We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for the Causeway Coast”

Causeway Coast Independent Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Causeway Coast Independent Hostel
Warnemunde, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good base for the Causeway Coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for three nights in August. After arriving by bus we were shown straight to our room which was small but comfortable. We had a twin room - one bunk bed and just about enough space for two bags and people. The shared bathroom facilities were clean and we never had to queue. The hostel is in a great place to get the bus to all the sights on the coast, and Portstewart is a really nice town with a lovely beach and promenade to sit in the sunshine.
Rick was really friendly and welcoming as were the rest of the staff. It is like staying in someone's home - the kitchen, dining room and lounge were all homely, non of the usual hostel industrial style.
The whole place could do with a lick of paint, but that is just cosmetic, for somewhere to sleep and feel at home this is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krammlbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

have stayed here alot with family, good place to stay in portstewart.rick and his wife are very nice people and can give you loads of info about area!the great thing about ricks hostel is in the 15 years that i have been going here. I still love the place,you get to meet alot of friendly people from all over the world.and it so cheap to stay compared to other places in portstu!also it fun for kids couse they have a large house to play in when it rains with toys books tv dvds etc. it is lovely to have a safe clean homely place to go when the holidays season upon us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night in April 2012, three girls one Irish, two scandanavian and all in the mid 25-30 age range.

This is good value budget accommodation with a friendly atmosphere. Our room had two sets of bunk beds, each with a double bed below and a single on top. There was a kitchen, a dinning area, a common room, and a small yard/garden. The building Is old and un-renovated but quite clean.

In rough weather I would advise to park around the corner in shelter as the sea can get quite rough and give off a lot of sea-spray when it's stormy - not good for your car! We commented among ourselves that the whole place was quite clean except the exterior of the windows but we put this down to sea-spray. Our theory was confirmed when we went out to the car the following day to find it covered in a few millimetres of sea salt as there had been a storm while we were there.

Our only complaint is that the rooms could have been warmer at night - if you like your heat ask for an extra blanket or to turn to heating up.

Rick was kind and helpful, supplying us with an Iron, ironing board and hair-dryer. We also wanted to check out late, which was no problem.

Room Tip: Some rooms are en-suite and some have communal showers in the hallway, so ask when you book if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeniba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed here in Summer 2011, found the Hostel reasonably priced and able to accommodate my large group of friends. Located only a short walk from the centre of Portstewart its in a fairly good location.

I however found it to be just OK as a hostel. First impressions inside the hostel was very outdated and old. Clearly little or no updating or renovations have been carried out in decades. Everything from the living room, kitchen to the bed-rooms and bathrooms is fairly old.

The beds themselves were comfortable but again the room was old and could have done with alot of small repairs, even painting the walls or changing the carpet would help alot. Having said all that we enjoyed our stay but if I was going back to the North Coast area I personally would try and look elsewhere for a better hostel.
If your just looking somewhere to lay your head down for a couple of nights then this place is fine you'll have no problems and in terms of security and safety you have no worries I just thought the place looked a bit dull.

One last thing to point out there is no breakfast served so buy your own stuff or head down the town for something to eat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skydivinsim0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

This place is very cheap and very basic! It's location for nightlife or even a day trip to the causeway, castle, distillery or rope bridge is perfect!! Ideal for students or travellors!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swimfan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

stayed 3 nights,this time having stayed previously and will be staying again.the hostel is dated and a bit scruffy but then again who isnt.ideal base for a break away and cheap.if you want 5 star you are in the wrong place so go elsewhere and pay 5 star prices. bed was a bit on the lumpy side but other than that this place is spot on

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46DAVIDGILLIAN46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We could not stay here. It was not clean, it smelled, the people had body odor, the place and a cat. and the room was a cramped closet. We left.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamflights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
0.9 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.5 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
0.1 mi away
Wanderin' Heights
Wanderin' Heights
#8 of 16 in Portstewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.8 mi away
Portrush Holiday Hostel
Portrush Holiday Hostel
#2 of 7 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Coast Independent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Coast Independent Hostel

Property: Causeway Coast Independent Hostel
Address: 4 Victoria Terrace | Atlantic Circle, Portstewart BT55 7BA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Causeway Coast Independent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Coast Independent Hostel Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing