We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”
Review of Wanderin' Heights

Wanderin' Heights
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wanderin' Heights
Ranked #7 of 16 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2009

There are steps leading up to this B&B but the climb is most definately worth it!! Lovely clean room - we had one at the front with an amazing view and one at the back which was just as nice but lacking the view. Both rooms had great power showers, tvs and tea and coffee facilites. The landlady was so warm, welcoming and helpful. Will definately be staying here again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_luv_icecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Wanderin' Heights
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 84 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

Stayed here first in May 2008 and enjoyed it that much came back for 10 nights in May 2009. Brilliant location, convenient for Portstewart promenade and bus services to Coleraine/Portrush. Eileen and Michael were fantastic hosts once again, allowing us to park our bikes safe and sound in the garage and generally doing all they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfasts are great and home-made wheaten bread amazing. We're hoping to return for another visit before next year.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
Thank sheenaw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We were lucky enough to get the room with a view for our 4 night stay which made a difference. Portstewart is a lively and attractive sea side town and Wanderin' Heights was just off the Promenade.

There are lots of things to do locally and nice restaurants and bars. The breakfast was very good and the host very accommodating. The price was great for what you got.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bohemian_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

This is a nice B&B in portstewart. Home made weaten bread at breakfast was a lovely bonus, and the rooms were spacious. Some rooms have a fantastic view of the sea, and as a single traveller you still get a lovely room with an ensuite for the price you pay. There are very steep steps to manage to get to the hotel so if you have a lot of luggage or have difficulty with stairs I would avoid this place. But the added hight allows for a lovely view of the sea.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank hhvvgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Me and my girlfriend just turned up looking for somewhere to stay and asked to see a room. We took it the moment we saw it. What a view!

The room itself was small but clean. It's true that it was carpeted around the tiolet but there wasn't a smell as one of the other reviews mentioned. No big deal i thought.

Eileen, the landlady, was incredibly friendly. Breakfast was also very good. The Ulster fry is addictive.

We left the curtains open that night so we could see out to sea from our bed when we woke up in the morning.

Lovely place

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

The bed and breakfast is in a good location, only a 5 minute walk from the town centre / promenade etc.

I'm not sure what the other bedrooms in the b and b are like, but our downstairs bedroom wasn't the greatest. The bonus is that we booked a double room and had a double and a singe bed both. However, the window looked directly at a wall leaving the room quite dark and "dungeon" feeling. The bathroom was very small, but this didn't bother us, there was a great power shower which i loved. Tea and coffee was provided in the room, but i wouldn't use the mugs provided so couldn't drink anything.

There was a tv available, but the reception was very bad. You could just about watch it though if you wanted too.

There were two chairs in the room, but they were like school chairs, and hard as bricks, we used them to store our bags. The rest of the furniture wasn't great.

The breakfast the next day was our highlight! It was lovely and the hostess was very friendly and chatty with us the next day, she really made an effort to make us feel at home (she didn't the night before when we arrived, we felt like we were in her way).

Portstewart is a lovely place to visit especially in the summer, as it has the promenade, a few pubs and restaurants, ice cream parlours etc, and lovely views of the sea.

The surrounding area is gorgeous also. There is good shopping in Coleraine, and the main tourist spots are the Giants Causeway, Carrick a rede Rope bridge, Dunluce castle amongst others.

I would not rule out staying in this b and b again as it was decent value at £50 for a double room with breakfast included and was in a good location. I would perhaps request an upstairs room on booking though. Apparently some rooms have a sea view.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VioletBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

When visiting the north coast of Northern Ireland - this is a nice place to stay!

The bedrooms are quite small, and the bathrooms too, buth the standard is good. There was a rather smelly carpet in the bathroom (it isn't very hygienical to put carpets around the toilet) but that was our only complaint to the room.

The breakfast room was clean and nice, with a toaster so you could make your own white or brown toast. The hot breakfast was more British style than expected, but we did not miss the black and white pudding!

The owner was very friendly and helpful, and gave us ideas of places to see in the area. The narrow coast road and Giants Causeway is spectacular, and well worth a day out!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
1  Thank BravoNovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
0.9 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Game of Thrones B&B
Game of Thrones B&B
#13 of 16 in Portstewart
15 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carnalbanagh House
Carnalbanagh House
#8 of 16 in Portstewart
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderin' Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderin' Heights

Address: 12 High Road, Portstewart BT55 7BG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range: $69 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wanderin' Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wanderin' Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderin' Heights Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing