We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best pub restaurants in Wiltshire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Longs Arms

The Longs Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $47
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Longs Arms is a beautiful country pub serving cask ale and fresh seasonal food in a relaxed environment with warm and friendly service. We are located in the heart of the lovely village of South Wraxall – just 3 miles from the picturesque town of Bradford on Avon, and 7 miles from the historical city of Bath.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best pub restaurants in Wiltshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here several times over the last 12 months and the food is excellent. All local produce served by extremely friendly and knowledgable staff in a relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    43
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best sunday roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We visited this pub by accident but glad we did. It was fully booked but was still able to give us a table. The food on the menu is sourced from the local farms. We ordered a roast (as it was Sunday). Really tasty food reasonable too.

If we where in the area we would definitely visit again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessicalaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely place to eat in peace and quiet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Four of us ate here to celebrate a birthday. We were given a warm welcome on arrival, and served drinks without having to wait. We had a table by the window at the front of the pub, which gave us plenty of space. Not at all cramped. The menu was not large, but there is something to suit everyone. I have the chicken liver pâté to start which was really tasty, followed by the sirloin steak, which was cooked to perfection. (Rare). The ladies had the lamb which was also perfect. The chips served with the steak were the best I've tasted! Brilliant! I finished off with the apple crumble and custard - again, perfect in taste and presentation. The staff were helpful and friendly. It was nice to eat in pleasant surroundings, without music blaring out, and able to have a conversation without having to shout to be heard. The cost. Slightly on the higher side, but well worth it for locally sourced produce. Overall, a lovely evening out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kleabs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant, my new favourite restaurant pubby thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great menu, updated frequently, lovely staff and a warm atmosphere. Virtually impossible to fault.......always end up having three courses when I intended to have two! Perfect for a lunchtime snack or a special evening. Well done to all the staff and management and thanks for being there, we need pubs lik this!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top notch Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the second time we have eaten here. We don't live in the area - but as we were staying in nearby Ston Easton we made a trip back here especially for Sunday Lunch.

The service was excellent and the food gorgeous. We both had the beef - the portion was generous and beautifully cooked. I really cant fault it. And the home made chocs at the end finished off a lovely meal perfectly.

If / when we are back in the area we will be back. I can fully recommend eating here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rae_Chi_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Longs Arms also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Longs Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing