We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed review”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A stopover stay on route. Checked the reviews and although you could hear the road it didn't disturb our sleep. Our room was spacious, clean, warm etc, although the mattress quality was not brilliant. Additionally, we arrived only minutes before the kitchen stopped serving for the night and we were permitted to order and had a lovely meal - thank you. Unfortunately, all this was spoilt by the bad service (or lack of service), and appalling manners of a member of staff the following morning when trying to have breakfast. When booking in on the Friday evening and signing papers, we were asked to identify what time we wanted breakfast on Saturday morning by ticking the relevant time slot on the paper; we ticked 7:30 as we had a ferry to catch and this was accepted by the staff member. On Saturday morning 7:30 came and went and not only could we not get into the room where breakfast was served, we also could not find any staff. At 7:45 we found a member of staff who informed us bluntly that breakfast was served from 8am. When we informed her that we had stipulated the 7:30 slot on the signing form, the response was that breakfast is not served until 8 so she had no idea why the evening staff had allowed it. No sorry, no apology. When we complained and we were offered a refund of the cost of breakfast which we accepted. However, the bad manners continued and actually got worse! Whilst looking at our booking form to make the refund, the staff member commented that we had only paid the reduced room rate anyway (having booked through on an online, last minute offer service- I also would not have paid the £90 a night room rate anyway) so why were we expecting a refund for breakfast? Because regardless of what we paid for the room (and if you don't want people paying a reduced rate then don't use booking.com to fill your empty rooms) breakfast was included, which we were asked at what time we wanted to eat and because your service had turned appalling. Unfortunately, the bad service and appalling manners got further worse, when the staff member then suggested to my husband, that given the time it would take to make the refund we might as well stay for breakfast! At that point we walked out. If you don't want to serve breakfast until 8am that's not a problem,but don't book people in from 7:30, it only annoys people. Likewise, your staff are in the hospitality trade and as such they need to do that. We were never rude nor raised our voices, yet the attitude of one of your female staff members was not acceptable, patronising and far from pleasant. If you feel the job is beneath you, then don't do it - funny that it was the same member of staff, who the evening before, had us waiting at the bar because she was too busy talking to the locals, leaving us waiting for other busy staff who were very pleasant, although busy. A shameful end to a good stopover and we left the refund because of time - maybe that was the intended outcome of this member of staff?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twtsandrupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your constructive comments, I am sorry that certain elements of your stay were memorable for the wrong reason. I have taken all your comment on-board and will be taking action to ensure the problems you encountered don't occur again in the future. Again thank you for your review and hope if you are passing again you will stay with us again and we can make your stay memorable for all the right reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 343 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were staying locally and had meals at the George three evenings on the run. All the meals were very good. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We would certainly go again if in the area. At the time we visited the pub was under-going refurbishment which looked very interesting and promising.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robelaine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your positive review of your recent visit to the George Inn. Our refurbishment is now complete and the pub looks lovely, I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just spent 2 wonderful days here the staff was great nothing too much trouble, Breakfast & evening meal food was excellent, our room very comfortable & clean, very pleasent country Inn
well worth a visit
Jean & Bob Bude,Cornwall

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent stay here at the George and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

One night stay. The evening meals were excellent but a bit pricey. Breakfast overcooked. The staff were friendly and cheerful. Room just OK, bathroom towel warmer didn't work and the shower is a bit weak.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norman p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thanks for your review of your stay here at the George and hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We came across the pub trying to find something to eat, what a delight, amazing food great service, so glad we stopped here, we did'nt no what to expect as not from the area. We can see they are making improvements to the place, we will be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chickflickpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, our refurbishment is now complete, so you should come in and enjoy the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We came across this pub with rooms whilst looking for somewhere to stay, what a delight. We were given a new room recently refurbished it was lovely! We decided to eat here the food was lovely too just what we needed. Breakfast in the morning was just as nice and the lad serving was really nice. I would definitely stay there again, they have plans to refurb the whole place will be quite amazing when finished.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fizzy122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thanks for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Shared a twin room on a Saturday night with a friend after attending a wedding locally.

Good stuff:
- Staff helpful e.g. my friend arrived early and, kindly, they cleaned our room first to allow him to check in early and change. booked us a local taxi. (Note: it's v expensive as taxis have to come all the way from Warminster. Obviously not The George's faut though!)
- Fantastic breakfast in the bar/restaurant. Plenty of juice and coffee/tea. Fabulous hot selection (full english, proper bacon sarnie, porridge) with tasty quality meats and fresh bread.
- Good sized room
- Plenty of parking space.
- Easy to find (just off the A350)

Less good stuff:
- Slightly noisy as our room slightly overlooked the main road.
- Bathroom suite was a bit tired and plug broken. It didn't really make a difference to us but might to others!

Can't comment on:
- Pub Garden - looked lovely though!
- Bar
- Restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicadelondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thanks for your kind comment, make sure next time you are passing you pop in and enjoy our lovely restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
2.7 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
893 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
637 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#8 of 24 in Warminster
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Bath Arms at Longleat
The Bath Arms at Longleat
#1 of 3 in Horningsham
654 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 24 in Warminster
257 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#4 of 24 in Warminster
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: Longbridge Deverill, Warminster BA12 7DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Price Range: $86 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Warminster
The George Inn Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing