We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect pub stay experience”
Review of The Carriers Arms

The Carriers Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Carriers Arms
Ranked #22 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
497 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Perfect pub stay experience”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in November to visit family locally and enjoy the Wiltshire countryside.
We couldn't have been made more welcome by Laura & Graham, and our dog really enjoyed the attention he received. The Wylye Valley is a quiet backwater just the other side of the A36 between Warminster and Salisbury, and Stockton is the most attractive village in the valley in our view.

Our room was spotlessly clean, and everything worked perfectly. The bar served 3 real ales and the food was substantial, well cooked and reasonably priced. Breakfasts were excellent. The only downside could be the lack of a car park but we never had a problem parking right outside, and the road is very quiet. I walked our dog along the middle of the road each evening and never had to step aside for a car!

Highly recommended for B &B, a meal or just a drink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingdubyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A big thankyou to Laura and Graham for a great night at their fantastic pub! There was a beer festival on with amazing BBQ on offer. My sons band, The Halapinos were lucky enough to play early evening. They were made to feel most welcome in a very friendly atmosphere. A brilliant night in a brilliant pub. Big thanks to all who attended.
Only downside is, wish your pub was a bit closer, would love it to be my local!! (As was mentioned by many).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Please note that The carriers at Stockton will be re-launched 24th Febraury 2012
Laura, Graham and family would like to offer you great pub food, real ales, quality wines and great coffee.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank clare4chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Rooms small but adequate,Poor reception on TV. Pub very olde worlde in nice village. Food very disappointing, plenty of it but overcooked. Microwaved pies! Large dog in bar area makes a mess with toys etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilypettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warminster hotels
4.2 mi away
Westover House
Westover House
#2 of 24 in Warminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Heytesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#5 of 24 in Warminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 2 in Upton Scudamore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#8 of 24 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriers Arms

Property: The Carriers Arms
Address: 33 Stockton, Warminster BA12 0SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional country pub in the stunning Wylye Valley. Serving excellent home cooked food and local real ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carriers Arms Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing