We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but very loud music”
Review of The Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anchorage Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place but very loud music”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Just got back from here today. Food lovely, rooms comfortable, staff very friendly and a good craic. However, even though it said on the website that some noise may be heard in the bedrooms from the live music, it wasn't some noise if was VERY loud noise that made the whole bedroom vibrate and the fixtures rattle until 1:30 in the morning. So not much sleep was had and we missed our breakfast this morning as we slept in. They may want to consider giving customers some ear muffs to keep out the noise. Unfortunately this will probably stop us from visiting here again.... :(

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    76
    18
    12
    16
See reviews for
40
95
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014

An excellent complex, recently renovated bedrooms and restaurant. The rooms are first class although small, but it is a relatively small complex with only 20 rooms, so very homely. Friendly capable staff serve wonderful food for dinner and breakfast at very reasonable prices.The food won best pub grub in N.I. and rightly so. The bar is excellent too.We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were travelling with our two young adult daughers and were looking for a place with some fun and atmosphere at the end of long days of hiking and outdoors. The Anchorage fit the bill for us. The location is perfect in that it is located at the end of the very busy shore road that runs through Portstewart so everything is easily walkable but you aren't right in the mix of the main tourist strip. As with everywhere we went in NI, the staff were excellent. The rooms are a nice size and clean. No elevator so be prepared to hump your suitcases up two sets of stairs.
The pub is great. It seems to be the local for many of the residents so if you're grabbing a pint in the afternoon you'll not feel like you're sitting in a tourist pub. Food was very good.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the ocean or town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Highly recommend this place - vibrant, happy staff, quality meals presented and served with friendly service team made our stay most enjoyable. Friendly team trip around the area even more memorable.
Such a nice place to enjoy and rest after great sightseeing in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Meet a friend for a catch up while in the area. Was busy but found a quiet corner to chat. Drinks reasonably priced and nice atmosphere, can image it gets very busy at weekends. Best pub in portstewart.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank weenoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location and excellent value for money. Bar food was really good and reasonable. Will definitely stay again. From the moment we checked in until we left the staff were friendly and helpful. I will be recommending this hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We went to The Anchor to get a bite to eat. We hadn't booked but they were very accommodating and got us a table. It was 6:00ish and they needed the table by 7:30 so that was perfect. The first thing I noticed was the friendly , hard working staff. They really add to the atmosphere. The restaurant is also very clean and nicely furnished. Very good first impression which carried on through. We had the shared platter to start which arrived promptly and was very tasty indeed. I then had lasagne and hubby had the steak and chicken ciabatta. We didn't have dessert there(we had a sundae at Morelli's later) It was all really lovely at the Anchor and will definitely return when we are up at the coast again. Thank you to all the staff at The Anchor.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MajRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
0.8 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
2.5 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
3.0 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Inn

Property: The Anchorage Inn
Address: 87-89 The Promenade, Portstewart BT55 7AG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchorage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Inn boasts 20 cosmopolitan style en suite bedrooms, all of which are finished to the highest standards. The multi Award winning Anchor Bar was established in 1898 and has won many accolades in recent years including Best Visitor/Tourism Pub and Northern Irelands Pub Food of the year 2014. Residents have complimentary access to all areas of our entertainment during their stay with us... The perfect way to use up that extra energy before bedtime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
The Anchorage Inn Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing