We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Ranked #2 of 15 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our one night stay at this excellent B&B made it a perfect start into the holidays. Quiet and beautiful bedrooms and modern as well as spotless bathrooms made the stay very comfortable. The breakfast was just delicious. Thank you for this lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank-you Muriel for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review for us. I am delighted that you have lovely memories of your stay with us.
JJ and Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    37
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
202
402
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay this spring. The rooms were clean and comfortable.Nice cosy fire in the siting room. Very nice as the weather was cold.oThe location is good. We especially enjoyed the helpful hosts JJ and Marie.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank-you Shelia for taking the time to write a review. We do try to our best to be of assistance to all our guests. JJ and Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We are ending our seventh day of our nine day trip in Ireland. Cul Erg B&B, with Marie and JJ as hosts, was the best of all! We were greeted by Marie, and welcomed with hot tea and scones, which was wonderful because the weather was absolutely freezing - in May! Additionally, I had a bit of 'traveler's tummy' and Marie so graciously helped me out. We loved the elegant warm decorations of the house and our room, which was bright and cheery, even with the rain outside. The breakfast was all you could ask for, and more than you need! Very good, indeed! The location is just right - around the corner from the local restaurants, pharmacy, shops, and the Cliff Walk. Even in the lousy weather, we enjoyed spells of dry, if not warm, weather, and took advantage of being close the the center of town, but off the beaten path. Overall, we could not have chosen a better place to stay. Thanks, Marie and JJ, for such a lovely and memorable stay. We'd recommend you and Cul Erg to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front, with a lovely bay window overlooking the street. Because it's locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReenieFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank-you Rennie for your very kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay not only at Cul-Erg but in Portstewart as well. We are very grateful that you would recommend us to your friends and family. Thank-you again JJ and Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Comfortable, well appointed bedroom and bathroom, had a great night's sleep, JJ was a very welcoming and helpful host. Spotless throughout, great breakfast, central location yet quiet. Highly recommend Cul Erg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Causewayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your review and share your thoughts about your stay.We are delighted that you would recommend us to others.
JJ and Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Good location, only a few minutes away from the promenade. The breakfast has a good selection and deliciously made. The house is nice and cozy and especially the friendly host Marie and JJ.

The weather was a bit cold for me so I didn't sleep to well, but it is quiet enough even though so close to the main road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NA-EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you were somewhat dissatisfied with your stay. Unfortunately I have no control over the weather if only I had! JJ and Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

What a place to stop over and relax - the rooms are very comfortable, light streams in from the big windows. Everything is just perfect in the room. No faults at all - the breakfast was amazing with so much to choose from, and our hosts are the cherry on the top - so welcoming and very friendly and helpful - why you still reading this ?? Book it already !!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank-you Marcello for your very kind comments. As I have said before this is what makes our job so worthwhile and rewarding. It was lovely to meet you both and we do hope that you get the opportunity to stay at Cul-Erg again. JJ and Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

After traipsing through cold Northern Ireland and in desperate need of warm hospitality and lodging, relief was found at this clean and cozy B&B in Portstewart.

JJ, the proprietor and his wife, greeted us warmly upon our arrival. Though we arrived earlier than expected, they made sure that we were comfortable before escorting us to our lovely, large, and clean room. Since we were there early in the trekking season, we had much of the place to ourselves which afforded us a bit more attention from the innkeepers.

Admittedly, I am not a fan of Irish breakfast, with the cold toast, overcooked eggs, and beans. Even though that was an option, JJ offered an extensive breakfast menu and made fare that was both delicious and filling. Certainly a commitment to the chef.

The only ding would be the wi-fi which though spotty (a common trait in Ireland apparently) in our room was fairly consistent and much stronger in the hallways and sitting areas.

As the last stop in a near week-long walkabout and staying in average lodgings, we hoped for a bit of quiet and luxury. Thankfully our wishes were granted.

Room Tip: Hikers tend to receive smaller rooms. If they are not busy, request a larger room. Also, if Intern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_dimaggio25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank-you Michael for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the Wi-Fi. We do provide Free Wi-Fi throughout the house and Yes areas of the house have a stronger connection. This we do try to explain to our guests on arrival. One of the disadvantages of living in an older style house! Rooms if not booked through our web site, we allocate on what is available at time of booking. I am glad that you found everything else satisfactory. Thank-you JJ and Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
0.9 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
208 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
246 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart

Property: Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Address: Atlantic Circle 9 Hillside, Portstewart BT55 7AZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cul-Erg House is a modern 4Star B&B situated only a 2 min walk to Portstewart promenade where a range of restaurants, bars and coffee shops can be found. All rooms are en-suite with flat screen TVs, toiletries and fluffy towels. We are close to all local Golf Clubs and only a short drive to the main Tourist attractions, the Giant Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. Belfast is only 1 hr drive and 50 mins to Derry. Breakfast can be enjoyed in a spacious dining room. Guests can select from a range of local produce from the breakfast bar and order a hot dish from the breakfast menu provided. Hi speed wireless internet is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cul Erg b&b Portstewart
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Hotel Portstewart
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing