We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snack at The Fat Fowl Bradford upon Avon”
Review of Fat Fowl

Fat Fowl
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Based in the original site of Bradford on Avon’s post office, The Fat Fowl has got fine local dining sorted. Featuring rustic wooden tables and chairs, muted colours and an abundance of freshly cut flowers, the Fat Fowl is simple yet smart. The proprietors are passionate about provincial food, sourced locally where possible. Daily fresh fish from Brixham, local West Country cheese, homemade chutneys, freshly baked breads and home made desserts are just some of the wonderful things that keep a steady stream of regulars coming back. If that doesn’t convince you, their chef won Chef of the Year 2008 in Wiltshire Life Initiative. For quality in value in the area, the Fat Fowl delivers.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Snack at The Fat Fowl Bradford upon Avon”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

It was chucking down with rain, we ran in for shelter - and to have a coffee. The staff were very kind and gave us a table set up for lunch. We ended up having a glass of wine each and a plate of yummy sweet potato chips. We were not planning on lunch as we had a three course dinner booked that evening with our 'hotel deal'. Super little find though and would go back to sample their menu as it looked right up our street.

Nicely decorated place, toilets lovely and clean, staff friendly, nice tableware - only one criticism really, we came out smelling like we had sat in a kitchen all day long - maybe the filters need a change. Will definitely find time to go back the next time we are in the area - worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlisonThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    123
    32
    36
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melksham
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great to see it open again,”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Went in for an impromptu dinner after driving past and seeing that it reopened , the owners have done a great job and it is even better than before, I had a super steak that was cooked to perfection and my wife's cod was very good indeed
Well done to Mark and his team as they have been through a lot over the last few months
Must return soon as we really like this great restaurant .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Ate out with my wife in newly refurbished Fat Fowl.
Great job of the re-design. Liked the new menu and they were flexible about my wife's wheat allergy and tweaked a dish to accommodate her.
Will be back.

Helpful?
Thank BoAMozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food, good value”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

While visiting my mother in Bradford-on-Avon we decided, on the spur of the moment late in the evening, to go out for a meal. We had heard about the Fat Fowl's reopening after the winter flooding and thought we would try it as both of us had only ever been in during the day. I wondered if we would get a table as it appeared very busy. We were greeted and told there was one table but it was next to the kitchen. Normally I would prefer not to be seated near the kitchen but due to the open plan it was brilliant to see the chefs and waiting staff buzzing around. They were a real team. We had one course followed by coffee. The meals were substantial with the sirloin steak cooked to perfection and the Stella Artois battered onion rings were delicious. It was excellent value for money compared to other eating places in the town. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

It was good to see that the Fat Fowl was up and running again in their first week of operation after closure due to the winter floods. The entrance to the restaurant is impressive and the ambience inside pleasant with subdued lighting; indeed, the refurbishment includes future-proofing against further flooding. The staff were attentive and it was pretty full for a weekday with customers no doubt wishing to show solidarity with the Fat Fowl's recent opening. Unfortunately the quality of the meals presented was patchy and overall didn't match the higher-end menu prices. Some of the courses were really nice and well presented, others lacked presentation or substance and one was over-cooked. In the end, it didn't feel that we had value for money which was reinforced by the addition of potatoes and vegetables at £6 to the price of a main course. Early days yet of course and, to give the owners the benefit of the doubt, they have yet to hit their stride; but customers won't return unless they perceive that the menu prices reflect the quality of the food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Fowl also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Fat Fowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing