We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place wrong time to visit”
Review of Longleat

Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Safari park amazing, the house itself very interesting, enjoyed the lake cruise. Many of the other attractions are not surprisingly geared towards children however still a great place for adults to spend the day. Our timing was wrong being 2 days before the wedding of Lord Bath's son so much of the house and some of the gardens were closed to visitors. Would happily go there again.

Thank thecottageGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"safari park"
in 1,422 reviews
"sea lions"
in 774 reviews
"monkey enclosure"
in 453 reviews
"boat trip"
in 514 reviews
"big cats"
in 261 reviews
"day ticket"
in 216 reviews
"train ride"
in 324 reviews
"vip tour"
in 93 reviews
"african village"
in 197 reviews
"parrot show"
in 164 reviews
"postman pat village"
in 107 reviews
"singing christmas tree"
in 101 reviews
"windscreen wipers"
in 97 reviews
"tesco vouchers"
in 137 reviews
"gorilla island"
in 139 reviews
"other attractions"
in 233 reviews
"santa train"
in 117 reviews

6,151 - 6,155 of 7,422 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Visited on a sunny Sunday in July, although the weather was good and there were plenty of people at Longleat ,the park itself did not appear overcrowded. The animal safari was excellent, plenty to see and well laid out. As previous reviewers have said, watch out for the Monkeys, if they do decide to have a go at your car, the damage they cause could be quite costly, thankfully no damage to our vehicle but we watched the monkeys, rip rubbers from around the windscreens , break an aerial , have a go at wheel trims and also wiper blades, when they get stuck into something they seem pretty relentless, but an excellent experience to have a monkey sat on your bonnet staring at you through the windscreen nonetheless
The attractions at longleat are pretty relaxed and not on par with traditional theme parks, very few rides, there is a boat ride, a train ride a maze, the house itself and a few other bits and pieces. all in all if you want a relaxed easy day this is the place to go. The entrance fee is a bit steep for an average family, as is the prices in the shops ( £2.00 for a 500ml bottle of pop, £1.75 for a water) but we used Tesco clubcard vouchers to get in.

Thank HJK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We decided to do the safari by bus as we did not want our car damaged by the monkeys. (£4 per person). The bus set off but after about ten minutes we arrived at the giraffe feeding and the bus remained there for half an hour. It was very hot and the bus was not air conditioned. As the safari progressed it became clear that you could bypass the monkeys if you didn't want your car damaged. We were not told this. Nevertheless we saw all the animals who seemed quite content in their environment. The rest of the day went without a hitch although the catering facilities were quite limiting.

Our second day we decided to visit the safari park again and this was so much better in our air conditioned car and we could see more. We bypassed the monkeys and arrived at the big cats enclosures. We assumed it was their day for feeding because the tigers were pacing back and forth by a fence, the lions were all laying down facing a fence and the cheetahs were also very alert and on the lookout. We got some fantastic photos so would recommend to everyone that they visit in their own vehicle unless they particularly want to be up close and personal with the monkeys.

We then visited the house which was lovely with some amazing ceilings. This took about an hour to go round and it wasn't until we came out of the house that we realised we hadn't seen Lord
Bath's murals. We went back in and were told that you could only see them between 10.00 and 11.30am but nowhere was this displayed. So if you want to see the murals, visit them before viewing the rest of the house.

A lovely experience but needs a few tweaks.

Thank GwenC422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We took our children to the see Santa here last year. It was awful and I wish I never exposed my children to it. As a result they do not believe in Father Christmas anymore. My girls and 3 and 6!

Previous we have been to Paultons and Centre Parcs and the Santa there sits with the child for a minute and chats to them. They know their names and make the children feel special.

This Santa, well what can I say. My girls where pushed by elves toward him told to look at the camera, shoved a present toward them and then told to leave. When my little girl tried to talk to him he said for her to move on as another child is coming. They did not even get to say thank you for the gift. He was unfriendly. We had to wait in a half hour in on a dirt track which lead up to a shed with plastic snowmen which where falling apart and very tatty. The whole thing was awful and a pure money making facility for Longleat to sell photos.

2  Thank Clair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longleat_Resort, Manager at Longleat, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your review JCLogans. We're very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your Santa Express journey here at Longleat. The opportunity to have a professional photo taken with Santa was new for 2012 and was received very successfully overall. We strive to offer a wonderful festive experience for all our guests and apologize if we didn't meet your expectations in this instance. We will certainly be carefully reviewing all our feedback from the Christmas season as we begin to make plans for this year. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you haven't been for a while, cast aside your previous opinions and return - changes have been happening slowly but very surely for over a year now, and it is simply getting better and better all the time.
New attractions, new facilities, new affiliation with Deadly 60 & Steve Backshall. It's been cleaned up, new eating facilities have been put up - you can now get pan fried noodles (can't vouch for their quality or taste though) or even a proper steak in a burger or organic chicken burger! Gone are the days that you had a to take a picnic or be forced to eat revolting not very fast, fast food.
The safari is as ever, mind blowing. I'm sure the monkeys get naughtier every month that goes by. But also funnier.
The train is always a winner with smaller kids. The boat trip is fun and informative. Walking with Lorikeets is hilarious. Holding a snake - not for me, but the kids always love it. The parrot show - very funny. The castle playground - a fantastic playground - something for kids of all ages. Even 33 year olds. And the maze... well I'm deliberating over how much we actually enjoy this.
All in all, it is a fantastic day out. It's such a small place that everything is so easily accessible, but if you're travelling a long distance to get there - consider staying overnight nearby and seeing the park in a couple of days, as although it's small - there is so much to cram in and it would be almost too much for one day.
The tickets are expensive for one day - but the annual pass is a bargain considering. Well worth the annual expense.

1  Thank Charlotte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longleat also viewed


Been to Longleat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing