due to it's location, I needed to stay on the K&A canal and entertain five to dinner, the Barge was convenient. When we arrived we were given a very warm reception and shown to our room. The room was clean, modern and very comfortable, quality white cotton bedding etc, etc.
Dinner was excellent, very reasonably priced well presented and generous portions.
Breakfast, we arrived 15 minutes before the official start time, but were served immediately by a very friendly member of staff. The food at breakfast was again perfect, good selection of fruit, cooked food and pastries. All we could want and more. This place is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had the most expensive room, probably priced so due to it's size but all the rooms seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were on a walking trip along the Kennet & Avon canal from Bath to Devizes.
The Barge Inn was just under half way and proved to be quite a find.
Excellent everything really. Good room (the Lock) with superb on-suite bathroom.
Some delay being served the evening meal due to the restaurant being full and only one waitress at first. Food excellent and breakfast first class.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had a birthday here with a group of friends and was impressed by the menu and the quality of the food. Good service, too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Barn_Owl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We visited the barge today, and had to write a review. The whole experience was perfect from the awesome selection of real ales, the delightful food from the extensive menu, the beautiful garden with great views and lively atmosphere, and not forgetting the welcoming and accomodating friendly staff. This place ticks all the boxes and I carnt think of many places I would rather spend a Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Called in after three on a Sunday, not sure if food was still available. Service was, thankfully ,still in full swing so we sat down and ordered from the non Sunday lunch menu, which was varied and appetising. Nothing was too much trouble, even turning a starter into a main! Efficient, friendly service with a good plateful of excellent food. Not a cheap pub meal (£31 for two), but due to all of the above, super value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
531 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#12 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barge Inn

Address: 17 Frome Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: $71 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Barge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barge Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
The Barge Inn Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing