We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back!”
Review of The Barge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Barge Inn
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Barge has become our new favourite restaurant and place to visit with friends! Anytime we are celebrating a birthday, anniversary or bank holiday we always go to The Barge. The staff remember us everytime and are so very friendly. The food is always excellent so we thought where better to go than The Barge for our Easter Sunday meal! Even when the entire place was full, our food was still perfect, served quickly and well presented.
I especially love the huge garden. It is a great bonus in the summertime and there are several tables and space to spread out. We plan to keep going back for a very long time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Meg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 252 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

We went to The Barge for Easter Sunday Lunch and they were very accomodating as we booked last minute and managed to get the last table. The menu choice was very good with a few of us wanting to be healthy, some wanting Roast and others wanting Steak. Although they were full we received our meals within 20 minutes and all thoroughly enjoyed it, the staff were very helpfull and we will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StavertonBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We went as a group of three adults on a Wednesday evening, we had booked and the place was quite full. The menu is relatively plain, which was to our taste, and the food on its arrival was hot and extremely well presented.
We had a couple of steaks and a lasagna, the steaks were tasty and the chips that came with them were to die for!
The lasagna was home made served in an individual bowl, chips and salad on a slate, and tasted delicious, the portions were ample, and I can recommend the onion rings!
We couldn't resist the sweet board, and I can recommend the apple and rhubarb crumble with custard.
Prices were typical for the area, around £14 for steak, and £8 for the lasagna.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickyTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We dined at lunch time and the menu was boring with very little choice and no sign of a light meal or salad. I struggled to choose a chicken baguette. The bread was very pale and stodgy and resembled a supermarket part- cooked loaf. The salad garnish was a few lettuce leaves dumped on a horrible pool of greasy olive oil. My friend chose ham, egg and chips. As other customers have said the chips were very greasy and soggy - not very pleasant. We had to serve ourselves with the coffees which were left on the bar for ages by the unoccupied barman for the waitress to serve but she was busy! This is an immaculate pub in a wonderful spot and disappointed on the day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night with our dog. The decor is lovely as was the shower. Lovely views to the Canal, right by the road but you dont hear the traffic. Lovely place to walk along the canal from. The food was great and we were made very welcome as was the dog!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I wanted to go to a country pub near Bath with my Dad for some food- after checking out the website briefly The Barge seemed like the perfect destination and we were not disappointed.

We were greeted warmly by the girl on the bar called Rose who was lovely- it was very busy but there was a small table free for us. We then noticed another table leave by the fire and enquired whether we could sit there, to which the waiter obliged politely-he made it clear that it was no trouble.

The menu is very diverse but not pretentious or dressed up with unnecessary wording-it is simple, honest good food. There were options of platters and sharers for starters which is really nice when you don't want to have something which will ruin your main- olives, houmous, smoked fish selections, bread and dips, baked camembert etc.

All of the food is homemade and is presented wonderfully but with good-sized portions. There are all the classics from curry to cottage pie to fish pie. Good range for vegetarians as well- I had half a roasted butternut squash with spinach, red onion, cherry tomatoes and melted goats cheese- all served with a great big mound of fresh salad leaves lightly tossed in olive oil. The dish was gorgeous and I completely cleared my plate. My dad went for the chicken curry which was almost more meat than sauce-normally curries are 'padded out' with loads of sauce, but this was full of tenderly cooked good quality chicken- the chef even told us that they source all their meat locally and it is of the highest standard. The curry came complete with Naan and plenty of rice. We saw lots of other main dishes walk past us- including burgers and steaks which all looked great. They also had a great range of specials including homemade tarts and quiches- all reasonably priced.

The wait staff were extremely attentive at the right moments- and were very communicative- particularly a young waiter called Jack who was so polite and accommodating and also Rose, as aforementioned.

I will definitely be returning here soon- and if you live within a reasonable distance I would strongly recommend it- Great homecooked food in a lovely pub. The service from the staff made it even better. I would recommend booking especially for a busy service- as the interior space is not that massive.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

we meet with a warm welcome room was great breakfast was great and plenty of it
bradford on avon was within walking distance trains to bath were good or you could
to to bath and get park ride plenty of places to eat in bradford on avon

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sankei2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
547 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
541 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#12 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barge Inn

Address: 17 Frome Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: $71 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Barge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barge Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
The Barge Inn Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing