We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good weekend break away from the hustle and bustle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Center Parcs Longleat Forest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Center Parcs Longleat Forest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good weekend break away from the hustle and bustle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We did a weekend break, booking last minute so ended up staying quite a way out in the forest in villa 638. It was a luxury 3 bed villa with a 'steam room'.........the steam room however turned out to be a shower cubicle with steam facility, my daughter assured me it was fantastic.

The villa was nice, it lacked some basic utensils for serving food etc. The ovens were not very practical. The villas still have the same ovens as they did when I last visited CP back in 2006. I suspected that the ovens were so awful to encourage more people to eat out in their resturants instead. They just take ages to cook anything, it took 2 hours to do roast potatoes. We only had 2 small saucepans too, which was tricky when trying to cook for 6 people however the house-keeping team were brilliant and got more saucepans out to us very quickly, brand new ones too.

We used the land train to get about, its an excellent service and worked well. Swimming was great, so was the sports area. Centre Parcs has always been a favouite winter holiday resort for us its still great, but I notice that the standard of the restuarants have gone down hill. We ordered food in the sports cafe and all 6 meals were delivered to us in less than 5 minutes, everything looked microwaved and I'm not sure the chips were even made out of potato. One night we had a takeaway delivered, this was a great service because you could order either Chinese, Indian or Pizza all at once and it was delivered hot to the villa within the hour. Some of us ordered the madras curry, we love our curries, but this bad boy was the hottest madras I have ever eaten, it was more like a vindaloo, so be warned. :-)

The staff at Centre Parcs were great, always helpful and lovely to deal with. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can for a better villa, but the basic ones are nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,227
    2,341
    1,008
    405
    238
See reviews for
5,256
606
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

1st March trip, don't believe all the negative reports on trip advisor, we had a great time, creche for kids was brilliant, aerial adventure was great, nice clean and warm villa (only a comfort villa). Good
Service throughout. Bike rides and hills make you realise how lazy and unfit you are, but that's the kind of holiday it is, enjoy it, already looking to book Elveden for next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Whilst it is to be expected that such locations charge a premium. Center Parks take this to an extreme. For example a bag 3 artifical logs cost £9.99 if you want a log that crackles then it's £9.99 for one! Go to the retail area in the nearest town and the same logs are £1.00 each. (not crackiling)

If you want to order a delivery to your room they have the cheek to charge £2.75 for delivery, if you like to give a tip of at least a pound it means 4 pounds or more when you add this to the already overpriced menues it is simply agressive.

The best business relationships work on a symbotic relationship of mutual dependance and respect. The relationship you can expect from Center Parks is more akin to predator and prey. This is a theme you can expect from whatever facility you wish to use/book eat drink. It is remorseless in its' application, and in an age of austerity simply unacceptable.
Wi fi is not available in modestly priced accomodation and is quite out of touch in the 21st century. The children felt we were being punished for only staying in moderate accomodation.

I suggest a trip to Waitrose in the nearest town, good quality food and drink, less expensive and far more choice. You may also want to bring some of your own cooking utensills as the ones supplied are a bit lame. Suggest a sharp knife, oven gloves, thermos, and your own frying pan. The one in my lodge was peeling teflon. Be prepared and your stay will be much improved.

Room Tip: Choose nearer to the car park if possible otherwise it will be a long journey to your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDanviMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We chose a very cold weekend to spend at Center Parcs with our 7 Month Old, and with our friends complete with their 16 month old and 3 year old. We Stayed in an new Style executive lodge in the Fir Area. Firstly the Lodge, overall it was clean, modern and farily good condition with only minor issues such as a broken kitchen door and an oven that set the smoke alarm off every time you used it! However, it was warm and well layed out, with plenty of room for us all, in a very pretty setting. one thing they could do with is brighter spot light bulbs or a few lamps as if can be a little dark at this time of year. the Area was lovely, and well kept. getting around the parc is either by foot, bike or on the shuttle. The park is big, so walking from our area to the main pool etc took around 30 minutes though the cut throughs. the shuttle service is frequent and stops everywhere with easy walking to all lodges. The Park has many great activities and is well thought out. As a first visit i could really appreciate why people with kids go, as no matter what the weather is doing you can keep everybody entertained. Activites need to be booked a little in advance, prices seemed to range, i did climbing for about £6, so there are cheap activites. The indoor Jardin des sport, is great, with squash, badminston, indoor skating, along with starbucks and a bar with indoor play. the main plaza and indoor pool s fantastic, with Cafe Rouge, Strada, Starbucks plus other restaurants and shops. The pool is great with a useful buggy parking area before you enter. The pricesof eating out is slightly dearer than normal but not excessive. Cyclings is great but beware it is hilly and you can find yourself walking uphill pushing bikes laden with children etc. One last thing is that the service from the moment you arrive is fantastic, from the landscapers to the shop staff, everyvody is helpful and cheerful. Overall a great holiday we will return, and please visit you wont be disapointed.

Room Tip: look for something more central if you have young babies as this will allow you to pop out to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgeorge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leura, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our second time at centre-parcs, first one at Longleat (previously been to Elvedon which is very flat). The site here at Longleat is beautiful forest, though a bit hilly, so depending on where on the site your villa is, will depend on how hard it is to get around by bike. If you've never done the centre-parcs experience it is quite unique. After your initial unloading of belongings, your car stays in a car park away from the accommodation, for your whole stay. It means you need to get around the site on foot or by bike. A huge number of people take bikes. We took ours, and were lucky that our villa was just at the end of the flatish part coming out of the central viillage. It was a 5 minute bike ride from restaurants & activities (including a great indoor pool), to our villa. I would recommend getting as close a villa as possible that you can afford, unless you love walking or riding. IF you have younger children with you it might be even more worth getting a close villa. My son is 9 and loves riding his bike, so for us, it was great fun getting around by bike. In fact this is one of the things we now love about centre-parcs sites. Almost no traffic around, free to ride bikes.
We used the pool alot, and did the hand painting pottery (my son likes art) we both really enjoyed this, and would do it again. It was very relaxing and creative. You need to buy the item you are going to paint, there was a large choice, and lots of coaching from the staff there.
We also did the tree-top challenge (like go-ape) with a long zip wire. Great fun. Mini golf was good too.
We ate at the Indian restaurant and had an excellent meal, better than your average indian take-away and with child friendly plain food too.
My son did the children's quad-biking, and it was very well organised, safe and very professional. The children are tethered to an instructor's bike and if they go too fast or head off the track, the tether stops the engine. Once they have got skill and confidence, they are allowed to drive around on their own. For kids who can ride a bike and have basic skills in that way, this is a great activity.
Everywhere we went the staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and really serviced focused. Will definitely be going back.
They get booked up very quickly, especially for school holidays, but even for normal weekends. The villas have everything you could need in the kitchen area, and modern bathrooms, with TV and DVD players.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shebe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Longleat Forest, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your visit on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted that as a family you are able to take full advantage of the car free environment and enjoy many bike rides together. I would also like to thank you for providing a detailed description for the Junior Quad Biking activity, I am sure this will help reassure other parents that the safety of their children is paramount.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our village again soon.

Regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have had several lovel family holidays in various Center Parcs, the last one being Longleat last year. We stayed with another family, so 4 adults and 3 children, the accomodation woodland plus with 4 bedrooms was lovely.

Do pay extra to pick your location, we always pick opposite the pool area as I cannot walk that far due to poorly legs, however if you love sports pick a lodge close to the jardin de sports complex.

PROS - lovely relaxing wooded area, quiet and peaceful
- no need for car, land train available or bike or walk
- very safe environment for children
- excellent central amenities, restaurants, swimming pool, sports facilities
- the lodges are lovely, comfortable beds with good kitchen (woodland plus)
- its almost opposite to Longleat wildlife park, get some tickets and visit there on the last
day of your holiday or break

CONS - can be crowded in the pool area, it is the only free (Included item) thing in your stay
- extra activities are very expensive unless you are wealthy
- take your own bikes, again very expensive to hire
- not much for teenager era, apart from sports, maybe an advantage?
- you have to plan ahead as all the restaurants get booked up - use the online booking
system
- small children activities are very expensive

Room Tip: pay the location fee to choose your room, go by the pool for families, go by the jardin de sports fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a lovely time at Centerparcs the first weekend of March. The weather was dry, the park was generally uncrowded and the wildlife was great. We enjoyed a Twilight Spa on the Saturday and a couple of trips to the swimming pool area. We didn't eat out but had a drink in Cafe Rouge one night. We stayed in a 3 bed old style exec which was very well maintained and tidy. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: we preferred being away from the hub of everything but it is a good walk or cycle to the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holtfamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
3.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
15.1 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Longleat Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Longleat Forest

Property: Center Parcs Longleat Forest
Address: Warminster BA12 7PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Warminster
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Longleat Forest 5*
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Village Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Warminster
Center Parcs Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing