We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Yard”
Review of Prince Leopold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prince Leopold Inn
Ranked #12 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Yard”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our first experience with a B&B and were a little underwelmed. Prices for B&Bs in Great Britain rival the hotels.

This one was in a very nice country location with a stream running though the back yard. A couple of swans swimming in the steam was a highlight as was the local homes with thatched roofs.

We chose this location as it was close to stonehendge. The room was small with a very pink bathroom. The room was difficult to get around without banking your shins on the bed footboard.

The room was clean and quaint but the carpet up to the room was quite dirty. There is no place to eat but the B&B but the food was very good and the breakfast was made the way you wanted it(within limits).

The Inn has a history which was very interesting but I believe one night was enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paroganator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeleopold, Owner at Prince Leopold Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for visiting the Prince Leopold. We loved having you and enjoyed your company. There isn't much we can do about the size of the rooms which are characteristic of an old pub, but we can do something about the stair carpet which we are cleaning right now! Please come again>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    66
    15
    15
    12
See reviews for
60
106
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We checked in when staying close by for a wedding during a busy June weekend. A few days later, friends (and their gorgeous dog!) also booked as they couldn't find anything closer to Winchester, where he was doing the Tough Mudder challenge. So we got to see two rooms - ours (which is featured on the website) and theirs (which isn't). Our room was very sunny (to the horror of my husband, who loathes anything other than full blackout!) with double-aspect leafy green views and a good-sized, clean if basic bathroom with natural light and a bathtub. My friends' room was a bit more tired with a poky shower room. Our advice is to try to book the one with the iron bed that you see in the pix! The welcome and hospitality from chirpy, laid-back chef/manager Phil were very warm and charming owner Jayne Duff very kindly offered to drive me to Warminster station when she heard that a taxi back from Frome had just cost me 65 pounds! We were really sad that we didn't get to try the food but the menu looked great and breakfast was good: nothing boutique or chi chi about it, just an old fashioned British fry-up with bacon crispy as requested. Would definitely return if the Bath Arms (my local favourite for decades now and constantly improving) was full. Thank you Prince Leopold for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Dog friendly and very handy for visiting Longleat House & Safari Park. Go for the bedroom with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielleNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Upon arriving we were shown to our table. We ordered our drinks and starters and enjoyed the view down the river. There were no plates given for our starters and the only member of staff available was not attentive. Mains came about 30 -40 minutes after, the adults were served first and then another mishap, the chef got the children's meal wrong. Instead of battered fish with chips the chef prepared ham and egg with chips. As it was running late and school day tomorrow the kids were persuaded to have the ham and egg. The children's meals were taken off our bill which I thought was fair. When my daughter spilled her drink the staff member threw a towel across the table for us to clean ourselves. Is that right? The ladies toilet was also taken for granted with no loo rolls available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comeonletstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles D, Owner at Prince Leopold Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are so sorry your experience was not what we would have wished. We had a very busy and great Father's Day service with over 140 covers and it is always a shame when we don't score full marks. Please come back and introduce yourselves and try us again and we will do our best put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I enjoyed a superb dinner as part of a school reunion - a gang of girlfriends had a delicious and relaxed dinner when staying in the village. Service was friendly and attentive despite it being a busy Saturday night. Really appreciate the local sourcing of items on the menu, which seemed super fresh and offered a choice to suit all tastes. We'll be back and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepfarmer202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I reviewed The Prince a year or so ago as top notch, but something has changed, The management seems to be different and not as efficient or friendly as it was. The food took a long time even though the place was nearly empty and was not very good. The staff seemed new and did not really know the ropes, getting our order wrong and no apologies from the front of house at all. The atmosphere has also taken a backwards step and is even a bit frosty. We will not be rushing back in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepid1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeleopold, Owner at Prince Leopold Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are sorry to hear you didn't find us as good as your previous visit. Please come again and introduce yourself. Jayne and Charlie are back from Australia and the Leo is buzzing once more. Please come back and introduce yourself to us and allow us to show you that the Leo is on top form. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

What establishment are these people visiting? It is not the same place as we had an anniversary party for 17 people last Saturday. The staff were friendly and speedy. The new chef had sourced some wonderful beef. The risotto was greatly appreciated by the vegetarians and the cod was still almost flapping when it hit the table. Some people were a bit confused only seeing snacks and mezzes on the menu only to find the full menu on the other side of the page! In spite of the size of our party other guests seemed to be having a great time. Well that’s how they reported to us as we swapped experiences. I had stayed previously at the Leo where the rooms were clean and well-furnished. The English breakfast was to die for. Alright so it was a magnificent day for the weather with the trout stream gliding past the bottom of the garden but the whole atmosphere was professionally relaxed. This really is a gem set in quintessential English countryside.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vetman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We ate at the Prince Leopold on Tuesday evening (7th May). What a disappointment!

Although the staff were friendly and the service fine (not the quickest) the food was well below par. Gosh how this place has gone downhill over the past 2 years. I ate there 2 years ago and had a fantastic meal. Was there again last summer and it was good. However, Tuesday nights was POOR. The menu has gone downhill, all of us found it hard to choose something. It is now more like standard pub grub steak, fish and chips, burger and fish pie. Gone are the days when they offered something a bit special.

We started with sharing Mezze platter; very uninspiring and lacking in any Mediterranean or Middle Eastern flare although the humus was excellent. Two of us had steaks which were nothing interesting and the mushrooms and tomatoes looked although they had been cooked the day before; I'm sure you could get better at a 'Harvester' (not that I have ever eaten there!!). Another person in our party had the vegetable crumble which looked really dry and she said tasted of nothing and was made up mainly of carrot (she didn't even manage to finish it).

The conservatory at the back, although offering lovely views over the river and water meadows beyond, looked tired and dirty. The walls and ceiling were grubby and in need of a good coat of paint to say the least.

We are local to the area and are lucky to have some beautiful pubs around serving lovely food. However, the Prince Leopold will now be off our list as somewhere to eat. It is so sad when what should and could be great place goes downhill. We chose to eat their on Tuesday night, for the setting on a sunny evening, but will not be returning anytime soon.

P.S. I know I am not being harsh in my review as I overheard another diner (single gentleman) complain about his food while we were there.

Pull up your socks Prince Leopold there are other pubs close by doing a lot better food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisyourshavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeleopold, Manager at Prince Leopold Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for your review. We take all feedback seriously. Jayne and Charlie are back from Australia this month and the Leo is humming. New staff in the kitchen are working well and the repaint of the restaurant is top of our list of summer jobs! Come again soon and introduce yourself please. We look forward to showing you a warm Leo welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warminster hotels
2.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
847 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
566 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#5 of 24 in Warminster
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 24 in Warminster
232 reviews
2.6 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Leopold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Leopold Inn

Property: Prince Leopold Inn
Address: Upton Lovell, Warminster BA12 OJP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Leopold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince Leopold is a pretty, neatly modernised Victorian pub with a charming accommodation, riverside restaurant, bar and garden right on the edge of the Wylye River, overlooking water meadows and the rolling hills beyond in an area of outstanding natural beauty. With its modern British cuisine it seeks to provide a welcoming, friendly and relaxed environment where its guests can enjoy a range of local, hand-pumped real ales, lagers, ciders and an interesting array of wines and spirits from around the world. A wide choice of homemade food is on offer, from a classic pub menu to fine dining options in our riverside restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Prince Leopold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Leopold Hotel Warminster
Prince Leopold Inn Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing