We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cumberwell Country Cottages
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We were in one of the larger cottages (Meadow) for 3 nights, with 4 adults and 2 babies (less than a yr old). We had a fabulous experience, primarily because of 3 reasons-
Extremely comfortable (spacious, very well equipped and cozy)
Well located (it's 15min from Bath and amidst a scenic location)
Friendly and loving hospitability (lovely flowers and delicious cake for a warm welcome, accommodating a late check out, providing high chairs, very well thought)

We would definitely recommend this place, with or without children, both for an activity filled vacation or a relaxing time away. Surely a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying on numerous occasions at Cumberwell. Firstly on business, which if Adrian hadn't been accommodating with the dates for my stay, would never have had the pleasure of staying with them. From this returned for business, but also for family holidays, and have nearly stayed in every cottage over the past 3 years. Nothing is too much trouble, all cottages are extremely homely, spacious, clean and well equipped - all you need is your food, but not to start with as Marion ensures that there is everything there for that first cup of tea or coffee, along with a freshly home baked cake, all with a vase of fresh flowers. The hospitality offered from all the family is just like being at home with your favourite relatives!! You wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: All cottages are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Our family stayed in Dash Corner cottage, and it was stunning! Marian and Adrian have thought of everything to make your stay so comfortable, enjoyable and hassle free. The cottage was extremely spacious, scrupulously clean, and beautifully equipped. It certainly has the "wow factor."

Basic supplies, such as coffee, tea, sugar, milk, loo roll were provided, which was a lovely surprise, and fresh flowers and the delicious home made cake (the best ever, according to my daughter and husband!) were such welcome and kind finishing touches. The spacious laundry room (with powder and conditioner provided too!) was another thoughtful facility. Each cottage has a patio area with table and chairs, with views of the stunning gardens and grounds.

The bedrooms were spacious with ensuite facilities, and we have never slept so well. The beds were so comfortable!

Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable, and we hope to return very soon. All in all a completely perfect holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truffle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed at Cumberwell Cottages for a wedding, and the whole group had taken all of the available cottages on site.

There is not really anything bad I can say about the cottages, they are spacious, comfortable, in a great location and good value.
Small touches such as leaving cakes out for us when we arrived and stocking up on milk and tea for us really do help.

It is a good place for a group of friends who want easyish access to bath.

I will be looking forward to coming back here again when I can!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papsterCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed in the Tyning cottage for 6 nights and were very impressed and happy with our stay. We were welcomed on arrival by Marian who is lovely and there were flowers and a freshly baked cake awaiting us. The whole cottage was immaculately clean and very comfortable with everything we could want. The whole area is very quiet, with a lovely patio area to sit out in and enjoy the sunshine, and the visits from the two dogs just added to the feeling of being a home away from home. Thanks to you all for a wonderful few days
Jackie & John Watts
New Zealand

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Stayed here to celebrate a friend's birthday, taking several of the cottages. What a lovely place! The setting is beautiful and the cottages are very spacious, full of character and very comfortable. The golf course looks pretty good although we didn't play. A private dinner at the club house was excellent. Very well located for Bath, Bradford-on-Avon, Lacock and several other places worth visiting.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury on Severn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We booked Cumberwell Country Cottages as a last minute when other plans went to the wall. We can not be happier with our decision.
The accommodation is excellent, well fitted and comfortable.
They are all attractive and well specced with the Internet access being a huge bonus.

I can not rate this place highly enough, its location is fantastic set in beautiful country location. Golf course appears to be fantastic and the club house looks good, unfortunately I did not have my clubs so could not try.

I would stay here again if the need arrose and would have no hesitation is highly recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Trev_and_Jen_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
0.0 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
514 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#4 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
463 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberwell Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberwell Country Cottages

Property: Cumberwell Country Cottages
Address: Great Cumberwell Farm, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumberwell Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can sample Country life, Town life and City life all from your stay at Cumberwell Country Cottages situated on Great Cumberwell Farm in the peaceful Wiltshire Countryside on the outskirts of an area of outstanding natural beauty. The 18th Century natural stone tythe barn near to the farmhouse has been converted to the highest standard into 7 unique, luxury, self-contained 1 and 2 bedroom self-catering cottages which provide an idyllic setting for your stay. Much of the original character of the building had been maintained with wooden beams, along with modern furnishings for your convenience and comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cumberwell Country Cottages Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing