We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Ranked #2 of 16 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

What a wonderful pair of innkeepers! JJ and Marie offered incredible service and the accommodations were fantastic. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, and offered everything the traveler could possibly want or need, and then some. JJ's recommendations were spot on: he suggested the guys play golf the day we arrived, as opposed to the next day, as they wouldn't be so rushed. He said touring the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge early was preferable, as crowds tended to build later in the day. His recommendation of the York for dinner was also very appreciated. Finally, the breakfasts (salmon with eggs - yum) were among our best in Ireland. What a wonderful, friendly place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in this wonderful place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glynispm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Coming to the end of a very busy year it is very rewarding when you read a review like this. Thank-you for your kind words. JJ & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 892 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I had not stayed at a B&B for several years as a result of some less than enjoyable experiences. However our 7 day stay with JJ and Marie could not have been better. Not only was our room extremely comfortable with little extras, such as cookies and hot chocolate which were much appreciated after a windy day on the golf course or a walk along the promenade, the breakfasts were great and the breakfast room very pleasant. JJ and Marie could not have been more accomodating if they were family,.They, provided terrific advise about things to do, golf courses to play and places to dine, including a chance to hear a friend of their's sing JJ even helped us get his CD. Our 7 day stay went by far too quickly and if ever we have the opportunity to return to Portstewart we will certainly stay with them again and look forward to it.
Patti L.

Room Tip: If available ask for room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patricia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank-you Patricia not only for taking the time to write a review but for the kind and meaningful words. I guess this is what we want our guests to experience when they stay with us and then we know we are doing something right!! JJ & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lovely feel to the place. Open fire in the sitting room to home to. Guest kitchen available. Plenty of advice from JJ and Marie. Easy walk to the esplanade and eateries. Our bedroom had view to the sea. Extra goodies in the bathroom. Good value.

Room Tip: Book early as many locals return year after year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank-you Claire. Yes, we are very lucky to be positioned only a short distance from the sea and within easy access of the beautiful village of Portstewart. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. JJ & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Cul-Erg with our 4 year old daughter. We don't usually choose to stay at B&Bs, but we heard of Cul-Erg from friends who enjoyed a stay there last year. It was every bit as lovely as they described -- friendly and welcoming hosts (who managed to respect our privacy while still being very attentive), super comfy beds, and an ultra clean and spacious room. The location proved to be ideal -- just a few steps to the ocean, a few more steps to plenty of lively eateries and shops, and an easy drive to all of the sights we wanted to visit in Northern Ireland. Breakfast was a delight every day -- as much for the feeling of being welcomed by JJ and Marie as for the delicious foods (including a surprisingly tasty fresh fruit salad). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cul-Erg to anyone looking to stay in Northern Ireland, and I truly hope we get to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank-you Julie If my memory serves me right you had a delightful little girl who we were delighted to have stay with us. We would love it, if you got the opportunity to return and Thank-you for recommending us to your family and friends. JJ & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

What a warm and heart felt welcome from JJ and Marie, an absolute pleasure to meet. The rooms are beautifully and well presented. Most comfortable bed I've slept on. Excellent shower/toilet facilities. For breakfast there's a great menu with varied choice and food is delicious. Added extra is the kitchen for guests with tea, coffee and biscuits. There's also a fridge provided for use. Guest lounge warm and beautifully furnished. Quiet location yet only minutes walk to centre of town. Planning to return and recommend Cul-Erg for your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Ian we would be delighted to have you stay with us again and Thank-you for recommending us to others. We are happy that you enjoyed all that we have to offer here at Cul-Erg. JJ & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed one night here on our travels around UK and Ireland and loved the quality and attentiveness to detail. JJ was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction for our travels, with lots of advice, maps, hints and great sense of humour. Very comfortable room, quiet, great night's sleep, lovely shower. Would come back if we could. Thanks JJ, Marian and Clifford

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank-you Marian and Clifford. You only had the one night but thank-fully you have left with lovely memories of your stay with us. JJ only delighted to help out with travel plans! JJ and Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Cul Erg is a gorgeous B & B in Port Stewart, the host was delightful and helpful regarding dinner options in town. The room was lovely with good facilities and supplies. We could see the ocean from our window. A thoroughly beautiful property and breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank-you Andrea. We are very grateful that you took the time to write such a wonderful review of your experience at Cul-Erg House. JJ and Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
0.9 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
226 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
2,023 reviews
2.9 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
729 reviews
1 mi away
Strand House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Saltwater Bed and Breakfast
Saltwater Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 16 in Portstewart
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart

Address: Atlantic Circle 9 Hillside, Portstewart BT55 7AZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range: $130 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cul-Erg House is a modern 4Star B&B situated only a 2 min walk to Portstewart promenade where a range of restaurants, bars and coffee shops can be found. All rooms are en-suite with flat screen TVs, toiletries and fluffy towels. We are close to all local Golf Clubs and only a short drive to the main Tourist attractions, the Giant Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. Belfast is only 1 hr drive and 50 mins to Derry. Breakfast can be enjoyed in a spacious dining room. Guests can select from a range of local produce from the breakfast bar and order a hot dish from the breakfast menu provided. Hi speed wireless internet is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cul Erg b&b Portstewart
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Hotel Portstewart
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing