We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful house and gardens”

Stourhead House and Garden
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful house and gardens”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Having lived about 5 miles away from Stourhead we enjoyed most weeks our ''adopted''garden as a family, not only for the wonderful garden and house ,but the walks through the forest to King Alfreds tower a few miles away, the view from the top of the tower is truly outstanding covering several counties.
Although the car park is always busy, once within the grounds ,there is plenty of room to get lost in admiring all of the trees, shrubs and follies etc, As members of the National Trust Stourhead is another fine example of money well spent .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jet365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    395
    71
    25
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stourhead House and Garden”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If I'm ever driving on the A303 I always take time out to relax at Stourhead. One of my favourite Natioanl Trust properties with a fantastic walk around the lake to stretch your legs if on a long journey. Thoroughly recommend for a family day out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank crisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Magical day out”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely woodland walks. A great place to take Granny for the day. Great gardens and picturesque Folly's .The house is lovely and well worth doing the guided tour.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gardens are always magnificant”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stourhead is a jewel in terms of its gardens,the house not so mu The gardens never fail to disappoint no matter what time of year it is.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“stour head made me a bit of a sore head”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

visited yesterday.
yes lovely gardens and a pleasant stroll around the lake and buildings etc.
but what a shame that after taking your money you then discover half way round, that certain outbuildings are closed to the public to avoid muddy feet.
No problem with muddy feet at the kiosk when charging an outrageously priced full entrance fee for less than full access or in the cafe ( £2.95 for a small sausage roll and £3 for a small fizzy drink).
Overall impression, an overpriced attraction that shames the title National Trust.
But maybe I naively expect too much ie a national treasure that is affordable and thereby accessible to all sections of society.
Sadly I left having felt I had attended yet another rip off commercial venture.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank anhonestjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stourhead House and Garden also viewed

 
Amesbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Stourhead House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing