We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and food, superb staff, spa...average.”
Review of Bishopstrow House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bishopstrow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel and food, superb staff, spa...average.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel was very reasonably priced and the whole booking procedure was smooth, with regular contact from the reception team. Arrival check-in was quick, even though we arrived very early, and the room was superbly prepared. The Superior Room (Rm1) was spacious and furnished in a modern style but in line with the property. The bathroom really had the wow factor and the centrally positioned tub and monsoon shower combi was fantastic. The restaurant and food are comparable to any good one in central London and the staff were attentive without being obtrusive. The hotel boasts 2 sitting rooms, both cosy and inviting with a large open fire, and are perfect for relaxing whilst playing the boards games that are provided by the hotel.
The spa was basic but still enjoyable. Some modernisation with a little imagination would greatly improve the experience. Space is limited in comparison to other spas, with especially small changing rooms, but the treatments were excellent. The Rasul mud treatment is an indulgent must, especially for couples, and was great fun.
Overall, we`d definately book again.

Room Tip: Room one was great, can`t comment on the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bishopstrow

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed all of the facilities.

The spa is about to start a complete refurbishment of the gym which will offer all of the latest technology in lifestyle fitness. There are also more works ear-marked for later in the year as we are constantly investing in the property.

We hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    257
    132
    50
    52
See reviews for
146
452
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

9th February 2013
Just returned from a lovely night away at the Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa. Room was superb with all the mod cons (we stayed in Room 20, downstairs in the stable block), Would recommend that that you stay and eat in the restaurant for at least one night of your stay - the food was divine and service was excellent. The Spa itself was fantastic - lots of choices of therapies and would thoroughly recommend their signature treatment, one and a half hours of bliss! Beware of the rainforest shower as the monsoon setting is a bit of a surprise!
We'll be definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main house. We stayed in the Stable block which can be reached through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolLindaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent trip to Bishopstrow

It is great to read all of your wonderful comments, and I am delighted that you had such a relaxing time and enjoyed all of the facilities on offer

Our newly refurbished rooms, such as Room 20 are truly wonderful and blend the traditional feel of the house with all the modern and contemporary features our guests expect

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We arrived early before our check in time on the Saturday, and were greeted with a friendly welcome, a tour of the facilities and were told we were able to make use of the spa facilities while we waited.

Food
We ate lunch in the restaurant, which was delicious - the soup of the day was especially good and great value for money. A three course evening meal in the restaurant was included in our package from spabreaks.co.uk,, although a cheaper all day menu was also available. The food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. Service was polite and friendly. Breakfast in the morning was included. The continental breakfast was sufficient for me (fruit, pastries and yoghurt - warm fruit juice was the only let down), but the cooked options looked clean and tasty and were also included in the price of our room.

Facilities
After making the most of the spa in the afternoon with a massage, swim, jacuzzi and steam room we felt thoroughly relaxed. The spa itself was clean and peaceful; the staff were friendly and professional. Robes, slippers and lockers were provided free of charge for the day. We had one treatment included in our package, and would normally have booked extra treatments but they seemed more expensive than other spas we've visited.

The lounge areas provided a lovely setting to end the evening, with a log fire that was very welcome on a snowy weekend. One of the lounges seemed more family friendly, but the other was quieter.

Room
We stayed in room 4, which was well decorated and spacious. Lots of toiletries were provided, and an iron was brought up quickly when requested. Our room was very warm, with a lovely view and big bathroom. A new coat of paint was needed in the bathroom on closer inspection, but the bedroom was beautifully decorated. The bed was big and comfortable. The only downside to the room was the fact that we could hear the extractor/shower from another bathroom in the morning, but this wasn't enough to stop us going back to sleep! We were especially impressed to find that our room had been cleaned in the evening while we were downstairs eating dinner.

All in all, the hotel was perfect for a romantic and relaxing weekend. With the package we got from spa breaks it was definitely great value for money. We would definitely return in the future, either for a spa day or weekend break.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyPlym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your glowing review about your recent stay with us

I was delighted to read all of your fabulous comments regarding all areas of the hotel and spa and have passed all of your kind comments on to the team

It is lovely when we are able to upgrade our guests, on this occassion I am pleased you enjoyed the upgrade to one of our Superior Rooms in the main house

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We like to go on a few spa days to relax and unwind. We looked online for any special offers. We found the Valenine's spa day for two on special offer at Bishopstrow House.

Good Points:
The house is lovely
Staff were friendly
Lunch was delicious
Massage was relaxing

Bad Points:
They forgot our welcome champagne
Indoor pool dull, and slightly rundown.
Massage wasn't in a dual room as described in offer, and no candles
Changing rooms small with rusty brackets, lack of care

Overall good, but not quite on par with other spa's we have been to in a similar price bracket. Unfortunately i don't think we will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on your recent spa day

I am pleased to read that there were many good points to your visit including the staff and the main hotel

However, I am sorry to hear that we need not meet all of your expectations. I have passed all of your comments on the Spa Manager so that these issues can be addressed.

The halcyon spa will be going through a refurbishment this year, with the refurbishment of the Gym starting next month and the changing rooms and other areas ear-marked for later in the year

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, perhaps for an overnight stay, once the spa has been refurbished.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We just came back from an early valentines break and wanted to write a review to say how lovely our stay was.

On arrival we noticed that the reception wasn't sign posted so we weren't sure where to go! (It's on the right hand side!)check in was lovely and quick and we has a lovely bell boy who showed us to our room and where the restaurants were. In the evening we also hired some DVDs from reception which is also a good amenity for us.

We stayed in room number 7 which is a superior room which was lovely and big and also lovely and warm, the bed was nice and big and soft, there were lots of nice little elemis toiletries and full sized hair dryer, also complimentary slippers and robes which were a lovely touch. Our blind in the bedroom was a bit mouldy which was a bit off putting but other than the room was perfect.

The spa was also good although the cleanliness of the steam room wasn't great, it smelled mouldy (never smelt a mouldy steam room before) and there was still black sludge by the drain which I'm sure was there the day before! Also the relaxation room was lovely but there was one member of spa staff that came storming in now and again to collect the glasses (quite loudly!) which isn't very relaxing! But the headphones were a nice addition.

The restaurant was lovely, we ate from the all day dining menu which has a good choice of dishes, I had the Thai red curry which was delicious and had a nice kick and my partner had the beer battered fish, the best part of our stay was the amazing sticky toffee pudding (never take this off the menu!) the best I've ever eaten! Our waitress was a lovely German lady who was very attentive.

Breakfast was also lovely and we managed to squeeze in a nice walk in the morning around the grounds. We had a lovely time but feel its a bit pricey for regular visits!

Thank you to all the staff for our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellybeanswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us

I am delighted to read that overall you had a wonderfully relaxing stay and that you enjoyed the food and facilities on offer

I can only apologise that some elements of the stay were not up to scratch and I have passed your comments on to the relevent Heads of Departments to have these issues rectified right away

We hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meppershall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A lovely hotel set in its own grounds and recently refurbished to a very high standard. Facilities include indoor and outdoor heated pools, fully equipped Spa plus covered and outside tennis courts.
Staff are very pleasant and offer just enough assistance not to be intrusive. The All Day menu is great as it does not tie you to time and the main menu is beautifully cooked and presented, only gripe is just two sweets offered which is not enough for a hotel of this calibre. Full room service is available.
Room was superb and spacious with a lovely modern bathroom. Supplied are ironing board, iron and hairdryer, robes, slippers and all toiletries. The bed was large and very comfortable and there was little noise noticeable even from other guests so very relaxing.
The main rooms in the hotel are two good sized lounges with real log fires where you can eat if you wish, a small bar area, a modern glass conservatory dining area and similar, more formal, dining room. Food is served quite quickly and hot!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent trip to Bishopstrow

I am delighted to read that you had such a great time and made full use of all of our facilities including the halcyon spa and Mulberry Restaurant

Thank you for all of your comments - I have passed them onto our Management Team

We hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just spent two nights - 1st and 2nd Feb - at Bishopstrow, Room 10 is a Family Suite with proper two separate bedrooms and had a lovely week-end. Stayed often at this hotel and never fails to please; staff friendly and unobtrusive, spa and swimming pools great, food delicious and dog-friendly too. Don't mean to rave but a seriously restful hotel run for the guests rather than the management - if you see what I mean. Fantastic walks up onto Salisbury Plain with majestic views across Wiltshire and Somerset and an awful lot of very fine country pubs in the region too. For the prices, the facilities and the setting altogether very hard to beat.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the main house if you can - courtyard rooms are just fine but the main house has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 900TimF_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on your return stay to Bishopstrow,

I am delighted to read that you and your family had another fantastic stay with us, it is always a pleasure to welcome back our loyal customers.

We very much look forward to welcoming you all back to Bishopstrow again in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
13.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
12.1 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
16.4 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
11.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
17.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopstrow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopstrow House

Property: Bishopstrow House
Address: Boreham Road, Warminster BA12 9HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishopstrow House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa. Without doubt one of the finest, luxury hotels in Wiltshire.Located within easy reach of Bath and Salisbury (off the A36), only 6 miles from the famed Longleat Safari and Adventure Park.Set in 27 acres of established grounds boasting kitchen gardens, orchard and trout fishing from the banks of the river Wylye running along the hotel, deep in the heart of the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. Ideal for adults and children alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bishopstrow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopstrow House Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow House Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing