We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tara cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Patio area
Kitchen area
Lounge
Single Room
Master
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Portstewart, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Extraordi...
1 review
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We basically used Tara Cottage as a base for out vacation. Amenities were excellent. Many extras we did not expect.
Sylvia was great to deal with and very helpful.
Would come back again.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
Thank you I will pass on your kind words to Sylvia and we hope to welcome you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean1962
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Relaxing sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of London.”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My family having been renting and enjoying Tara Cottage, periodically, since 2009. Every stay has had a highlight, including celebrating mum's 80th birthday in 2014 . We love it there, The beautiful, quiet location but with easy acces to the main street and of course the surrounding attractions. The property is so well maintained, warm and cosy in winter, cool and breezy in the summer - with a garden to die for: Seclusion and beautiful countryside backing right up to the garden fence. Ample space in all the living areas, but we really do love the kitchen, evey appliance to make the cottage feel like a home from home, this is very important to us as my mum grew up in Portstewart and she loves to feel that she is back home! The cottage is always spotlessly clean on arrival and the booking procees is both easy and quick, Trevor and Rosemary really couldn't be any more flexible - something you do not always find with other owners. We look forward to many more stays at Tara!

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you for your kind words Sean it's always a pleasure to host you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you and your mum again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragcoir
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Another fantastic family trip at Tara cottage. Excellent facilities, great location, spotless clean and homely. Everything you would want when on holiday with everything close at hand. First class. We Will be returning!!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home wanted for nothing
Liked least: No issues
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2016
Thank you Mrs Craig. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.

Regards
Trevor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossy T
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Fantastic home from home. We will definitely be back again. Ideally locally would highly recommend. It is easy to book and plenty to do and see on the north coast.

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coulters0...
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great cottage to stay to explore the area handy to portstewart and portrush also close to lots of restaurants, tides was good and distillery arms in bushmills was excellent . The cottage is very comfortable with everything you could need.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Thank you Diane we are glad you had a good stay at Tara and look forward to welcoming you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoda D
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good family spacious & well equipped accommodation in quiet but accessible location”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Appreciated the well equipped kitchen including the dishwasher, washing machine and tumbler. Clean and well presented. Spacious dining and sitting areas.
Only negative was single beds mattresses a bit thin and one was very squeaky!
Shower-heads faulty.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Hi Rhoda
Thanks for your comments and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
We have upgraded these issues and more with new beds, cooker, dishwasher, bed linen and showers

Hope to see you back again some time in the future at Tara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElsaBowen
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tara Cottage is certainly a home from home”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely, comfortable home to come back to after a day out. Comfortable beds, television in every room, plenty of crockery, cutlery & pans. Well sited base for exploring all that the North Coast has to offer. My 2 grandchildren thought it was 'cool'. The grown ups say 'comfortable & cosy'. Can definitely recommend.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing