We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Ranked #2 of 16 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was my first trip across the Atlantic (I live in Whistler, BC, Canada) and I was so fortunate to stay with this family in their amazing B & B. Irish hospitality abounds in Pt. Stewart and with JJ, Marie, James (son) & Kathrine's (daughter) open help and kindness, myself and 3 other golfing buddies were treated like family. Their wonderful full breakfasts were a highlite and kept us going most of the day, JJ's humour kept us smiling, Marie's charm and cooking kept us happy, James and Katherine's wonderful manners and sharing time with us helped not miss our families so much!

They are just steps from the Promenade, a wonderful walk through Pt. Stewart (a charming seaside resort), they helped us find restaurants and pubs (a favourite past time with my group) and recommended some great sight seeing as well.

Do yourself a favour, if you go to Northern Ireland, the Cul-Erg is a must, cheers to JJ, Marie and family!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the park and Ocean beyond is a nice choice but they are cozy and well appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank-you John for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you and your golfing colleagues stay with us. We also enjoyed your company. Hopefully you will get the chance to stay with us again. JJ and Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 878 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

There's not enough I can say about Cul Erg B&B. Location was fantastic, beautiful landscaping. JJ my host meet me at the door with a smile and handshake. Rooms were very clean and a nice size. JJ helped me with arrangements for a taxi to the train station and info on which train to take to get me back to Dublin. Over and beyond how I'm treated elsewhere. Thanks again for the Northern Ireland hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank-you Virginia JJ is delighted with this review! I am delighted that he was able to meet all your requirements. We do try to assist with any requests our guests have so as to ensure their stay is as enjoyable as possible.
JJ and Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent a very comfortable 2 day break at Cul Erg. The B&B was well appointed, very clean and comfortable. Guests are catered for very thoughtfully - there is a separate kitchen for guests with a fridge and microwave and a comfortable lounge area. The room was spotless and breakfasts excellent. JJ and Marie were friendly and welcoming. We would recommend this B&B.

Ken & Phillipa Jones

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank-you Ken and Phillipa for your kind comments, we delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us. Marie & JJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at Cul Erg from May 28-June 8. Terrific experience for me and my 3 golf buddies. My wife and I stayed at this B&B in 2011 and it was every bit as excellent this time. Spotless and comfortable rooms, great location - just off the strand, incredible breakfasts, lovely common areas and the best hosts I have ever experienced. JJ and Marie have created and continue to maintain a facility and experience that any guest will appreciate. Portstewart is a special place and our stay at the Cul Erg greatly enhanced our golf trip in Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Rick Thank-you not only for taking the time to write a review but for the honest and meaningful words. We are 19yrs in the business but still love to know that our guests leave happy and satisfied with what we do. JJ & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Excellent B&B. Have stayed in many B&Bs and highly rated hotels but this B&B is in a class of its own. Very clean, beautiful bedrooms, comfy beds, great breakfast, amiable host and hostess and facilities second to none. Will be back. J,H,B&G

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Barbara Thank-you for taking the time to write a review and for the very positive comments. We do try very hard to meet the requirements of our guests. Thank-you again.
JJ and Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked this B&B before we traveled, WOW what a find. We only stayed one night, but if we had known the quality of the Cul Erg beforehand we would have spent the week here and day tripped out. The hosts JJ and Marie were most welcoming and the room was faultless (roomy and spotlessly clean). Marie's breakfasts are delicious and set you up for the day (we didn't need to eat again till early evening). Now we know what it is like we will definitely make a bee line for this B&B on our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATraveller051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank-you. It really does make our job so worthwhile when we read reviews like this. Delighted that you have such lovely memories of your stay at Cul-Erg. Marie & JJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

First trip to N Ireland. Port Stewart and Cul-Erg BnB were warm and friendly. We had 10 days at Cul-Erg and how fortunate we were. We will not stay anywhere where else and would make it a destination just to relax and enjoy it again. Conveniently situated within walking distance to all services as well as the ocean we never needed to drive for an evening out.
Our only caution: if humour is not your cup of tea take a pass. We write this reluctantly for fear we may not get in again. One night is not enough. Enjoy.
Michael d'Artois, Whistler.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank-you Michael for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us. The humour side I leave to JJ although I do think he met his match! Look forward to seeing you all again. JJ and Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
2.9 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
716 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
252 reviews
2.5 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
396 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart

Address: Atlantic Circle 9 Hillside, Portstewart BT55 7AZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range: $116 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cul-Erg House is a modern 4Star B&B situated only a 2 min walk to Portstewart promenade where a range of restaurants, bars and coffee shops can be found. All rooms are en-suite with flat screen TVs, toiletries and fluffy towels. We are close to all local Golf Clubs and only a short drive to the main Tourist attractions, the Giant Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. Belfast is only 1 hr drive and 50 mins to Derry. Breakfast can be enjoyed in a spacious dining room. Guests can select from a range of local produce from the breakfast bar and order a hot dish from the breakfast menu provided. Hi speed wireless internet is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Hotel Portstewart
Cul Erg b&b Portstewart
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing