We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Deverill End

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deverill End
Ranked #11 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I visited Deverill End with my girlfriend for an extended weekend break and found the experience fantastic. Both Joy and Sim are devoted to providing a personal touch during your stay and they make you most welcome. The food is locally sourced and there are a variety of local restaurants to visit if you so wish. I would have no hesitation in recommending this venue if you are after a quiet and tranquil break set in the rolling countryside. I have since suggested that my parents should pay them a visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186337Domo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
26
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay with Sim and Joy over Easter. They made us feel very welcome and the views from garden are lovely. Rooms very comfortable and breakfast excellent with plenty on offer from fresh fruit from their garden,cereals and lovely cooked breakfast ( with fresh eggs from their own hens). Like the tea and coffee making facilities in bedrooms , the hairdryer and toiletries in the bathroom.
Several pubs within walking/short drive. Would recommend The George for good value. We tried The Woolpack in the village the first night and enjoyed the food but found it a bit expensive. More a restaurant than a village pub.
Only one grumble and that didnt really matter for a weekend - not a lot of cupboard/drawer space in the bedroom though there was a small hanging area with plenty of hangers supplied.
Nice position for getting out and about for walking etc..would definately recommend Deverill End.

Room Tip: Double bedroom at rear of property has the lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanGenieXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a fantastic stay with Joy and Sim, who made us feel very much a part of their family. We would love to return one day to see them again and the lovely setting. Joy thanks for the lovely breakfast and making it feel like home from home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My wife and I have been staying at Joy and Sim's Guest House for the past 5 years. We have stayed on our way to and from Cornwall or simply to see friends in the area, the welcome has always been friendly and sincere coupled with comfortable accommodation. We do not have a great appetite but the breakfast has always reached our expectations. We wholeheartedly reccommend Deverill End be it for a long or a short stay.
Giovanni and Margaret.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I have just returned today from 3 days at Deverill End. Joy and Sim made me feel most welcome and spent ages giving me information on the area. The Woolpack Inn, just 300 yards away was one of their recommendations and I thoroughly enjoyed the food there. Excellent quality.

The beds were very comfy and the bedding spotlessly clean. Blankets are provided as standard but I think you can request duvets if required. Each day the rooms are tidied and the bathrooms cleaned.

Tea/coffee making, a small tv with freeview channels and a hairdryer are all provided as are towels and I found hair/shower products in the bathroom. My only minor grumble was that they provide a cup and saucer rather than a mug. ( I know, never satisfied)

The decor is chintzy and dark wood with loads of souvenirs of their life, it's certainly not modern but that adds to the charm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneypenny2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2011

For several summers I have been staying with Joy and Sim at Deverill End. The guest house is situated in beautiful countryside and the chickens and ducks who wander about the grounds are a delight. Accommodation and food are excellent and I am always given a warm welcome as if I was part of the family!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here when attending a party in Chitterne. Joy made us feel extremely welcome. The twin bedroom and bathroom were on the small side, however, they were spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. It was wonderfully quiet and peaceful at night. The house has an old fashioned air of tranquility. We had a good breakfast, whilst looking out over the fields of horses and ponies to the hills beyond . I would happily return again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosy_nook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
1.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
847 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
566 reviews
1.4 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#7 of 24 in Warminster
240 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#4 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
463 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westover House
Westover House
#2 of 24 in Warminster
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deverill End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deverill End

Property: Deverill End
Address: Deverill End Deverill Road | Sutton Veny, Warminster BA12 7BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deverill End is a quiet rural Bed and Breakfast with 3 rooms. The southern views are far reaching and the garden full of roses, clematis and many other interesting plants. Chickens and bantams roam the orchard and in season the vegetables and soft fruit are spectacular. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deverill End Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing