We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of The Weymouth Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Weymouth Arms
Ranked #4 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Visiting locally as a couple - this was recommended by the owner of the B&B we were staying at; we only ate there.
I agree with other reviewers that it doesn't look much from the outside; also its difficult to spot as its on a small street just off the main through street.
We were cordially greeted & seated immediately. The place is run by a couple. At all times the servcie was cordial & prompt. The menu has a good selection & there were specials available. We both had starters & mains; the food is excellent - a bit above pub grub. There is also a good selection of beers & ciders.
Its probably not the cheapest place in Warminster but it must be one of the nicest. I thanked our B&B owner for the recommendation (see Crockerton House) & would on this basis certainly reccommend it to others for a good evening meal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrishel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 154 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

Originally when my partner and I were looking for a good place to eat in Warminister we went right past the Weymouth Arms, discounting it due to the outside appearance which looks to be a typical pub of which there are several.
After asking several of the locals where we should eat we ended up going back and were very pleasantly surprised. The dining area is lovely and elegant, quiet and intimate. The male host was attentive, polite and friendly.
The food was outstanding. Between us I had the fish and chips and he had the 10oz rump with chips, onion rings and peppercorn sauce. It is rare to see a steak that thick cooked well enough to keep the centre still pink and tender without turning the outside to chewy leather! The fish was beautiful and the chips served in a decorative little deep fryer basket. Both portions were generous and I simply couldnt finish my entire meal.
We were also given fresh handmade bread still hot from the oven which was a wonderful touch. To top it all off the prices were very reasonable for the size and quality of the meal compared to several other restaurants we've visited.
This was a meal to celebrate our 12th anniversary and it didnt disapoint.

Dont judge this place by the way it looks outside. It is definately worth going in!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

for the second time we went to the weymouth Arms to stay, this time for our 37th wedding aniversary and we stayed over also, on our arrival their were flowers in our room for my wife , we had a beutiful meal and the service was attentive and efficiant , we had a loverly room and slept well with a wide ranging breakfast choice available in the morning we felt that is was exceptional value for money

Room Tip: room three is large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Had a midweek lunch meal. There is a light lunch menu in addition to the full menu. Plenty of choice. The food was delicious and the service good with the barman come waiter charming and attentive. Relaxing and enjoyable. Looking forward to the summer as they have a small but pleasant garden.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valashby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Best meal I've eaten so far in 2012 (and I've eaten a lot). The pork belly with pork cheek was perfect. Found the place quite by accident. I live in London but would make a special trip to visit again and will stay next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaKilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed at this beautiful inn over the weekend out standing and very reasonable priced the staff were very help full and well trained.
Not very often you given homemade bread these days and it was hot to for dinner we had simply fish and chips the fish was perfect. have to say this place is brilliant Only down side was we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: I would book up in advance seems very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Have eaten here a few times now, food has always been fantastic. But the service is very slow and at times nonexistent.

Having said that I will be back!!!

We were only here using the restaurant and have never stayed so cant comment on the rooms, but have heard their lovely!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pp1698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warminster hotels
1.8 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
872 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
606 reviews
1.1 mi away
Botany Camping
Botany Camping
#2 of 5 in Warminster
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 24 in Warminster
251 reviews
2.6 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
332 reviews
1.7 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weymouth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weymouth Arms

Address: 12 Emwell Street, Warminster, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Price Range: $123 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Weymouth Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weymouth Arms Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing