We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“M & A”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a lovely Inn right on the river. All the staff were very friendly and helpful with no exceptions and the food was excellent. The rooms are large clean and airy with tea and coffee-making facilities (excellent ground coffee) There were six of us with the object of going to Longleat for our grandsons birthday and this hotel was the icing on the cake.We stayed three nights but it would have been very helpful if the hotel had had some leaflets on fairly local attractions for all ages. Not bad as our only disappointment!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pm2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thanks for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 343 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a lovely hotel who made us feel very welcome. It was my son's 21st birthday and the staff really pushed the boat out to make this a very happy stay. the evening meal was excellent and so was breakfast. The rooms are clean and spacious with plenty of tea and coffee etc. The towels are a good size and are nice and soft. Thanks for a great family break. We are looking forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-young-five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thanks very much for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at the George Inn whilst visiting longleat. Booked as part of a suprise birthday present for my mum and wasn't dissaponted. Friendly and welcoming staff and large, clean comfortable rooms. The food is beautiful and there isn't someone driving you mad every five minutes asking if your enjoying it! Have already planned another visit for next year and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hattie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed one night, the rooms were clean and spacious,the beds comfortable. Staff were friendly and efficient. The food was delicious. Overall really good value for money. It was a warm night so we sat outside and had our evening meal, it was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blues79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed 'The George Experience' and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Visited here on Friday 28th June 2013, for a night's stay with family. Superb friendly service, excellent accommodation and fantastic food at reasonable price. Even though the restaurant closed at 9.30pm, as some of our party were running late they offered to stay open to facilitate us.
Beautiful setting, with a lovely family atmosphere. We highly recommend this if you wish to visit any of the surrounding attractions.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed spacious and well appointed, very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LANEYBOY18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thanks for all your kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked 4 rooms at the George inn for 1 night on our way to Longleat safari park, it is always difficult when booking on line to know what you are going to find in reality but we all commented how fantastic the George inn is. The staff are very friendly and could not do enough to ensure that we had an enjoyable and comfortable stay, the rooms were clean and well presented, surprisingly large! We loved the attention to detail the little sachets of hot chocolate and filter coffee!! Breakfast was amazing! All in all I would recommend this hotel to you without hesitation, just 10 min drive from Longleat! You will not be disappointed, lovely place and you must try the steak and ale pie!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razgoodred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thanks for all your positive comment and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I'm sure that this hotel / pub is a very nice village pub outside of eating times, but around where I live, mostly it has the reputation of serving fabulous Sunday lunches. They run a carvery and we have been several times. It seems to be getting better and better in terms of food. We visited again last Sunday and the meal was won-der-ful. Also very generous. They normally serve turkey, pork and beef. I chose the beef and it was fabulously well prepared, cooked through, yet fork-teasingly tender, crispy and tasty on the outside. I received a welcome three large slices and some crispy bits. I can't say when I last enjoyed a piece of beef so much. In addition to the meat of course, there is a selection of serve-yourself vegetables, half a dozen or more. On top of that you can help yourself to as much as you wish of various desirable additions - yorkshire pudding, stuffing, gravy, sauces, you name it. My wife and Mother-in-Law seemed to agree with me. We were very glad we came.

Other matters - the pub has a large garden with a stream running through it, so if you hit a warm day, that's the place to eat. Their Sunday dinners are so popular around here that you certainly need to book and preferably 3 or 4 days before. Business is so hectic that effluvia quickly gathers, our table top was sticky, the floors get bits dropped on them, the staff get run off their feet. But all in all, who cares? If you're from the Frome / Warminster area and you're hungry for a great traditional British Sunday lunch, then try here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you ever so much for all your kind words about previous visits to the George and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
2.7 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
893 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
637 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#8 of 24 in Warminster
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Bath Arms at Longleat
The Bath Arms at Longleat
#1 of 3 in Horningsham
653 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 24 in Warminster
257 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#4 of 24 in Warminster
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: Longbridge Deverill, Warminster BA12 7DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Price Range: $86 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Warminster
The George Inn Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing