We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunters Moon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Farmers Hotel(Warminster)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bishopstrow House(Warminster)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Captain Cook Hotel(St Peter Port)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Woolpack Inn(Beckington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
45
26
8
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
26
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeaver lodgecoin meterfeeding the ducksmain lakefishing lakefishing experiencelog cabins arequiet weekpeace and quietcountry walksshort breaktea towelson arrivaldouble bedroomwhite horsedvd playernice size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 87 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went a couple of years ago, but I still remember it good. We go there and it was in a very secluded place, and was very quiet, which was very good. The lodge was clean and feeding the ducks was very fun. There was a big shop and petrol station for your needs nearby which was very helpful. A walk round the lodges was nice especially around the lake, very peaceful and the staff were very helpful, kind and friendly too. I would recommend this to anyone, lovely and peaceful!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charlottelouise3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed here twice before and have already booked again for Jan 13 , the welcome was fantasic warm and friedley , the location is fab ! the cabins are vert cosy and clean very good value for money , the perfect place to relax and unwind its so peaceful , I would recommend to anyone , Nick & Sandy are the perfect hosts Well Done Both !!!

Room Tip: All the cabins are lovely
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for weekend with our dog,as ever great accomodation&welcome. Great dog walks. Very friendly staff who couldnt do enough for you,been here for past several years and gets better everytime we come.Excellent location,peaceful but short distance from ammemities. Longleat not far away&Bath well worth a look. Good food&drink on site and you can take dogs in bar area because they are more than welcome and will be made a fuss of.You have everything you need in the lodge,anything else you wish for ask and they will do utmost to help you. dont forget your torch if out and about after dark

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmj1970_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely four night break at Hunters Moon, staying in Otter 1 Lodge - one of the two person cabins. It was clean, comfy and very suitable for our needs. You do need to take a few pound coins, especially if staying in the winter for the heating, but the cabin warmed up quickly and maintained its temperature.

The kitchen provisions are basic - if you are planning on cooking a full sunday meal then take some of your own utensils.

The area is a bit soggy underfoot, so wellies are a good idea, and it is not amazingly well lit, so maybe a torch. But each cabin has a car parking space, so unpacking was easy.

The most fun bit was the ducks - they come up to the cabin to be hand fed!

The staff were helpful and friendly.

It is a short walk to Warminster, and an easy drive to Bath, Salisbury and Bristol.

We will be returning :)

Room Tip: Otter cabins are cosy, perfect for two
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Going away in Great Britain, in November, just prior to Christmas we were never going to want to spend a lot of money!! So we were slightly worried about what we were going to get for what was very little money!! We need not have been concerned, the lodge was clean, warm and had everything we needed for a week away from home. The on site bar is lovely and all the staff are extremely friendly & welcoming and it is a nice place to spend the evenings. The site is five minutes away from Warminster and all its shops/supermarkets/restaurants yet in a peaceful secluded location - we visited loads of places throughout the week and everything - Bath, Salisbury, Stonehenge, Avebury, Wells, Longleat, stourhead & Laycock is within a 30 mile radius of the site - which was great as we came to cycle.

Room Tip: Take wellies or similar if you go out of season - it IS situated on a marsh!! Not a problem at all and common sense really!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayneH305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews