We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A girly weekend in the delights of Great Ashley Farm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Great Ashley Farm B&B
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Four girls on a 50th weekend descended on Helen and her tranquil bed and breakfast establishment - Great Ashley Farm end of November beginning of December. We were not disappointed, luxury and peace and quiet in perfect surroundings, just what we needed after 2 days of shopping in Bath and it's Christmas Market, a Twilight Spa at Aqua Sana at Longleat and a 5 mile walk from Great Ashley Farm to Bradford Upon Avon via Avoncliffe and back via Hartley Farm for a lovely lunch.
Helen was excellent and indeed the 'hostess with mostest' and provided us with a very warm and friendly welcome, useful local information, maps, travel advise and of course delicious home cooked breakfasts.
This is a great place to stay and one we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatAshleyFarmOwner, Owner at Great Ashley Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you so much for such a glowing review! We are delighted that you had a wonderful weekend away. You were certainly a pleasure to have to stay here and we look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Great Ashley Farm B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 69 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here May 2012 and I forgot to write a review. My fiancee and I visited Bath for a long weekend as a birthday treat. We had a great stay, great location, peaceful, very nice rooms, good food, making for really great value.

On top of all this, Helen was more than welcoming, giving excellent customer service. if we ever go back to Bath for a long weekend, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My partner and I returned to Great Ashley Farm for a few days away from it all. This is in a perfect location and had the peace and Quiet we craved. Our alarm clock was the sound of horses braying. A very warm welcome from Helen and a fantastic breakfast which set us up for the day. We almost felt like part of the family. Each evening on our return, we were greeted by Cabbage the little dog who is such a character. We have stayed in both rooms and they are an excellent standard. The bed was just so comfortable, and the cleanliness second to none. The location is fantastic for the main attractions. You will not find better in the area. We will certainly stay here again when visiting this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatAshleyFarmOwner, Owner at Great Ashley Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

What a lovely review! Thank you so much - we are so pleased that you had another lovely stay. There is so much to see in the area north, south, east or west..... We hope to see again soon - Oh & Cabbage sends her love!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Great Ashley Farm with my parents to celebrate my father's 90th birthday - and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The location is perfect - just a short drive away from Bath and Bradford-on-Avon. The accommodation is superb - my parents had the ground floor room which was perfect and we were upstairs - both rooms completely self contained. The beds are comfortable, the rooms beautifully furnished - you even get a welcome pack of fudge on your pillow - such a lovely touch!!! The owner, Helen, is very welcoming and cooks an absolutely perfect breakfast. We will have no hesitation in recommending Great Ashley Farm to all our friends and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatAshleyFarmOwner, Owner at Great Ashley Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review it was an absolute pleasure to have you all to stay for such a very special and memorable occasion !!!! I very much look forward to seeing you all again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my girlfriend came down for a little getaway and it did not disappoint. Absolutely beautiful location, you really could not be situated in a more beautiful or idyllic place.

Rooms- Perfect size, very spacious, nice big bed, along with Tv and Wifi makes it perfect really everything you need.

Breakfast- Lovely food, although it was early it was worth getting up for!

Service- Fantastic, as soon as we arrived we had all our questions answered about where to eat, and where to park in Bath, the booklet in your room also has all this information in as well, so all of your needs are catered to.

Overall me and my other half would love to stay again, and were quite sad to be leaving really, its perfect for a country getaway if your stuck in the City. More important being 6 miles out of Bath and within an hour of Cheddar Gorge and 30 mins of Longleat house, its perfectly situated .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrel123, Owner at Great Ashley Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Great Ashley Farm. We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time here and that you found our local knowledge so useful. We are very fortunate to be located near to so many fabulous attractions and National Trust Properties. Hopefully, it won't be too long before you can return and we can point you in the direction of some other lovely places to visit........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a welcome, very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and where to eat.
The accommodation is very clean and spacious.
Fantastic breakfast.
Highly recommend staying.
While there would recommend going for afternoon tea at the pump room at the roman baths, but do book in advance or you will have a long wait in a long queue

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrel123, Owner at Great Ashley Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hi there, so sorry I missed your lovely review - my IT skills aren't always as good as my meet and greet! So pleased you enjoyed the pump rooms, we'd love to see you again and if you venture into Bath, No.1 The Royal Crescent is a must - it's just been re-opened after extensive refurbishment and it's well worth a trip - i popped in for a preview last week....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Good bed and breakfast but not any different from many we have been to despite its Gold Award, room upstairs a good size, clean, bathroom with a good sized shower.
Breakfast fine but again have had the same and occasionally better at lower graded b and bs .
Hostess very friendly and helpful, dogs a couple of treats and horses in livery yard across yard, cattle farm for beef rearing but not seen as away from farm house
.

Room Tip: Upstairs is possibly larger but downstairs not seen, only 2 roms both ensuite. There is a separate s...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChelmsfordPhilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatAshleyFarmOwner, Owner at Great Ashley Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review concerning Great Ashley Farm B&B, we are always happy to accept constructive feedback. I am so sorry that you don't feel we are worthy of our Gold Accolade, it's not something that we award to ourselves. We have received the gold award for four years running being inspected by a Quality in Tourism’s professional assessor, this is an undercover visit that can happen any night of the year that you are open. The first year we were awarded the Gold Accolade we even had a second ‘mystery visit’. Gold award properties receive overnight visits every year in the form of a mystery visitor. Visit England’s unique awards are given in recognition of exceptional quality within a property's star rating. Great Ashley Farm is 4*Gold Farmhouse Guest Accommodation. The assessor covers everything from the depth of your pocket sprung mattress, to the butcher you source your bacon and sausages, the farm signage and the quality of china used in the dining room. Just to clarify the downstairs bedroom that you made a mention of is not smaller than the bedroom you were in, it is actually larger and can also be used as a triple room. Like the upstairs bedroom this also has a super king size bed. Being very proud of our gold award nothing is taken for granted. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
2.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
537 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,279 reviews
4.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ashley Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ashley Farm B&B

Address: Great Ashley, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: $95 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Ashley Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Ashley Farm is a working farm with beef & horses and is in a stunning setting 2 miles from the saxon town of Bradford-on-Avon and 6 miles from the beautiful city of Bath. The farmhouse is set amongst 2 acres of gardens and woodland. The central location makes it perfect for exploring The Cotswolds, Castle Combe, Lacock, Avebury, The K&A Canal, Wells, Glastonbury and Stonehenge At Great Ashley Farm we offer two delightful self contained spacious bedroom suites, each room has been carefully coordinated to create a comfortable, welcoming, stylish feel & provide all the modern day amenities you would expect of a luxury farmhouse B&B including modern en-suite shower rooms, super kingsize beds with quality pocket sprung mattresses (can be configured as twin beds) crisp white linen, flat screen tv, well stocked hospitality trays, fridges, iron and iron boards. Parking is plentiful & wifi is free of charge. Luxury continental breakfast is taken in the privacy of your own room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Great Ashley Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ashley Farm B&B Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing