We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunters Moon”
Review of Hunters Moon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hunters Moon
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The fishing was poor and the lakes were unkempt and the water levels were not where they used to be.. The river at the rear of the primises did not really have any usable fishing areas. The bed was like a Japanese fouton and very low down. Quite difficult to get out of actually. I went to open a draw and the draw came away in my hand. The Ducks we felt were in need of culling as there were just too many of them and they were a nuisance It really was not Hoseason's usual high standard. Most certainly not worth the money we paid. We actually came home a day early and knew of others that had done likewise. We were going to complain when we handed the keys in but nobody was there to complain too. We did complain to Hoseason's but sadly never got a response. We will not be going there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnstevenson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Hunters Moon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 82 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a great place to go for a meal. Sunday lunch is one of the best in the area (you will need to book). Nick, Sandy and family make all guests feel welcome. The food is hot, fresh and tasty and the service warm, friendly and efficient. The bar, restaurant and toilet facilities are immaculate.The setting of Hunters Moon is fantastic if you like wildlife its not to be missed. You can sit overlooking the lake and enjoy a pre dinner drink. At the moment there are two families of geese with their gosling's on the lake. As for the cabins I have not stayed in them but my in-laws have on three occasions and had no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valashby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our first time at Hunters Moon and although our 2nd was good as well it was not as good as the first and we felt as though the place had become quite run down since we had stayed before. It was cold and we had to pay a lot for electricity, they could do with providing better facilities for cooking and a tea towel or towel, we did not know they did not provide these when we booked. Unsure if we would go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JZF28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had booked what we had thought was the deluxe model. Turned out to be a run down tired looking shed. Getting out of the car and into the cabin was muddy no path meant you had to walk everywhere with wellies. The front steps had wire meshing for safety which was very loose and our dog managed to catch her paw in it, luckily she diddn't break her leg. My husband managed to tidy this up so we diddn't have this problem again. The cabin had no double glazing and was full of condensation and a huge draft under the front door. The heating was via portable heaters which ate the electric and gave hardly any heat. The heater for the water took on average an hour and a half to heat a bit different to his 20 mins. Christmas Day proved difficult to cook in such a small space with no work surfaces to put your plates on, no measuring jug. We had to use a coke tin to work out what 500ml was. No gravy jug, no vegtable servers.
We had some issues and when we spoke to NIck we felt he was on Caribbean time. When we contacted him on his emergency number there was no answer he said he was out of range.
We was told the bar would be open everyday except christmas day it turned out it was also shut boxing day and new years day.
The positives was my husband said the fishing was lovely. The bar and the new year hall was immaculate shame the cabin wasn't.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We decided to book a meal here for my residents of a care home, toilets were accessible and spotless, the hosts were so helpful and the christmas dinners were the best i have ever had out. My residents loved them, watching them eat so much was great. The pudding choice was great and were out of this world in taste. Food wait was not long at all and as they only accept one function at a time this leaves them time to be at your service throughout. Will certainly return to this place, such beautiful scenery as well.A big thank you for making their and our day so memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckystarWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is a fantastic little place to go no matter what your age or whether your a family or couple. Me and my partner of ages 18 and 20 went for 4 nights we stayed in otter one lodge. This has a nice sized double bedroom with a very comfortable double bed !! The kitchen is a really good size electric oven fridge with a freezer compartment. You get quite a few utensils in there however remember to take something to do your washing up with as there is nothing there to use. All your forks knives spoons cups glasses plates and bowls are there and ready to use. The lounge has a bench table a sofa and tv which has freesat and a dvd player, many channels on free sat.

We put £4 in the electric meter for our 4 night stay and this did us although there was a bit left in there from the last people but not much, we made sure we turned off every single plug apart from the fridge and tv plugs whilst we was out or wasn't using them just too keep the cost down we was in every night from about 8ish and we had 2 heaters going the tele on and the kitchen light was on quite a bit but we really didn't do much electric so that was really good :)

Morrisons is literally 2mins down the road followed by the town centre where you can get practically any takeaway you are after and there is quite a few shops. Its nice to go through the town and out the other side its quite a nice litlle drive, there is plenty to do in the local area many road signs to direct you, we popped to longleat zoo which was amazing perfect for a day out plenty to do especially for the kids however we loved the safari drive through the many different animals watch out if you go through the monkeys they did rip off a few different things off our car but it can be bypassed but would recommend it

Me and my partner are both interested in fishing so having the use of 3 lakes was excellent we did only have a go on 2 although the main lake is okay but we didn't actually catch anything as its the specimen lake and most of the fish are bigger however whilst we was there, there was regular visitors there who go there for the fishing and they sat on the main lake and the lake at the back and they did catch a few in there 3 days there. We used the smaller lake by the club house and although the fish aren't huge they made us happy enough as we was catching most of the day and you wouldnt go 5mins without getting bites. I would say float fish on this lake and cast out by the reeds quite close into the bank as this is where they were all hiding. Steve's tackle is in the town a little expensive but this is where to get your maggots from i would say stick to sweetcorn in the small lake as this keeps away the little fish that constantly biting but wen u get a big bite it will usually be a carp!

Looking forward to going back again very very sooon perhaps end of May and might even book a week in the summer months, owners are lovely people willing to help if anything happens give you advice about the lakes or the things to do in the area perfect holiday very relaxing and peaceful !!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kim2010EnglandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Our second visit to this fabulous location, and yet again it did not let us down. Secluded and peaceful and the owners are great and ensure all is well during your stay. Electricity is by coin meter but we put in £10 for 4 days, and thought that was great value. The lodges have everything you require and are comfy and quiet. You have a nice big lake outside, so you can fish, feed the ducks or just enjoy the veiws. There is a bar and restraunt and the prices are reasonable and dogs are allowed in the bar. Well worth a visit and we are hoping to return again in April.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leicsbaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
594 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
865 reviews
1.1 mi away
Botany Camping
Botany Camping
#2 of 5 in Warminster
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Bath Arms at Longleat
The Bath Arms at Longleat
#1 of 3 in Horningsham
631 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#11 of 24 in Warminster
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Snooty Fox Warminster
The Snooty Fox Warminster
#4 of 5 in Warminster
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Moon

Address: Lower Marsh Road, Warminster, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Warminster
Price Range: $48 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hunters Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Moon Hotel Warminster
Hunters Moon Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing