We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and friendly place to stay”
Review of The Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anchorage Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Highly recommend this place - vibrant, happy staff, quality meals presented and served with friendly service team made our stay most enjoyable. Friendly team trip around the area even more memorable.
Such a nice place to enjoy and rest after great sightseeing in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 254 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

Meet a friend for a catch up while in the area. Was busy but found a quiet corner to chat. Drinks reasonably priced and nice atmosphere, can image it gets very busy at weekends. Best pub in portstewart.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank weenoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location and excellent value for money. Bar food was really good and reasonable. Will definitely stay again. From the moment we checked in until we left the staff were friendly and helpful. I will be recommending this hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We went to The Anchor to get a bite to eat. We hadn't booked but they were very accommodating and got us a table. It was 6:00ish and they needed the table by 7:30 so that was perfect. The first thing I noticed was the friendly , hard working staff. They really add to the atmosphere. The restaurant is also very clean and nicely furnished. Very good first impression which carried on through. We had the shared platter to start which arrived promptly and was very tasty indeed. I then had lasagne and hubby had the steak and chicken ciabatta. We didn't have dessert there(we had a sundae at Morelli's later) It was all really lovely at the Anchor and will definitely return when we are up at the coast again. Thank you to all the staff at The Anchor.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank MajRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a fabulous 2 night stay. The rooms were more luxurious than expected for the price we paid, very clean and a good size. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and it was delicious. The staff were very pleasant and we enjoyed the added bonus of Wednesday night's pub quiz in the bar. Our only disappointment was no car park facility and we got booked for parking on the promenade so would advise others not to do the same. We will definitely be back again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PearlJem87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel was good, but we arrived at 2.00 am, and opposite the hotel was a landrover of Police. This does not give a good impression. The bouncer was pushing someone out of the hotel which nearly collided with me. Overall for the time there it was very good and the room was very comfortable with a fan and the staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was good

Room Tip: We were in Room 105 which was very nice. Obviously arriving at 2.00 am we missed all the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We spent one night here with our grandchildren on July 28th 2014, had lunch in the bar where Christopher proved very friendly and helpful as were all the staff. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable with fantastic beds, the bathrooms are well equipped with all you need and the hotel is well situated for the beach and travelling around. There is no car park but we had no trouble parking nearby. Wi-Fi was a bit weak in certain areas according to my grandson! However, we all enjoyed it immensely and would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
0.8 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
225 reviews
3 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
1.8 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,961 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
721 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Inn

Address: 87-89 The Promenade, Portstewart BT55 7AG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Price Range: $64 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchorage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Inn boasts 20 cosmopolitan style en suite bedrooms, all of which are finished to the highest standards. The multi Award winning Anchor Bar was established in 1898 and has won many accolades in recent years including Best Visitor/Tourism Pub and Northern Irelands Pub Food of the year 2014. Residents have complimentary access to all areas of our entertainment during their stay with us... The perfect way to use up that extra energy before bedtime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
The Anchorage Inn Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing