We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Carriers Arms Stockton Successfully Relaunched”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carriers Arms

The Carriers Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Carriers Arms
Ranked #22 of 25 Warminster B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Carriers Arms Stockton Successfully Relaunched”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have lived in this village for 16 years and have seen The Carriers Arms in good times - and in more recent times not so good. I am delighted to say that under new landlords Mark and Anna very ably supported by Laura have turned this country inn around impressively. The range of local beers (Sheep Dip and micro brewery Salisbury Plain Ale highly recommended) are well looked after by Mark.
Their new chef has produced a range of excellent real home-cooked foods sourced wherever possible from local suppliers. Their fish and chips will rival those available from the best of local fish and chip shops. As simple as that.
The rib-eye steak and a generously sized burger and chips recently enjoyed by the family were just great value for money. My son considered the chips to be the best he has ever tasted. (Caution here - he is 15 and has a leaning to KFC's....)
Roast meals taken over the Christmas period by our party of 4 were very hearty. Excellent meats (turkey, lamb and beef) accompanied by a generous selection of vegetables and real roast potatoes. This following my home-made onion soup (which was a meal in itself) and a pheasant terrine which my wife considered excellent.
If you can't find what you want on the menu ask chef! He will be willing to produce something for you from produce to hand. Refreshing indeed. Also refreshing is the landlords' willingness to knock-up fish and chips etc to take out if you ring through in advance to check availability.
This is a turn-around pub. 2 fires (one open, one log fire) a pleasing atmosphere and welcoming hosts will have our family and friends coming back to the Carriers from our self-imposed exile. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warminster
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Booked lunch here based on previous reviews and enjoyed a warm welcome in a local's pub complete with visiting dogs (always an encouraging sign). Menu brief and interesting. Ordered steak, and leek, mushroom suet pud. So far so good despite tarragon overload, then hair found in food. Not a disaster in itself and reported quietly to waitress. When coming to pay bill decided I wanted to pay a couple of pounds less due to leaving rest of meal, landlord very accommodating about this but discovered problem with meal had not been passed on to chef as requested. Used the ladies' to find no loo paper in cubicle. Basic errors! Hopefully a work in progress as commented on by another patron. Lovely village, hopefully what will become a lovely pub.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jools3256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have visited this pub several times and had high hopes for it under its new ownership. Although the interior is sadly lacking the cosiness of many pubs in this valley, the food has made it well worth visiting. Superb pub food (superior pub food at that). Great well kept beer. When the pub has been busy it has been a lovely atmosphere. However on visiting it on one Saturday night, it felt very sad with no beaming welcome from the hosts, no fire in the front bar and so it did not feel that it was worth staying longer to make an evening of it. Such a shame as it is a lovely village and seems with a bit of TLC could be a lovely weekend destination. We will go in again and hope that this was a blip. So hence i have given it a very good in the hope that we will be made welcome and the fires are lit!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Changed hands again recently, and unlike most pubs, is actually getting better with each change! New food menu is brilliant, and the beer is now absolutely spot on. Looked like a work in progress as was a little sparse in furnishings, but no doubt will improve over time as new administration hadn't been in long. Had the steak pudding(!) which I haven't had for ages and wasn't disappointed - steaming hot and full of flavour. Recommended and should only get better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanConstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having remained closed since April this year The Carriers reopened on Friday 6th September under new ownership. Mark (Mac) Norton and Anna Hayden have taken over the pub. Three real ales on at the time of our visit Plains Sheep Dip, Arty Farty and Inntrigue. All really well kept and very drinkable. Pub is spacious and welcoming, the reopening has gone down particularly well with the local residents. Food not yet available but former chef James is returning to the pub and a new menu should be available in the next week or so.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munstermaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
487 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in November to visit family locally and enjoy the Wiltshire countryside.
We couldn't have been made more welcome by Laura & Graham, and our dog really enjoyed the attention he received. The Wylye Valley is a quiet backwater just the other side of the A36 between Warminster and Salisbury, and Stockton is the most attractive village in the valley in our view.

Our room was spotlessly clean, and everything worked perfectly. The bar served 3 real ales and the food was substantial, well cooked and reasonably priced. Breakfasts were excellent. The only downside could be the lack of a car park but we never had a problem parking right outside, and the road is very quiet. I walked our dog along the middle of the road each evening and never had to step aside for a car!

Highly recommended for B &B, a meal or just a drink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingdubyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A big thankyou to Laura and Graham for a great night at their fantastic pub! There was a beer festival on with amazing BBQ on offer. My sons band, The Halapinos were lucky enough to play early evening. They were made to feel most welcome in a very friendly atmosphere. A brilliant night in a brilliant pub. Big thanks to all who attended.
Only downside is, wish your pub was a bit closer, would love it to be my local!! (As was mentioned by many).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warminster hotels
4.2 mi away
Westover House
Westover House
#2 of 25 in Warminster
170 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Heytesbury
145 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#5 of 25 in Warminster
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 2 in Upton Scudamore
96 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
823 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 25 in Warminster
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriers Arms

Property: The Carriers Arms
Address: 33 Stockton, Warminster BA12 0SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional country pub in the stunning Wylye Valley. Serving excellent home cooked food and local real ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carriers Arms Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing