We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great addition to the Prom at Portstewart!”
Review of Bob and Berts

Bob and Berts
Ranked #22 of 40 Restaurants in Portstewart
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great addition to the Prom at Portstewart!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Called in here last night for coffee & cake and were so impressed that we went back today to try out the food menu! This new place is styled as an 'artisan coffee shop' but also provides a selection of burgers, jacket potatoes, paninis, salads and daily 'specials'.
Today we sampled a chicken burger with sweet potato fries, pulled pork sandwich with regular fries and chipotle chicken open panini with side salads. All were very enjoyable, as was the dessert that my wife & I shared the previous evening. The menu is just a little different to standard offerings in coffee shops, which makes it a welcome addition to the Pprtstewart Promenade.
One request to the management after visiting on a blustery day - get a self-closer fitted to the front door, too many of your customers seem unable to close it behind them!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geordie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    68
    31
    32
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but service a bit slow.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The cofee was good and free top up's available.
We had the spud stack which was good apart from the bacon which was quite fatty. Also good is the french toast with crispy bacon and maple syrup, the bacon on this is ok though.

The staff seem to do a lot without achieving anything and don't seem to know what to do. However it is only recently opened so they are still finding their feet.

Some of the scones and other items are sitting exposed and could easily be touched by customers and insects.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robbarnsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We visited Bob and Berts for a quick lunchtime snack yesterday and were not disappointed. A lovely new coffee shop, with a modern interior and friendly staff. They was a large selection to chose from in a reasonably priced menu with everything looking fresh and appetising. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kilgreel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Terrible Service!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was in Portstewart last week for a holiday and we went to this coffee shop 4 times. It has only opened recently and the first few times we were in there were small mistakes made in our orders but we decided to give it another chance as we thought they were just 'finding their feet'.

The decor is great and the food is generally good.

On the last visit the service was very slow but it was a holiday day so we were prepared to wait. After 20-30minutes, our party of 6 eventually received our food (at staggered times). One of my friends received the wrong salad but explained she would take it (to the young, very apologetic waiter) as she had been waiting for so long. Several members of our party ordered salads and we realised that we hadn't been given the accompanying breads. I approached the owner/manager and explained this to him and his response was 'OK' - that was it! There was no 'sorry', no 'I will get some for you now', no 'I will give you a traybake to make up for the mistake', just 'OK'.

I have never made a tripadvisor review before as I feel that the best way to make your thoughts known is to deal directly with the owner but in the case he didn't care at all about customer satisfaction.

Very disappointed with poor attitudes of several staff members, especially when we were trying to support a new, independent business.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MiniC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chilled, friendly and great coffee”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous new coffee shop in portstewart. Lovely coffee and great staff. They were so accommodating of my dairy free diet and remade drinks without any fuss. Will be back again and again I think!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelfastShrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob and Berts also viewed

Portstewart, County Londonderry
Coleraine, County Londonderry
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 

Been to Bob and Berts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing