We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was fine, but no more.”

The Ice House Bar and Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We provide Lunch, Evening, and a take-away service. Our bar and restaurant have extended opening hours in the summer season. Serving lunch from 1-4pm Monday to Thursday, and 12.30pm-4pm Friday to Sunday.Serving evening menu 5-8.45pm Monday to Thursday, 5-9.30pm Fri and Sat, and 5-9pm on a Sunday.Our takeaway service is available during restaurant hours, however, depending on how busy the restaurant is we may be unable to accommodate take-aways. (Particularly at weekends)We have a wide range of cocktails available made with only the freshest of ingredients.We are a child friendly restaurant, but please be aware that due to licencing laws children are not permitted to be on the premises after 9pm, so please consider this before booking a later table if you have children in your company.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It was fine, but no more.”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having spent a week in Portstewart and tried several places to eat I can report that we did not find any restaurant that stood out from the rest, the menus at all were very similar and there appears to be a lack of interest is serving local dishes and produce.
The ice house was fine, they fitted us in, after a short wait, despite being very busy. The food was nice, the service good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mardyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    50
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
coleraine
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service Non-Existent!! Dreadful!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Food was promising although it would appear the Chef had a slight mishap with the salt as there was quite an element of salt in one area of the dish (lets hope it was an oversight). However, would have forgiven the salt incident but cannot forgive tardy service even though the place was quiet we were totally ignored after our main meal dishes were collected...no dessert requests.....no drinks etc even after we made obvious signals for attention....had enough after thirty-five mins wait and decided to forego puddings, coffees and cocktails (and extra £20 profit or so to the owner). First time I left a restaurant without tipping in a long long time. Dramatic overhaul of waitressing staff required before I will be back :-(

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smrushe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We have a meal here on Saturday Night the food is excellent and very good service”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very good value great atmosphere. The Bang Bang chicken is super. Waitress very helful and great atmosphere

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhoda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Went here as a family a little while back and it was lovely. Great food, great portions. If you're in portstewart and looking a restaurant I would give this place a chance :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 433Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena n . ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Will be back”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Enjoyed a meal here in the evening. Staff were very pleasant and our food was served quickly. Our meals were of a high standard, and reasonably priced, and there was a god selection on the menu. Will be going back for certain .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcksj752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ice House Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing