We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”
Review of Bishopstrow House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bishopstrow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful - massive rooms got a voucher via groupon !! Spa was amazing to. Swimming pool was lovely ... Bedrooms massive, it's in a massive acres of fields very off road, will defo come back again another time very good value for money via the voucher

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mainman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review on your recent stay.

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time with us.

The team and I all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    257
    132
    50
    52
See reviews for
146
451
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a groupon offer which included bed and breakfast with a 3 course meal. We were upgraded to a delux room as we were getting away for one night since our wedding on the weekend until our honeymoon in December. The room was spacious and bathroom of a very high standard. After a quick rest we went for our meal and this was the highlight of our stay. The quality of the food was fantastic and we were even given glasses of champagne on the house. I did have to pay a £5 supplementary charge for the fillet steak but it was actually £8 more expensive than any other item. No veg comes as standard so paid £3 each for carrots and new potatoes (worth it). I think in total our extras came to £22 so we were very pleased. However, we thought the tip was included (says so on the menu) and therefore didn't worry about it. But, they only charged 10% on the extras. I am so sorry for not leaving a generous tip that the service deserved and only realised when we got home yesterday.

The double bed was actually two singles which was very disappointing and we were very hot in the night but I was too tired to check if the radiator was on. Breakfast was not a buffet continental and get you get to choose off a menu for your main breakfast. Again, very high standard.

Didn't really use the spa facilities that much. Only a quick steam room and swim.

Enjoyed and will hopefully return one day on an offer. It would be a little pricey otherwise.

Room Tip: Ask if the double bed is actually two singles put together. It just didn't work. This was the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to read that you had such a fantastic time with us, and that the highlight of your stay was the food. I have passed all of your wonderful comments onto the team.

We all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I called last Saturday to make a reservation for lunch on Christmas Day. After 20 mins on the phone being told they were full, I was then told that they'd just released tables to none guests. I had to call back on Monday to make a firm reservation. 37 telephone calls later - after leaving several messages - I finally get to speak to somebody on Friday who tells me they're full. At this I'm a little cross and tell them of the situation the week before. Amazingly a table is pulled out of the bag and all details are taken. However somebody needed to call me back on Saturday morning to take credit card payment to guarantee booking. Low and behold nobody has the curtesy of calling back and when I eventually get through again I'm told they're full. Hindsight is a wonderful thing, but I really am relieved we're not one of the guests having to put up with this dreadful customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I am sorry to read that you feel there was a lack of consistency during your contact with us to book Christmas Day Lunch.

As you can imagine, Christmas is one of the busiest times of the year for us and it takes very careful management to balance the demand from residential and non-residential guests, so as not to disappoint anybody.

I understand that we provisionally held a table for you whilst you sought final confirmation from your party. Unfortunately, when you phoned back it was not made clear that you had already reserved a table and at the time we had temporarily closed the booking sheet for non-residents whilst we worked out final numbers and spaces, resulting in us taking a waiting list. I can only apologise for the miss-communication and I do hope it hasn’t put you off returning to us.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A beautiful looking building with lovely rooms - I booked the stay primarily for business and unfortunately did not get to use the spa facility. My room was in the attached "stable block" which is an annexe to the main hotel and next to the spa facility.
The room was really lovely, very spacious and with lovely decorations and both shower and bath (which is rare) and the food and service were excellent too! I will definately go back and stay again when I have more time and can use the facilities and enjoy my time even more!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the "Stable Box" annexe - try to get a suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javid56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to read that you had such a good visit whilst staying over for business in the local area; the team and I all hope to welcome you back in the future - maybe for a leisure break too!

If you are looking for somewhere to take your clients for a festive lunch/dinner we have a great value festive menu available from 1st December, hopefully we will see you then.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

As one enters, the feeling of being presurised by staff encouraging guests to partake of drinks in bar prior to dining..
Once seated & shown menu, we were told catigorically that vegetables were not included with meals.
An outmoded & annoying trend.
we all ordered additional vegetables, which when dinner came served WITH vegetables,we realised that this was an unnessesary add-on.
Constanlty being asked if we wished to order further drinks, this seemed somewhat intrusive.
Coffe & petite fleurs were served in the dark ambeince of the lounge, coffee being BEYONG week, & the petire feurs a jeely like substance.
One should NOT complain after the event, but to complain on the vening in question, was met with total indifference,& numerous attempts to bring this to the attention with management throughout three weeks thereafter, was met with......silence. Numerous excuses "We didn't receive your emails"(despite sending three "We diodn't receive your letters, they must have got lost in the post" follwed by my phoning to disinterseted staff.
So, a word to the wisw...if you expect customers to return, at least answer your customers views, so as not to receive a trip Adviser bad review.
Word to wise diners...don't forget to take a very full wallet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deeannrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review regarding your visit for dinner.

I am very disappointed that you did not have an enjoyable evening with us, and am sorry to read that you felt there were hidden charges.

At The Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa we provide ourselves on offering the highest levels of service, part of that is to offer our guests the choice of whether to have a pre-dinner drink in the lounge or to head straight through to dinner and order drinks whilst at the table. The majority of our guests prefer to relax in the lounge and enjoy a drink whilst taking time to look through the menu before going through to the restaurant as this limits the time you are waiting at the table, as your food order will already have reached the kitchen.

Likewise, part of the fine dining experience is to ensure that our guests never have to pour their own drink, so if our waiting staff were to see your glass empty they would re-fill it for you so as to enhance the experience of the evening. I'm sorry if this was not to your liking and we take all of our guests feedback on board, so thank you for this.

Being a fine-dining Rosette restaurant, our dishes focus on quality rather than quantity and therefore are not served with big portions of vegetables or potatoes; this is why we give our guests the option of ordering extra side dishes to accompany their meal.

As yet we have not received any letter from you, and we pride ourselves on responding to our customers as soon as reasonably possible. If you would like to re-send your letter marked for my attention I will of course respond.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here on many occasions for business and what a pleasure it is. This is an outstanding hotel,pleasent gardens and sitting areas by the heated pool,fine dining,super breakfast and the rooms are individual and most are enormous in size.Staff are attentive and know what they are doing. Thouroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review

It is always a pleasure to hear from our repeat guests and I am delighted that you always have a fantastic time with us.

The team and I all look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I was lucky enough to be invited to a wedding here and we had 2 rooms booked, one family room which was huge, very comfortable and very clean and tidy, also had a double room which was also very spacious and again clean and tidy, the staff were falling over themselves to be helpful and caring for your every need.
The food was excellent, my only regret is that we didn't have time to use all the facilities at this wonderful venue.
The manager was always on hand to sort anything out which he did straight away.
I would stay there again and would recommend to anyone especially for a wedding.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamholma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fabulous review.

I am delighted to read that you had such an amazing time at The Bishopstrow Hotel, I have passed your lovely comments onto the team here.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future - maybe even to celebrate New Yaer's Eve with us!

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
13.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
12.1 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
16.4 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
11.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
17.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopstrow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopstrow House

Property: Bishopstrow House
Address: Boreham Road, Warminster BA12 9HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishopstrow House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa. Without doubt one of the finest, luxury hotels in Wiltshire.Located within easy reach of Bath and Salisbury (off the A36), only 6 miles from the famed Longleat Safari and Adventure Park.Set in 27 acres of established grounds boasting kitchen gardens, orchard and trout fishing from the banks of the river Wylye running along the hotel, deep in the heart of the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. Ideal for adults and children alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bishopstrow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopstrow House Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow House Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing