We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bishopstrow House
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Warminster(Warminster)(Great Value!)
$50
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Woolpack Inn(Beckington)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
$46
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$152
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel(Trowbridge)(Great Value!)
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Polebarn(Trowbridge)
$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Farmers Hotel(Warminster)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveler rating
368
283
148
55
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
368
283
148
55
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmulberry restaurantoutdoor pooloval roomspa facilitiesrasul mud treatmentsteam roomroll top bathrelaxation roomafternoon teamonsoon showerdouble showerspa breakdeluxe roomtennis courtscountry house hotelsecret escapesthe main house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 909 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We held our wedding at Bishopstrow House Hotel and also booked the hotel for the week end with our guests. The staff were fantastic and very flexible for us throughout and managed all our requests no matter how small. All our guests commented on the hotel, the quality of the food and the luxurious quality of the rooms. We would recommend the hotel to anyone whether it is for a week end away or for your own special day.

Room Tip: They are all individual and fabulous.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post feedback on your wedding at The Bishopstrow Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that your special day went beyond expectations and that the team did all they could to help your prepare for your big day.

May I take this opportunity to offer you both my personal Congratulations and wish you all the best for the future.

We very much hope to welcome you back for your 1st Anniversary.

Kind Regards
Jason Thorley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at bishopstrow for tonight this month an was such an amazing stay. The service is 5 star quality. The porter when we arrived was so lovely and showed us around and explained everything to us on our way to our room. When we got in our we was amazed how nice it was with its own patio doors looking on to a nice little patio area. When we ate in the main restaurant in the evening the service was lovely and quick and the staff was so nice and done everything they could to make the eating experience so much better. I would name the amazing staff. The food overall in the hotel was amazing. When ever we need anything at all the reception staff was so lovely and done everything they could and the porter came very quick to our room with a tea and coffee tray and was very polite. On the day of leaving we had some tome to use the very nice spa facilities and was very relaxing. On check out the staff was very lovely and polite. The one thing which I would change is having the tea and coffee tray in our room so we Wouldent have to ring up for one. But other than that I would a amazing stay and will coming back very soon for another relaxing stay and to see the lovely staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tming23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at The Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa, I am delighted to read that you had such a fantastic time.

I have passed your feedback and thanks on to the team as it is always nice for them to hear their hard work is appreciated and that it really makes your stay special.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards
Jason Thorley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely 2 night stay .
The staff in the hotel were so friendly and just could not do enough for us.
We were met by a lovely lady when we arrived that sorted out a beautiful room with a view of the garden and outdoor pool.
The room was very big with comfortable sofa and king size bed .
We had two showers and a very deep bath.
The evening meal was excellent.
We were treated so special with polite manners and good humour from our waitress.
Very chatty staff very happy throughout the whole hotel.
I would love to return and take my two daughters to longleat house it was closed which as a shame.

Room Tip: we stayed in the wylye room which was perfect.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 760sally-m760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay at The Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa

It is wonderful to read such good comments and to hear you had such a fantastic time. I have passed all of your kind comments on to the team.

I am delighted to read that our newly refurbished bedrooms exceeded your expectations - we are constantly trying to improve all of the facilities that we offer.

I truly hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to The Bishopstrow in the future and that your daughters get to visit the fantastic Longleat House & Safari Park

Kind Regards
Jason Thorley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we pulled into the drive of the hotel we were genuinally blown away, it was beautiful grounds and building. Unfortunately as we pulled into the shale car park there was a maniac wheel spinning all over the place up our rear in thecar which put us off.Not hotels fault, but unfortunately made it a bad start to our weekend!! The room we were shown too in new court yard was pretty, but it was quite cramped. Very warm! i packed my hot water bottle and didnt need it and thats rare for me (very rare!!) The evening meal was nice. Waitresses were quite sweet, one in particular i didnt get her name though. Food was nice, cant fault it. Rsetaurant was quiet and we dined quite early at 7, we were first in there,and plonked next too big green fire exit sign on door, which was odd considering the whole place was empty!! Mior details here but im a fuss pot. Food took 35 mins to arrive but that was fine as we had lovely glass of Kier Royal with Strawberry in it..delicious. After dinner we sat in lounge area with a drink. The main sofa in front of fire was in dreadful state, i think somebody had sat plucking the feathers from it, it looked like something out of a refuge, and cushions were delapidated, what a shame in such a beautiful room!! When we had arrived we had heard terrible creaking above us so asked if we could be reloacted to different room but they were fully booked. Anyway we didnt even get 5 minutes sleep. The creaking was horrendous until 4am, but even after it stopped at 4am i was so wound up by it i kept waiting for it to start and so gave up on the idea of sleeping at all..!! Next morning staff were apologetic and i got £20 refund on the room. To be fair here, the rooms are new we stayed in so the hotel werent aware of these types of snags until people start staying, so i totally understood there predicament and hopefully it will be fixed. As we checked out there were guests arguing with the staff and slamming doors, what a shame in such a beautiful place. Even though we had several things happen like the lack of sleep, we were overcharged several times and some bad mannered guests, i cannot fault how beautiful the place was and all the staff were helpful and nice, i cant fault them. we really did just get unlucky on a few things. we will definitely go abck and would recommend!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShinyHappy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that despite a small number of minor issues you would return to visit us again. I have noted the points you made and will raise them with the relevent members of the team.

We are always striving to improve and have just refurbished our Library, which was as you mentioned looking a little tired before and we are in the process of refurbishing the Drawing Room which should be completed next week.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back and show you the updated public areas of the property.

Kind Regards
Jason Thorley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The worst hotel and dining experience we have ever had. They treat families with children like 2nd class citizens - horrible segregated dining, quit simply the worst children's menu (have a guess what main courses it has - pretend it's 1980 first though ...), rude front of house, poor service (wrong meals, drinks spilled and a dirty plate of knives dropped on one of the children) and as for the a la carte menu .... Just atrocious. Over-cooked, grissle filled lamb (I think they got the order meant for the Longleat lions), bones in undercooked terrine, tasteless pumpkin soup and so it goes on and on. The even managed to mess up the breakfast by finding some of the worst ingredients the UK has to offer and burning them. Genius. Oh and the a la carte menu was the same the second night but presented differently on the plate and bad in different ways - so at least that's variety I guess. The children had fold down beds that I think we're pre- war (my daughter seemed to think so and in the middle of the night moved to the sofa). Above all else though its the bad treatment of families and children that was most disappointing - DO NOT STAY HERE WITH CHILDREN - they simply aren't welcome. The manager agreed with the above by the way and knocked off £200 but that still meant we'd paid a thousand pounds for the two worst nights we've ever had in a hotel. Avoid - this place has serious issues.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Capecod67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews