We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Horwood House

Horwood House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horwood House
Ranked #12 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I had the double room here, which has a separate bathroom (not ensuite), but this isn't a problem, as the bathroom is almost next to the bedroom, and you get a key to the bathroom, so no-one else can use it. Also the bathroom is very big (larger than any ensuite could be), with a large shower, bath, and 2 sinks. The bed was very comfortable. I didn't find the pillows comfortable, but when I mentioned it I was given a different pillow which was comfortable. The room was very well equipped, with tea & coffee making facilities, a Freesat HD TV, hairdryer, tissues, mineral water. The B&B is quiet, as it's not on a busy road, and the bedrooms face the back garden, so there's no traffic noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehungrymeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Had one overnight stay and found the room clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and our hosts were very flexible with us. A good knowlege of the local area which we found invaluable as we wanted to visit locally on our journey home. Would definitely stay there again if we were in the area!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandchris6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geleen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

the room was nice but i didnt like the shower in the middle of it. (a curtain around it would be nice)
Ade and his wife were very freindly but a bit too fussy about some things. (like the breakfast had to be at an exact time and when we came 5 miniyes early we had to go back to the room. and shoes of downstairs while the room was dusty.) the breakfast was GREAT and very well presented. SUPER
They were ultra helpfull and friendly and that made up for some of the things that we tought where a bit strange.
(like the milk in a cooler in de hal??)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackyandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejhpollard, Owner at Horwood House, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
It was a pleasure to meet these two ladies on their short break. We are grateful to them for their constructive review of Horwood House and note that alongside their positive feedback there are some areas for us to improve upon.

We did indeed find a dusty surface in the twin bedroom around the T.V. where static electricity appears to attract dust. This is now on our check list. We believe that it is normal practice in the UK to request that outdoor footwear is not worn upstairs.

The lack of privacy in the shower cubicle is being addressed by the installation of a 2 metre wide, ceiling mounted blind. This is easily lowered and raised by the pull of a cord, and will completely ‘shield’ the shower from the rest of the room.

The timing of breakfast is a more subtle issue; our aim is to provide excellent service to each of our guests in turn. To achieve this we agree a time with each guest by discussion, during the evening beforehand. Our plans can be thrown when a guest who has asked for an earlier time for breakfast arrives later and remains in the dining room longer than expected, or, when guests arrive earlier than arranged. To try to avoid this, we now allow 45 minutes between each ‘sitting’. In so doing, our intention is to provide each guest with a freshly cooked meal, served with personal attention.

Finally, the flasks of milk that the reviewer mentioned were placed in a cool box to provide additional insulation during particularly warm weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Booked this b&b so that we were taxi distance from Longleat as my sister and I were taking my Mum there for her 60th birhtday. Davina and Adrian couldn't have been more helpful with our travel arrangements - providing us with information on train, buses, taxi numbers, pubs serving food in the area. Davina even offered to make us packed lunches to take to Longleat as we were on a winter tour. This was much appreciated and gratefully accepted. We were handed a picnic hamper back pack full off good food and also cuttlery and glasses and napkins. Davina catered for me and Mum as vegetarians and Mum as dairy free and my sister as 'normal' meat eater. Good choice at breakfast too. Thank you for helpiing to make Mum's 60th special.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h22batt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Great hospitality, good local knowledge and safe bike storage. Fantastic breakfast too, all locally sourced. All round good stay - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Excellent value for money, lovely room and hosts were extremely attentive, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Definitely recommend

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank josskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We had a comfortable night and were made very welcome by our hosts. The breakfast was excellent.
Horwood House is very conveniently placed within easy walking distance of the town centre. The only drawback was that the room was not ensuite.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warminster hotels
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
845 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#7 of 24 in Warminster
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Heytesbury
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
192 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westover House
Westover House
#2 of 24 in Warminster
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horwood House

Property: Horwood House
Address: 80 Boreham Road, Warminster BA12 9JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer high quality accommodation (double and twin rooms), off-road parking, secure bicycle storage and locally sourced food. Guest bedrooms overlook the large, attractive garden at rear of the house. Competitive rates are £50 per room per night single occupancy and £70 per night double occupancy. All rooms come with full English breakfast included free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horwood House Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing