We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely night at the Westover!”
Review of Westover House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westover House
Ranked #2 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We all stayed here (family 2 adults/2 kids & a couple) for 1 night at the end of July before spending the day at Longleat Safari Park. We couldn't have been happier. Becky (and her mum who was helping out) were really lovely and made us feel very welcome. The guest rooms we had were all next to each other upstairs and 'the family' part of our group had the luxury of not having to all sleep in the same room, the parents in a double, the kids in a room with 2 single beds next door and then they all shared an adjoining bathroom. The room we had as a couple was en-suite, large and had the most wonderful view. All the rooms were very modern, beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was delicious! We also ate in the evening at the Angel Inn (gastro pub) in the nearby High Street and the food was very good. The village is very quaint. Highly recommended all round!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csKent_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Westover House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 184 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Having to do a near 5 hour drive from York to Longleat we didn't fancy doing it all in one day so decided to avoid the high priced Longleat hotels and search for a local stop. An to be honest I don't think the high priced hotels could match the level of service of Becky at Westover House.

From the first phone call up until the second we left Becky was superb! All our needs where met an should anything of been amiss there was no doubt Becky would of gone out of her way to make sure it was sorted. It's a shame we only stayed overnight as I could of easily stayed for longer. Should I ever be travelling that way again I won't look elsewhere. The breakfast was perfect, cooked how you wanted and more should you need it.

Was recommended the 2 pubs in the village and opted for the Angel Inn a lovely steak place with massive portions! 3 courses are a challenge to even those who can eat. A short walk and a pleasant one.

Thank you, highly recommended. Great to meet you and your mother ( hope she had a great birthday )

Liam & Gemma

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Used Westover House as my daughter was asked to take part in a archaeological dig and we both did not feel like camping "on-site". It turned out to be the best move we could have made.
We were unable to fault. Everthing was to a high standard, with a high class breakfast cooked to order. It was the number of little things that made the difference like Becky offering to fill our flask. We felt very at ease when we used the Red Lion for evening meals ( may have a new landlord fall 2012). Westover house changed a field trip into a mini break. A good place to chill-out with a number of places of interest in easy reach. On my list of places to use again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you are 'roaming' about Wiltshire, Somerset etc. this is the ideal base!

We spent the day at Longleat and arrived at Westover House at 7pm absolutely exhausted but very happy. Becky was so very welcoming and informative. However it was time to unpack and shower to conveniently walk to the local pub (Red Lion) and grab an evening meal but it was hard to leave once we experienced the views we had from our room. They were magnificent. The room was beautifully decorated and spotless as was the ensuite and the remainder of the house.

The full English breakfast was really "bootiful" :-) and it was an absolute pleasure to chat with Becky and her mum. So very helpful, down to earth and friendly, felt like we had known them years instead of just meeting. Have already recommended Westover House to friends and we will definitely return. Thank you very much for such a pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MissKDolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stopped at Westover House, near Warminster for a family wedding nearby. The entrance and first glance at the house was very pleasing to the eye. The veiw over the rolling hills from our bedroom, were to die for. The room was very well presented and the bathroom was immaculate. The full english breakfast was cooked to perfection and there was no scrimping with the food. Becky (the owner) was a very good hostess and her manner was friendly. We were stuck for a lift to the wedding as the local taxis were all fully booked, thankfully Becky ferried us to the hall a couple of miles away. We would definately go to Westover House again, it was fab. Thanks Becky

Room Tip: Book the rooms at the front as they have the veiw.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TREVOR P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Westover House after a hard days mountain biking on Salisbury Plain. Becky is such a warm and welcoming host and takes muddy clobber and bikes in her stride. the accommodation is outstanding as are the views. And her breakfasts are the stuff of legend! Becky also sent us off with a superb packed lunch for day two.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoydonWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My friend and I stayed here as we had a wedding nearby. Becky was so accomodating as we had to change the room bookings. The room was beautiful with stunning views. Breakfast was delicious. We would thoroughly recomend Westover House and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warminster hotels
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
594 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
865 reviews
1.8 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Botany Camping
Botany Camping
#2 of 5 in Warminster
143 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#5 of 24 in Warminster
210 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 24 in Warminster
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westover House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westover House

Address: Westover House High Street | Heytesbury, Warminster BA12 0EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Price Range: $95 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westover House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Westover, situated in the beautiful Wylye Valley with picture postcard views. We are a small family run B&B with high quality rooms. Guests are welcome to wonder our grounds, play in the paddocks or relax in the rose garden. We are ideally situated for visits to Longleat, Stonehenge, Stourhead and nearby Bath and Salisbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Westover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westover House Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing