We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor standards!”
Review of Morelli's

Morelli's
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Portstewart
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Ice- Cream parlour and Restaurant/coffee shop
Cullybackey, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“poor standards!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

can,t complain about food or ice-cream ....very good but so disappointed with service ....six staff behind counter who would much rather gossip than serve customers! 2 of the staff were actually playing with each others hair!! take it its been a while since they updated there hygiene exams!!! won't be rushing back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    78
    65
    18
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Disappointed on last visit”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Been going to Morelli's Portstewart for the past 20 years whilst visiting family on bi-annual trips to NI. I must say that the last visit over August Bank holiday wasn't the best I have seen of the place. The food was great but the cleanliness has gone down. Sticky tables with a whiff of sour-milk odour and food debris around the floor. And the toilets, I'm glad someone came in the room as I wasn't going to touch the back of the door or the handle to get out! Yes they were pretty busy but there is no excuse for not keeping the shop floor in shape.

Come on Morelli's, Historical reputation and good food is not the only thing to focus on. The customer environment is just a critical. You need the new customers to return too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigEjit001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A nice place for a spot of breakfast, lunch or an overly indulgant ice-cream any time of the day! The food is always nice and it's always busy. Don't be surprised if you have to wait 5-10 minutes for a table, always a good indicator! A great place for family's with children especially! Rather pricey but nice for a little treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank x_Zaza_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ice cream and Coeliac friendly”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Don't get the chance to go to Morelli's that often but I am always impressed by the range of ice cream on offer!! Great taste, friendly staff and a good understanding of Gluten free needs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank havekidswilltravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for over forty years but have never seen the standard so low. Fish was grey and nearly all batter and the omelette was like leather. Service was slow and our server was blunt when asked a question about it. We were sat beneath an airconditioning unit blowing a consistent stream of cold air but when we asked them to turn it down/off nothing happened. Their ice creams remain great but with such ordinary food we won't be eating here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigDaveWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morelli's also viewed

Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 

Been to Morelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing