We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our second stay was just as perfect as the first”
other travelers have booked this property
Get comfy in the light and airy sitting area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Get comfy in the light and airy sitting area
Sleep easy in a king sized bed And relax...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Get comfy in the light and airy sitting area
Sleep easy in a king sized bed
And relax...
Eat in or enjoy a meal at one of the many great pubs nearby
Fully fitted kitchen
Double shower
Bathroom
Rainfall shower
The kitchen is fitted with an oven, hob, dishwasher, washing machine and microwave
We provide tea and coffee facilities. Enjoy a Nespresso coffee!
Time to dine!
Comfy bed with crisp white bed linen
Fluffy feather pillows and duvet make for a good  night's sleep
Enjoy a drink in the courtyard garden
Guests can relax in the private patio garden
Fig Cottage neighbours The Courts National Trust gardens
Beautiful Holt
Explore the Wiltshire countryside from your doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
No_stone...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our second stay was just as perfect as the first”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage in March 2017 and loved it so much that we returned again in November 2017...and we've just booked for November 2018 too!

We'd never been to Bath before so I found this cottage through internet searches. The cottage is exactly as pictured, the owners are so friendly and accommodating, the information in the cottage about walks, places to eat, supermarkets, local attractions etc is really thorough and has everything you could need - but the owner is on hand if you have any other questions.

The cottage itself is of high quality with lots of attention to detail, immaculately maintained and cleaned. The lounge is comfortable and great for nights-in with a big TV, all the on demand channels and DVD player (note it's not a blu ray player).

The kitchen is great for cooking, very well equipped and with all the essentials such as washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, tea towels etc. There was also milk in the fridge ready for our arrival.

The location is lovely and quiet. It's a quaint village with countryside walks, good pubs and cafes on the doorstep. It's also an easy drive into Bath, which is a beautiful city - Bath spa is well worth a visit!

Overall, I couldn't recommend this cottage highly enough, I love my holidays and having stayed in many different places, this cottage exceeded my expectations. I’ll definitely be a loyal guest for some time to come!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Nicky. It was great to see you both again and we very much look forward to welcoming you in 2018!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very comfortable, cosy stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very relaxing three nights in Fig Cottage this week. It's a lovely property, very tastefully decorated and furnished and is warm and cosy, especially the bed which we had trouble leaving! An ideal location for walking and cycling or just chilling out. Nice pubs very nearby, a local convenience store which stocked everything we needed and takeaways in nearby Trowbridge which deliver to Holt. All in all a very pleasant stay. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review Sarah. It was a pleasure to host you and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent, newly decorated self catering”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fig Cottage ticks all the boxes, stylish decor, super clean, warm, comfortable, well equipped with dishwasher and washer/dryer. It's tucked away in a quiet backwater of the village around the back of a National Trust garden, in the grounds of the owners' house. It makes an ideal base for exploring - lots to see and do in the local area.We particularly appreciated the secure storage for the bikes and the friendly welcome of the owners. A great minibreak.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing Fig Cottage, we so enjoyed meeting you both. Enjoy your next cycle adventure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RB-Chiche...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Surpassed our expectations in every way!”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Although tucked away in a very quiet position, it is within easy walking distance of pubs and a shop. The cottage was equipped with everything we required (and more). Everything was very clean and comfortable. The thoughtful extras, such as a folder full of local information, were much appreciated. Our only suggestion would be a map of how to find the cottage after arriving in Holt - for those of us who are navigationally challenged and don't know there are two churches!

Sophie was extremely welcoming, without being intrusive. We felt that if we needed anything or wanted information she would do her best to help.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
Thank you so much for your stay, it was really lovely to meet you both! Great idea for a map too, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Retsrof
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely quiet retreat in a peaceful rural setting.”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A secluded location in the grounds of the owner's home. Very peaceful.The cottage was first class with everything you need. Holt is is in easy reach of Trowbridge, Bath and of course Bradford on Avon. Lots of National Trust properties nearby with The Courts Garden just next door.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregory_j...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic retreat in natural perfection”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Additional words would be redundant after the title of this review..!! Our hosts were exceptional in their warmth and hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review Gregory! We very much enjoyed meeting you and Justina and wish you all the best for the future. Please do visit again if you're in the area!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing