We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Base for longleat”
Review of The Farmers Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Farmers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were very surprised on entering the hotel. It was very quaint. The staff were very nice and helpful. We were shown to our room and it was very nice for the price we paid. Breakfast for the 2 days we stayed was very nice and filling. The problems we had was that the family room must of been above the bar as we experienced a lot of noise till late on, as my granddaughter is only 8 it was difficult for her to sleep. The other being the parking situation. There is none. We were told to park in a certain place only to end up arguing with other guests over it.

Room Tip: Room 16 must be above the bar as it was very noisy. As we had the family room it very hard for a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 88 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

My partner and I was looking for a cheapish trip to take our 3 children to longleat for 2 days.We had 2 rooms a family and a double. All the hotels/ b&bs were very expensive and then he found this. Wasn't sure what to expect but I can say we will be going back here for our next stay. We were welcomed on the day by friendly, happy staff and the room was clean and bright with tea and coffee and a TV in the room. The bed was very comfy! In the morning we all went down for breakfast and they had quite a big choice. All the staff made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. I have recommended this hotel to our friends and will look forward to going there again. The hotel is only a few mins drive form longleat. There are a few shops to browse and a morrisons for petrol and food so makes it an ideal location. If you have children there is a great park a short walk down the road with a paddling pool and a boating lake.

Room Tip: I had a back room and a side room and all of our family had no problems sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

For price payed this hotel is excellent value.
Friendly,efficient staff and excellent food from bar snacks to restaurant meals.
I stayed over a six week period whilst working in Westbury and found the standard never dropped once over that period.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here unexpectedly following a fun packed day at nearby Longleat.

The member of staff who welcomed us was happy to accommodate our party if seven, which included three children under 7. She was an excellent waitress, nothing was too much trouble and she was a real credit to the Farmers.

The menu was varied and included several pasta dishes and many main courses that ranged from Fillet of Beef Stroganoff (£21) to ham, egg and chips (£9). I chose the tarragon chicken, which was accompanied by a huge amount of potatoes and veg on top of an already generous portion. It was very tasty and, if I may say so, an excellent choice! Other members of the party had the mixed grill, king prawn chili tagliatelle and pasta bolognaise... all of which were delicious.

We were delighted to have stumbled across such a gem of a restaurant, and were surprised that it was more busy on a Saturday night. Highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammipee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our stay was booked for us by a relative,so wasnt researched. We found, no lift, ,bedrooms over two floors, we were at the far end of the hotel,our room was small ,overlooking the rear of the hotel no view from the window. Paint work was jaded, the bedspread was clean but had what looked like an a small oil mark that had not washed out .
As we were attending a wedding we needed a good hanging space to hang our wedding outfits, there was no full size wardrobe only a chest high open cupboard,we had to hang our clothes from the curtain rail,
This is a family run hotel and has the stables over the road which can be booked for a function.
Breakfast was well cooked and cooked to order,

Room Tip: Ask for a large room, our double was a tight fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I cannot begin to wonder where the people that wrote the bad reviews stayed.
We (10 adults, 1 toddler and 1 baby) booked the Farmers Hotel for two nights bed and breakfast to attend a family wedding. We booked in, no problems, we were shown to our rooms, no problems. Yes the floors and some of the stairs were a little uneven but the building is over 400 years old, what would you expect? Overall the building was in good repair
The staff were more than willing to help in any way possible, the breakfasts were all freshly prepared to order and individual choice, not to mention well cooked and presented. Facilities for the two children were available and brought to us as and when they were needed. The rooms were clean tidy and well appointed, some may say they were a little on the small side but that's how they built them 400 years ago.
Would I go back?
Without a doubt

Room Tip: Due to the size of our party we were spread around the hotel, all the rooms I saw (5) were all as go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A really lovely place. All staff were really friendly. The food was lovely. Very clean. Excellent value for money. Would definately stay there again. Only down side was the car park wasn't very big, But that added to the character of the place. All packed in but no-one had a problem if you needed to move your car to let some one else out. All in all a fab weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
606 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
869 reviews
8.3 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#11 of 24 in Warminster
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Weymouth Arms
The Weymouth Arms
#4 of 24 in Warminster
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Hotel

Address: 1 Silver Street, Warminster BA12 8PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel with a variety of accommodation spread over the main Grade II Listed building and 2 annexes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Farmers Hotel Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing