We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Indian restaurant in an unusual location”

Toran Indian Cuisine
Ranked #5 of 73 Restaurants in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Toran has started a new era in Indian Cuisine by providing Healthy Indian Foods. All foods are freshly prepared with no artificial coloring, additive or preservative. It doesn't use butter or ghee for cooking instead it uses vegetable oil, mustard oil. It has wide range of menu which cover the whole Indian sub-continent.It caters for 100 people and welcomes large parties.It is family friendly and has access for disabledIt has large private car park for 40 cars.Local attractions near Toran are - Longleat Safari Park, Center Parc, Bath Spa, Salisbury Cathedral, and Stonehenge
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian restaurant in an unusual location”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This Indian restaurant is fantastic. The food, service and vibe makes every visit to the Toran enjoyable and well worth an evening out.

We have been a number of times and now consider it our favourite Indian restaurant thanks to the comprehensive menu, tasty food and brilliant service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pjpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    23
    9
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alcossebre
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have eaten many a curry in my time but their chicken madras was really superb. It is a great pity my wife and I live in Spain otherwise we would be regular visitors.

I recommend to all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently great food”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We are lucky enough to live quite close to the Toran. Since their opening they have been far and away the best Indian in the local area. The food is consistently good and the service alway very friendly. Give it a go - you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank cem0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

When we first had a meal at Toran, I must admit I didn't know it was marketed as a 'healthier option' Indian restaurant... the hours after the meal we realised that we didn't get that bloated, drowsy feeling that happens when one eats a big meal out. We absolutely loved the food and so returned there a month later and thats when the owners told us about the strict policy on avoiding ghee and other ingredients that taste good but are not very healthy. So how do Toran get their food to taste so good? I don't know but all I can say is that i must have had 25 lamb madras meals and NEVER has any gristle or anything apart from full flavoursome lamb. 10/10 every time. Their ocra side dish is just the best I've ever eaten... most places prepare this greasy but Toran give it the light touch so you can really taste the vegetable properly.
I've travelled quite a bit and eaten in many places... but for Indian food, the Toran beats London, Paris, NYC, LA, Sydney hands down... it is even up there beyond Rusholme, Manchester! it is simply unbelievable. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, but be warned... you may need to visit every month once you've eaten there once! And it is so healthy you'll be back many many times!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrGrahamecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We often visit the Toran for a Sunday Buffet Lunch. We always receive a good welcome and the service is excellent. The buffet provides great variety with starters and a mixture of mains dishes. It is excellent value for money and we will continue visiting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 662George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toran Indian Cuisine also viewed

Warminster, Wiltshire
Warminster, Wiltshire
 
Warminster, Wiltshire
Warminster, Wiltshire
 

Been to Toran Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing