We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Sleepover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anchorage Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Sleepover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel was good, but we arrived at 2.00 am, and opposite the hotel was a landrover of Police. This does not give a good impression. The bouncer was pushing someone out of the hotel which nearly collided with me. Overall for the time there it was very good and the room was very comfortable with a fan and the staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was good

Room Tip: We were in Room 105 which was very nice. Obviously arriving at 2.00 am we missed all the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    75
    18
    11
    14
See reviews for
40
93
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We spent one night here with our grandchildren on July 28th 2014, had lunch in the bar where Christopher proved very friendly and helpful as were all the staff. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable with fantastic beds, the bathrooms are well equipped with all you need and the hotel is well situated for the beach and travelling around. There is no car park but we had no trouble parking nearby. Wi-Fi was a bit weak in certain areas according to my grandson! However, we all enjoyed it immensely and would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked this hotel for one night to break up our journey and to be honest we didn't expect much as it was just a bed for the night. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spotless with nice touches like bottled water, biscuits and robes, and the bathroom had nice toiletries. Bed was big and comfy. Having stayed at the Hilton in Belfast which claims to be 5 star, I would rate the Anchorage far above it, considering we paid the same for both and had a brilliant breakfast included!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This place sits in my top 10 of places to eat i have traveled the world and it sits up there with the best . food AMAZING ,staff WONDERFUL we has a good chat with the resturant manager who was very nice man and very helpfull told all the local tourist spots to go ,his name was Alan
i will be telling everyone about this place thank you so much for making us feel welcome
from down under

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Level Contributor
222 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Called in for drinkies only on a fri evening , music wasn't great but

Anchor
A good pint fun crowd but ####### music
Mixed crowd from those in lil cocktail
dresses to locals on a dress down Friday. Have heard good reports on this spot
so I will be back

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bigmacAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have just spent a great Friday night in the Anchorage Inn. Large ,comfortable room, enormous bed, great linens on the bed, fluffy towels, slippers, bathrobes, super toiletries, adequate hanging space and coffee and biscuits woohoo. Welcoming staff,nothing too much bother. Live band on the Friday night that we were there and met some lovely people from Northern Ireland and wider who were all there to have a good time. Breakfast served up until 10.30 really tasty and check out not until 12.00. "Whats not to like"

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddsmc12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Where do I start 11 woman aged between 30-70 stayed in the anchor between 27-29th June. We all had rooms on first floor and we did not have any complaints at all. Rooms all lovely decor & beds are amazing!
We ate in the anchor both nights & could not fault the food either so much choice on the menu!
All staff during the weekend have been amazing the receptionist on Saturday day even went out of her way to get us booked in for dinner on sat night as restaurant was full..sorry did not get her name.

Overall an amazing weekend had by all entertainment for everyone & we did not have to leave the complex at night...will deffo be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jjb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
0.8 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.5 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Inn

Property: The Anchorage Inn
Address: 87-89 The Promenade, Portstewart BT55 7AG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchorage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Inn boasts 20 cosmopolitan style en suite bedrooms, all of which are finished to the highest standards. The multi Award winning Anchor Bar was established in 1898 and has won many accolades in recent years including Best Visitor/Tourism Pub and Northern Irelands Pub Food of the year 2014. Residents have complimentary access to all areas of our entertainment during their stay with us... The perfect way to use up that extra energy before bedtime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
The Anchorage Inn Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing