We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for Bath & Longleat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Farmers Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Farmers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great base for Bath & Longleat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just come back from a lovely 2 night stay here with our kids in a family room. Exceptional friendliness & customer service second to none throughout our time here, nothing too much trouble. Rooms immaculately clean, beds comfy, wonderful breakfast cooked for us by a lovely Italian lady, (any combination of breakfast foods cooked to perfection with huge portions). We ate here in the restaurant on our first night and it was also most enjoyable (we dined from the Italian Night special menu) and excellent value for money. Brilliant location for Longleat (just up the road) and Bath (nearby train station takes you into Bath Centre on the hour, no need to hassle with driving or park & ride) Don't go looking for chain hotels when you've got amazing independent hotels like this around. Definitely recommend & will definitely come back when in the area. Thanks to the staff for a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rie1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    14
    6
    11
See reviews for
24
18
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Overview. From the outside this hotel does not look like much, but on the inside it is hiding a warmth of hospitality that is rare to find these days.
Its true that the facilities seem basic and the building feels worn, but has been given a lick of paint and as much as you can do with a building of this age, to be honest it had a certain charm.
I finally say that given what paying a night for B&B this establishment is a deal.
Hotel also provide wifi for £3 a night which was even available in my room at the very top, so don't begrudge paying it.

Pros
Friendly
Hospitable
Clean
Tasty breakfast cooked to order
Good wifi

Cons
Old building so feels worn
Basic

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoG33ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, have been here before so knew kind of what to expect. Check in was okay, but room i bit tatty (but again i knew that), it was clean, the tv was old and the freeview box was attached via a scart lead, it took a lot of fiddling around to get it to work (could do with tv being replaced). The room was also clean and tidy.

Very limited time with the breakfast, only between 8am - 9am (even on a Sunday), would of liked a bit more breakfast flexibility.

Check out was a bit of an issue, the lady did not know who i was, how long i stayed and how much i needed to pay, she went from trying to charge me £30 for 1 night up to £120 for 3 night, she was in a right old faff looking at the paper book. As im an honest person i paid the lady for what i used which was 3 nights at £30, £90 total and asked them to call me if there was a problem. (They could really do with a computer).

As i said, all very average for the price, not post card material but if im passing by i might stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank club958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stopped here over bank holiday, the place is lovely the staff are all very friendly. The food is superb!! It's is an excellent location to longleat literally 5 mins up the road.
Would definitely stop again and would recommend it to anyone that wants value for money and a friendly place to stop.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi_stanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had no idea when we booked in for an evening meal that we were going to have such an enjoyable experience. Every platter was imaginatively created and prepared and yes, the chef is Italian. The tagliatelle was just glorious and my sea bass was stunning. To top it all there was such great generosity with the vegetables - they just kept coming, all piping hot and just nicely cooked. And the puddings ......
All this was such great value so, for anyone not sure where to eat in Warminster, just visit this fabulous, unassuming hotel and enjoy a truly wonderful meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stumbled upon this gem by chance. Had a great welcome into a very warm and friendly place. The meal we had was superb. The service was first class. The price was very reasonable. The chef is Italian and the pasta dish I had was brilliant. Thank you for a great night. The Farmers knocks spots off the posh hotel up the road where we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willhiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I recently had a business trip to Wiltshire and stayed in a few different B&Bs most of which were over priced, had little or no heating, a bad smell or a bed that takes hours to sleep in etc.
Farmers Hotel beats all, Its nice to come back to a warm clean room with a comfortable bed.
Breakfast was huge, the staff very friendly and considerate and all at a reasonable price.
Yes I will stay there again on my next visit.

Room Tip: bedrooms in block across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID13577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
1.7 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 26 in Warminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#10 of 26 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Hotel

Property: The Farmers Hotel
Address: 1 Silver Street, Warminster BA12 8PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel with a variety of accommodation spread over the main Grade II Listed building and 2 annexes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Farmers Hotel Warminster, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing