We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wished we could have stayed longer!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Ranked #1 of 15 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wished we could have stayed longer!!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely room, very comfy bed. A welcome tray of tea & biscuits was brought to our room when we arrived. Fabulous breakfast, excellent hosts. We have already recommended to friends & will be back to explore more of the wonderful coastline.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank-you Clare. That is what we love to hear, guests who are happy to recommend us. We look forward to hopefully having them stay with us in the future. JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    37
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
199
397
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

All of the previous comments re how good this place is are true!
Just spent 4 nights B&B. JJ and Marie were truly lovely hosts. Tea, scones and biscuits when we arrived were unexpected and very welcome.
The double room we had at the front of the house was excellent. Quality furnishings. Very comfortable bed. Great shower. Clean towels, etc every day.
Absolutely cracking breakfast!
Would love to visit again next year!
Can't recommend highly enough!!
Thanks JJ and Marie

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exdevonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank-you for your kind words. We try very hard to maintain a high standard in our customer service. It is very gratifying when it is appreciated.
Thank-you JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We all had a most enjoyable stay at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast. JJ and Marie were very helpful and friendly and did their utmost to make our stay enjoyable. Everywhere was spotless, the rooms were spacious and maintained to a very high standard and the beds were so comfortable. The guests' lounge was very cosy with a lovely roaring open fire to welcome you in on a cold evening. In addition to the tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms a guest kitchen was at our disposal, equipped with further complimentary supplies. Breakfasts were exceptional with a wide and varied menu and every need was catered for. Excellent location for amenities with the promenade, shops and golf course a few minutes walk away and the renowned Strand nearby. Ideally situated for exploring the beautiful Causeway Coast. We would definitely recommend Cul Erg to anyone seeking accommodation in Portstewart.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank-you for your lovely review. I am delighted that everything met with your expectations and do hope you get the chance to stay with us again.
JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I will return to Cul Erg B and B again. The breakfasts were exceptional and I particularly enjoyed the real fire in the living room. This is a friendly comfortable B and B with a variety of rooms available to accommodate different levels of ability. Parking is easy and it is 30 seconds from the sea!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank-you Laura for your lovely review. When we know that guests are happy to plan another visit or recommend us to their family and friends then we are delighted. Thank-you JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynn, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

What a wonderful pair of innkeepers! JJ and Marie offered incredible service and the accommodations were fantastic. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, and offered everything the traveler could possibly want or need, and then some. JJ's recommendations were spot on: he suggested the guys play golf the day we arrived, as opposed to the next day, as they wouldn't be so rushed. He said touring the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge early was preferable, as crowds tended to build later in the day. His recommendation of the York for dinner was also very appreciated. Finally, the breakfasts (salmon with eggs - yum) were among our best in Ireland. What a wonderful, friendly place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in this wonderful place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynispm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Coming to the end of a very busy year it is very rewarding when you read a review like this. Thank-you for your kind words. JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I had not stayed at a B&B for several years as a result of some less than enjoyable experiences. However our 7 day stay with JJ and Marie could not have been better. Not only was our room extremely comfortable with little extras, such as cookies and hot chocolate which were much appreciated after a windy day on the golf course or a walk along the promenade, the breakfasts were great and the breakfast room very pleasant. JJ and Marie could not have been more accomodating if they were family,.They, provided terrific advise about things to do, golf courses to play and places to dine, including a chance to hear a friend of their's sing JJ even helped us get his CD. Our 7 day stay went by far too quickly and if ever we have the opportunity to return to Portstewart we will certainly stay with them again and look forward to it.
Patti L.

Room Tip: If available ask for room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patricia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank-you Patricia not only for taking the time to write a review but for the kind and meaningful words. I guess this is what we want our guests to experience when they stay with us and then we know we are doing something right!! JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lovely feel to the place. Open fire in the sitting room to home to. Guest kitchen available. Plenty of advice from JJ and Marie. Easy walk to the esplanade and eateries. Our bedroom had view to the sea. Extra goodies in the bathroom. Good value.

Room Tip: Book early as many locals return year after year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank-you Claire. Yes, we are very lucky to be positioned only a short distance from the sea and within easy access of the beautiful village of Portstewart. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
7.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.9 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart

Property: Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Address: Atlantic Circle 9 Hillside, Portstewart BT55 7AZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cul-Erg House is a modern 4Star B&B situated only a 2 min walk to Portstewart promenade where a range of restaurants, bars and coffee shops can be found. All rooms are en-suite with flat screen TVs, toiletries and fluffy towels. We are close to all local Golf Clubs and only a short drive to the main Tourist attractions, the Giant Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. Belfast is only 1 hr drive and 50 mins to Derry. Breakfast can be enjoyed in a spacious dining room. Guests can select from a range of local produce from the breakfast bar and order a hot dish from the breakfast menu provided. Hi speed wireless internet is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cul Erg b&b Portstewart
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Hotel Portstewart
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing