We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just watch what you are charged.”
Review of Cromore Halt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cromore Halt Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Called in for a meal here on the 22/08/2011 at their Bristo and the food and service was very good. My wife paid the bill and I never checked it over until I got home. I was a little dissapointed to find out that we were over charged for the 2 main meals.
It may be only a pound or so on each meal, but it all adds up to a tidy profit to the owners if this happens to every one.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIGREDAGAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark4951, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Bistro.
It was nice to hear that the food and the service you received were good.
Reading on through your review I can see that you felt you were overcharged on two meals on this occasion.
We introduced a small price increase on four main dishes on our Bistro Menu on the 10th of August which were clearly marked on all our Menu's. I hope that this explains the reason why you may have felt you were overcharged and hope that you will come back to our Bistro in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 225 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

The restaurant is one of the best in the North West, only let down by poor service, both in the evening and at breakfast time. You ask for something and they completely forget about it (whether busy or not). Also, it would be nice to have mushrooms at breakfast, as is the norm in most Northern Ireland B&Bs/hotels. When asked about this I was told 'no can do'! Also would like tea/coffee the minute I sit down at the table and not later on when the cooked breakfast arrives.
The restaurant manageress is in a complete tizzy most of the time and very good at ignoring you, but I do recommend going here for the food, whether you eat in the Bistro or the restaurant, you will not be disappointed with the food - it really is excellent.
The rooms are fine and spotlessly clean but the bath towels are very small.
All in all a good place to stay, but could be so much better if the staff in the restaurant got their act together.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank misslyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark4951, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our Restaurant. After reading your review thoroughly, I would like to respond to the comments that you have made.
The service of our Staff is very good as can be seen in the reviews in both Tripadvisor and Booking.com. I can only apologise that your request for Mushrooms was not dealt with properly, and have taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again. Tea/Coffee is normally served with the brerakfast, its unfortunate that you did not request your tea/coffee before your breakfast as the staff would of certainly got it for you.
Thank you for your positive comments about our restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cromore Halt in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

hi we have stayed a couple of times here before and always had a great time. This time we stayed for 5 nights b&b in room 9 which was very spacious and loads of room for the 4 of us.However on this occasion we have 1 small gripe and that would be the quality of the breakfast, on the first 3 mornings it wasnt up to the normal standard we had come to expect from the cromore , either the order was wrong or not cooked enough. This hasnt put us off staying at the cromore in the future and im sure we will book again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulw1346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Have just returned from another great stay at Cromore Halt. Once again we found the Staff friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are a great size very clean and comfortable.
The breakfasts were excellent as was our meal in The Bistro.
Thanks again we will return again soon.

Room Tip: We have no complaints about any of the rooms we have stayed in. This time it was Room 20 and have p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandJune1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We were on a 4 week road trip.
We had not booked a night ahead anywhere and when we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff at the front desk. They showed us the rooms and gave is a very reasonable price that included breakfast
The rooms were spacious, bright , quiet and clean. The restaurant had good food and the service was excellent. We were planning on staying only one night but quickly decided to stay two. This is an excellent base to explore the area.
There is a laundry in Port Stewart. .There are lifts. The rooms have tubs as well as showers. There is a large parking lot.
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We were disappointed that at no point did anyone mention that there was a function with a live band right underneath our room (no. 12). They were so loud they could have been in the room with us. They started playing at 10.30pm, just as we were going to bed (after a long tiring day and an anticipated early start the next day). It was impossible to sleep until they finished and the guests had left at 2am. Although friendly, the reception staff did not/could not help even after 2 request from us, they just shrugged their shoulders and said sorry. They seemed to forget we were paying guests. Apart from that, the breakfast food and waiting staff were very good and the room was clean. However, we probably wouldn't stay here again given our experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scully1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I flew into Belfast arriving at Cromore Halt after 21.30 in the evening. The room was spacious and welcoming as well as being peaceful and quiet. In the morning the breakfast was very good and the staff helpful and friendly. This is a well located hotel, next to the University and a short distance from the Coastal Drive and Giant's Causeway. I would certainly stay on another occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ARugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
0.8 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
715 reviews
1.7 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
756 reviews
7 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,961 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromore Halt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromore Halt Inn

Address: 158 Station Road, Portstewart BT55 7PU, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Price Range: $103 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cromore Halt Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cromore Halt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromore Halt Hotel Portstewart
Cromore Halt Inn Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing