We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Longleat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Center Parcs Longleat Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Christmas at Longleat”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We decided to do something a bit different this year & booked to spend Christmas at Centre Parcs. The 5 of us (3 kids - 12,13 & 14) & 2 adults, arrived on 23 Dec & departed on 27th. We had a great time.
Centre Parcs had thought of everything! We pre-booked a Christmas tree & decorations & logs for the open fire - which meant we had plenty of space in the car for presents & food.
We could have booked to eat Christmas dinner at one of the restaurants there, or pre-ordered one of their food hampers, but chose to cook for ourselves.
Our 3 bed villa, was well appointed & very festive & cosy.
All of the resort was very Christmassy. Fairy lights in the trees, reindeer, horse drawn carriages, it was a magical winderwonderland.
We booked to go to the carol concert on Christmas eve - which got us all in the festive mood & was packed out!
The kids loved swimming on Christmas morning whilst dinner was cooking. Also meant they had huge appetites & ate everything! The children also loved swimming after dark in the outside heated pool & the not so heated rapids!
We booked a badminton court on Boxing day - which was lots of fun in the Jardin Du Sport.
Everyone we met was very friendly & really in the Christmas spirit.
it was a great way to spend the Festive break & we would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bl0ndie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_pike, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Longleat Forest, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi there
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at Longleat Forest.
I was so pleased to hear that all the family took part in and enjoyed many of the activities we have to offer during your festive Christmas break.
It’s always good to note that you would recommend us and I do hope that we may welcome you again soon.
Happy New Year to you all!
Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,445
    2,516
    1,088
    435
    255
See reviews for
5,670
650
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our first visit to Center Parcs Longleat and one we will never forget, despite a couple of issues with the accommodation when we arrived the whole experience was fantastic, all staff in all areas of the park had a brilliant fun attitude and the kids loved it.

Linda at Guest services was very quick to offer a resolution to our problems on arrival, I was a little disappointed that we had to go through it, but I appreciate these things happen especially for a parc with no down time, agree with other reviewers with regards the lack of attention to detail on the cleaning front, we had wet paint a dirty toilet & floors which needed a sweep/hoover - but given an hour we returned to find all was sorted out, a bottle of wine and box of chocs had been left and we had been offered a voucher for one of the fantastic restaurants on site.

We were also greeted by house keeping at 9.30 on our departure which was very annoying, I agree with other Guest reviews that they should leave you until the advertised 10am check-out and not put pressure on you when you are trying to get all sorted and loaded in the car before the car park gate comes down.

Santa's grotto was a a bit of a let down, no one was out the front organizing whom had booked what times so it was a free for all, we had two couples in front that had later bookings then us but decided to come early, no one checked this, the elves should have been organizing the queue, once inside Santa just focused on trying to bribe my 3 year old to sit on the seat for a photo he didn't give a good Santa vibe, we complained and received a refund.

Now for the good.

The whole parc Christmas theme was great, with fake snow in all the right places, the kids loved it, and so did we, the plaza is amazing although they are having maintenance work on the roof so with the heavy rain there were quite a few leaks with buckets to avoid when pushing the buggy, it also reduced some of the seating area's

The rapids and swimming pools are wonderful and life guards are very good at keeping the teenagers in check on the rapids which was good to see.

We booked activities everyday, we found them great value really, especially the Junior quad biking, the Christmas ceramics seemed a little over booked as we had to wait to be seated and couldn't sit together but was great fun, especially when we returned the following day to pick up the masterpieces the kids and decorated.

Our Villa was 279 and took about 3-4 minutes to walk to the Plaza, despite the problems we had the break was very relaxing even with 3 kids :-), the staff really made up for it and we are booking to go again this year in August.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpuddifoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The staff made this mini break - they couldn't have been more helpful. Accommodation was very basic and in need of TLC but the atmosphere was lovely and people seemed to generally be having lots of fun. Good variety of restaurants and activities was excellent. Outside Christmas lights, especially at The Plaza, were outstanding.

Room Tip: Don't chose one bedroom Executive Apartment if you want quality accommodation - very basic and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_pike, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Longleat Forest, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hi there, thanks for posting your review following your festive visit.
It’s great to hear that we were able to offer a lovely atmosphere and that everyone appeared to be having fun at this special time of year.
We hope to welcome you again.
Happy New Year!
Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was our first time at Center Parcs and our first Christmas away from home. It was the best holiday we've had in years and I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of doing it for Christmas. We had a 1 bedroom twin bed apartment which was just right for us. All the staff we came into contact with were very helpful and polite and genuinely happy to help. Really glad of the landtrain as there are some very steep hills at Longleat. We arrived early by taxi and had no trouble checking in but upon leaving the traffic was so bad we had to walk with our extremely heavy suitcase to the entrance and that was very hard and dangerous to do on the road with all the traffic and it was raining. It would have been good if there was a pavement to walk on or a lane set aside for taxi's to use to drop off and pick up. We did find the activities rather expensive so couldn't do everything we wanted to. The subtropical swimming paradise was amazing we spent alot of time there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda65S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I visited center parcs over the Christmas period.
Normally I'm not one for this sort of thing holidaying abroad, but the invite from friends was too tempting a proposition to pass up.

We (7 of us) share a 4 bed single level 'villa' in the pine area.

I have to say I was pleasantly supprised at how nice it was, the villa was spacious enough that you weren't tripping over others.
The kitchen could have done with a much more powerful extractor fan , going for us all on chritmas day was a bit smoky (gas oven)

The facilities on site a're very good, with a land train taking you to walking distance of all majour points. The pool was excellent and the slides were good fun along with the rapids.

Even with outside the temperature just above freeIng you could sit on the pool all evening it was so warm.

All in all good fun was had, if we go again for Christmas we'll be eating out

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Micraman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_pike, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Longleat Forest, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.
It’s great to hear that you were pleasantly surprised and that you all had good fun.
I do hope that this means you will visit us again sometime soon.
Kind regards
Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Loved this visit, Christmas at center parcs is magical. Have been there for Christmas 4 times now, this time in the four bedroom exclusive lodge with games room (new style). It was fabulous, plenty of room for our family - 6 adults, 2 toddlers and 2 infants. The rooms are big and the games room is a real plus. It is very well equipped. The hot tub outside is fab as are the steam room and sauna. Nothing has been overlooked, it is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose the best villa you can possibly afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in a new style executive 3 bedroom lodge, which was located approx 35 minute walk from the swimming pool area.
Firstly the bad - our accommodation was not very clean upon arrival, the floor was very dirty in the kitchen and dining area and lots of hair on the bathroom floor, not very nice marks down the toilet (!) and a dishwasher that needed emptying. The hydrobath was possessed and had to be turned off at the mains on the wall outside the bathroom to stop it coming on whenever it wanted (the middle of the night was particularly scary!). We had to move a bed and furniture to put the travel cot up (rooms are absolutely tiny) and underneath the bed was disgusting. Upon contacting guest services the problems were rectified the next day (well sort of, the floor never really got a whole lot cleaner) and they kindly left us a bottle of red wine and a box of chocolates, which were most unexpected and gratefully received.
Aside from the cleanliness issues, our lodge was very comfortable, the kitchen well equipped for cooking in and the beds warm, cosy and soft. We had visits from squirrels and rabbits by our living area doors, perhaps we would have had more if they weren't doing ugly renovation work across from our lodge, which spoilt the view somewhat (men in high vis jackets, traffic etc).
Although Longleat is very scenic, the walk from our lodge really was too far with small children (we don't mind walking but when it takes over a hour for a round trip and you may want to do this a good twice a day!) and it made it difficult to plan our days. They have a landtrain, which was extremely busy (I'd hate to see it during peak times). One night we caught it back to our accommodation after taking the children for a night-time swim, it was December and very cold, we'd waited 15 minutes to catch the train, but when it arrived the crowd of waiting passengers (many who had arrived after us) surged forward and rushed the train, leaving very little space for our family. We were lucky to get on, although it was very uncomfortable sitting with a pram on our laps. One poor family were not so lucky and they had to split up, with the husband walking their pram back to the accommodation.
The swimming pool complex was fantastic, we all had a great time and it's suitable for all ages. The family changing rooms were cramped, dirty and very busy so we tended to split up and use the gender specific changing rooms.
Bowling was cheaper than our local alley and pretty standard.
The rollerdisco wasn't much of a disco, but the children seemed to enjoy it. (£5.50 for half hour).
The elf workshop was worth the £26.50 per child as the children came away with a bag full of crafts, a chocolate santa/snowman and a cute little elf costume and they had a great time.
Santa was a bit hit and miss. I'm glad we booked an early in the morning slot as it got very busy later on in the day. The cost was £10 per child, this included a pretty decent toy (travel cluedo for my 6 year old, a galt nail art set for my 7 year old and a cuddly giraffe for my 2 year old). However as soon as we entered the grotto, Santa told us we had 3 photos, which spoiled the magic somewhat!
We ate at Dexters, Pancake House and the Grand Cafe, plus had a takeaway. Dexters was utterly ridiculous, they had no meat! We could only order one burger, some chicken nugget type things and some wings as they had nothing else available as their meat order had not arrived. The servers were so so miserable, the place was FILTHY and to be honest overpriced for what we had. Our first experience of eating out in Center Parcs was very poor! The Pancake House was a lot better even though it was busy and the adult meals were very tasty, the children's looked pretty undesirable though. The Grand Cafe had a total of 2 other tables being used, yet it took forever for our afternoon tea to arrive, as did additional hot water and a squash for my youngest. In fact it took requesting a glass of squash twice for it to arrive, and only after someone showed the bar lady how to prepare it! Center Parcs you really need to work on the customer service in your restaurants as it generally sucks :( The takeaway was fairly tasty, though very expensive in comparison to a normal chinese takeaway.
Overall we had a good time at Center Parcs and would return at the right price. We wouldn't pay overinflated school holiday or weekend prices as it's just not worth the additional cost for these times. We would also look to prebook to be closer to the main buildings as factoring in two hours plus of walking a day just to go swimming, back to drop the swimming stuff off and then out again later is ridiculous, no wonder the place was so empty after dark!
Longleat Safari Park is absolutely worth a visit and we went on our last day before driving home. The safari experience was amazing and we got closer than we ever have before to some animals, we haven't touched stingray since our last visit to Florida and loved getting so close to the bats, bearded dragons and other animals. The house was decorated for Christmas and the panto characters in each room were a lovely touch - we'd return without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thatsmydawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_pike, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Longleat Forest, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi there, thank you for taking so much time to post your review.
Whilst I appreciate that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and intend to return, I was very sorry to hear of your disappointment with certain aspects of your break.
Feedback such as yours in valued and I would like to assure you that it will be shared with all the relevant teams at Longleat Forest.
Kind regards
Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
566 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
845 reviews
235.7 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
15.0 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Longleat Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Longleat Forest

Property: Center Parcs Longleat Forest
Address: Warminster BA12 7PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Warminster
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Longleat Forest 5*
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Village Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Warminster
Center Parcs Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing