We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”
Review of Herb Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Herb Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed with Suzanne at the beginning of June and had a fantastic time. The room was very well appointed and clean, with a bed that you just did not want to get out of, and the most amazing view across the rolling fields. However what was most memorable about our stay was Suzanne herself who accomodated some very last minute requests from us with the utmost charm. We will be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Hi Nicole........somehow I seem have missed your kind reveiw of my Mothers B&B. Thanks so much for taking the time and I promise I'll be quicker responding next time!! Martin Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 97 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Suzanne's cottage, warm and friendly. Suzanne was particularly helpful in telling us what there was to see in the local area, her information enabled us to get the most out of our 3 nights. We intended to stay only 2 nights, stayed 3 and were tempted to stay longer - had a lovely time. And the pub The Plough a few minutes walk away provided good meals at a reasonable price each evening. All together we would recommend a visit to Suzanne's.
Ken and Janice

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Dear Ken and Janice. Many thanks for leaving your splendid reveiw for my mothers B&B so speedily. So glad you enjoyed yourselves and promise that one of these days I'm going to show Suzanne how to use her computer so she can respond personally. Thanks again. Martin Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Herb Cottage is a perfect bed and breakfast. I stayed a couple of nights as I had some work close by and really looked forward to going back there in the evenings. The room was very comfortable with everything I needed including a spacious en-suite bathroom with a fantastic shower and a table and chair to do some work in the evening. The decor was very tasteful throughout the house with many interesting paintings, photos and sculptures and fresh flower and foliage arrangements dotted around the house. Thanks to Suzanne (the wonderful host) I was able to have breakfast very early, 6.30am which is rare and suited me perfectly. The breakfast was excellent (I didn't have a cooked breakfast but could have if I wanted) with produce from the garden and perfect coffee all served in a light and airy garden room. The local pub was just a couple of minutes walk away with good food, ale and a friendly atmosphere. Suzanne really knows how to run a B&B, she's a lovely lady with an eye for detail and genuine interest in people. If I could have stayed longer I would have, it almost felt like a retreat and I would definitely recommend Herb Cottage to anyone wanting a B&B within a 20 mile radius of Bradford Liegh. Last but not least it's terrific value, I've stayed in a lot of B&B's across the country for my work and have a budget on how much I can spend which isn't a great deal and Herb Cottage easily falls within it. I would go as far to say it's probably in the top 3 B&B's that I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Hello Richard. I'm responding on behalf of my Mother to thank you so much for leaving such a complimentary review on her Trip Advisor site. Very glad that you had such an enjoyable stay. Many thanks again and no doubt she will look forward to your next visit. Martin Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Unfortunately we could not stay the full three nights at Suzanne's property in Bradford Leigh but Suzanne made us feel most welcome for the night we were there and introduced us to some interesting information about the crop circles. We sat with her near her warm fire on the evening we were there and had a lovely chat about all sorts of topics. Her delicious breakfast was a delight. Thank you Suzanne for welcoming us like one of your family. Pat and Paul

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Pat and Paul. Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review on my Mothers Trip Advisor site. As you probably gathered, she is not a great computer user and so it has become my job to respond. Many thanks again and glad you enjoyed your stay. Martin Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

A winding path through a well kept garden led up to Herb Cottage and a warm welcome from Susanna Wise who invited us into her garden room/conservatory, sat us in comfortable armchairs and served us tea. We felt as though we had arrived at the home of an old friend. This set the scene for a very relaxing four night stay with sumptuous breakfasts offering homemade muesli with fruit compote and Greek yoghurt, locally produced bacon and homemade marmalade for the toast. Susanna was very hospitable and clearly enjoys having guests to stay in her house. We can thoroughly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tazdevil4, Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Dear Helen. My mother doesn't like computers so I respond to her reviewers!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review for her. I will forward your message to her. Many thanks. Martin Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Set in a country garden in a peaceful rural location, Herb cottage proved to be a great place to stay. It is just a five minute walk to the Plough Inn where we enjoyed an excellent meal in the evening.
It is about 1 mile from Bradford on Avon and approx 10 miles from Bath. There is easy access to the city by bus or train from Bradford-On -Avon or park and ride at Odd down. The cottage is also fairly close to the scenic villages of Lacock, Castle Combe and Biddestone.
I highly recommend Herb Cottage.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robertscargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tazdevil4, Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Thank you so much for the reveiw you wrote about my mothers B&B. Most kind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My wife and I stumbled upon this idyllic cottage just outside Bradford on Avon almost by chance. We had stopped at the Plough pub at the end of the road for a drink and asked for a recommendation. What luck! I called Suzanne Wise on my mobile phone and she gave us directions to the house. On arriving we had a delightfully warm welcome and although we intended to stay in the area for one night only we ended up staying two. We will certainly be back to enjoy this tranquil spot again! Thanks very much Suzanne!

Room Tip: Two rooms available in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tazdevil4, Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review for my mothers B&B. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
2.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
550 reviews
2.1 mi away
Widbrook Barns B&B
Widbrook Barns B&B
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#11 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
63 reviews
1.5 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herb Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herb Cottage

Address: 99 Bradford Liegh | Wiltshire, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates: Double Room £90, Twin Room £90, Single Occupancy £55 a night. Discounts available for extended stays, three nights or more. Situated off the beaten track just 1.8 miles from the historic town of Bradford on Avon and 8.6 miles from the World Heritage City of Bath, Herb Cottage is an 18th century converted farm house offering a homely B&B. Tucked away in tranquil surroundings, this charming cottage offers one double and one twin room both with en-suite showers and one with bath. You will find beautiful rural views, a large well-maintained organic herb garden with interesting sculptures and the welcoming hospitality of Suzanne Wise. The accommodation offers: Colour TV in both rooms, Wi-Fi throughout, Hairdryers in both rooms, Tea and coffee-making, Ironing facilities, Ample on-site parking and a welcome to children of all ages. Delicious breakfast and catering for most dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herb Cottage Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing