We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderlful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strandeen Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Furstenfeldbruck, Germany
1 review
“Wonderlful B&B”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

It was a woderful and cosy place, the owners of Strandeen are more than helpful. You can sit in the evening in the comfortable living room with an open fire place enjoying the great sea view. The Hotel is very, very tidy and clean and the bedrooms are more than comfortable. All in all one of the best hotels we ever stayed!!! Thanks a lot, Debbie!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evi-guenther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
132
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bornem, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2010

If you ever think about walking the coastline in County Antrim or visiting all the famous places of the Giant Causeway and the Glenns of Antrim, I can advise everyone to rent a car and get yourself a week in B&B Strandeen. This B&B could not be compared with the others we slept in: it was clean, well managed, quiet, it had a spectacular view from the rooms and the dining room, the breakfast was perfectly cooked (for once the eggs and mushrooms were not droused in fat), the interior is very nice and most important, the people who run Strandeen are friendly and can give good advise where to eat, where to go and how to get there. We immediately felt at home. Now we walked from Cushendal to Port Stewart to get an impression of Antrim but although we love walking, we wouldn't do it again. There is a lot to see and to explore and you have more freedom with a car.

What can you do from Port Stewart:

- Take the train (nice coastline views and some waterfalls to see) to Londonderry/Derry and walk over the old city walls.
- Walk over the beach and the Ulster way to Portrush.
- Get a look at the basaltformations of the Giant Causeway (by car), do the effort to climb the stairs to enjoy the spectacular view from above. If you have the chance to go very early or late at night, do it, you will have the scenery for you alone.
- The national trust owns the carrick - a - rede bridge in Ballintoy. You can find many tourists there but it is nice to walk the bridge and enjoy the seascenery. Make sure you go to Ballintoy harbour and take your walking shoes with you to explore the giant white beach and its path that lies behind Ballintoy harbour.
- Explore the glenns of Antrim by driving to Glenarif Forest Park or walking parts of the Moyle way (park your car in Ballycastle).
- Visit Belfast (1 1/2 hour by train).
- Off course there are other possibilities but either we didn't have time to visit them or we weren't that interested (the other site of Port Stewart (county Donegal I believe), Bushmills, Ballymoney, Cushendun, ...).

So if you go to Northern Ireland, we really can recommend staying at Strandeen.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElkeS_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The family and dogs make you feel very welcome. Debbie was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and places to visit. The rooms were by far the best we stayed in while touring Ireland on a 3 week vacation; the rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable, and everything worked in the bathrooms. The location has a good view, even when it rains. It is a healthy walk to the town center which is not a problem on a sunny day. In the rain, it is a bit much. If we go back to Port Stewart, this B&B would be our first choice.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilkeeKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Strandeen is just above the Coastal Path, with wonderful seaside views. We had started our day at the Giants' Causeway and walked through Port Ballintrae and Port Rush to Port Stewart. There were good restaurants a short walk away and coming 'home' to the lovely lounge and breakfast room was delightful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grace4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israeli American
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Strandeen may well be my favorite spot on earth. Tucked away in the little fishing town of Portstewart, Strandeen is the essence of Northern Irish beauty. It also houses the most gracious of caretakers Gary and Debbie. I was welcomed into Strandeen after driving the coastal road, needing a well located place to sleep after climbing the ropes bridge and my way round to Donnegal. I ended up staying for days, in this beautiful home with leather coaches, a picture window over looking the ocean, a minutes walk from the seaside where men and women walk there happy dogs, and the most beautiful light house awaited me climbing out into the sea to sit quietly and reflect. Gary and Debbie became family, like family, as their home turned into my refuge. And is now a place I return on a regular basis to visit them, the horses they breed and...my light house.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhavaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

My friends and I visited Strandeen Guest House in June, what a marvellous welcome we had with hosts in Debbie and Gary, they are the perfect hosts very welcoming and helpful. Our rooms were very nice indeed and the facilities of the house first class. It is located just a few minutes walk from the town centre in a quiet residential location and has wonderful views of the beach and sea. We when we return to Port Stewart will definately be booking in advance to stay at the Strandeen. The dining room is lovely and the breakfast just gorgeous. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this accomodation to anyone. You would have to go a long way to meet such considerate and nice people as Debbie and Gary Blaney.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calsumdai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
test
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We only stayed for one night over the easter break but wished we had stayed for more. The view over the strand beach was fantastic and the front room which is for guests use is pure luxury. A large leather sofa and a roaring log fire were put to good use whilst taking in the view and relaxing after a day walking along the beaches.

The room was a good size although a king size bed instead of a double would have been my only improvement. The shower room and decor were all new and looked very clean and upmarket.

Breakfast in the morning was a good selection of cereals with any type of Ulster fry you could imagine plus a selection of breads to choose from. Very good indeed.

Easy walking distance to Portstewart town centre about 10 minutes away, and the strand beach along the coastal path is also about 10 minutes away. Room for car parking at the rear of the property or on the quiet side street beside the property.
I would thoroughly recommend staying here and will no doubt return soon.

Thanks to Debbie and Gary for making it an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a4turbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
8.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
3.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandeen Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandeen Bed and Breakfast

Property: Strandeen Bed and Breakfast
Address: 63 Strand Road, Portstewart BT55 7LU, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Strandeen Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strandeen is a luxury 5 star Boutique Bed and Breakfast sitting just above the bay and sandy beaches of Portstewart Strand with stunning panoramic views over the Atlantic Ocean. A gateway to the causeway Coastal Route, World Heritage sites, breath taking scenery and culture like nowhere else in the World. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities equipped with White Company toiletries, fluffy white robes, towels and slippers; pocket sprung beds are dressed with crisp white cotton sheets and all the necessary mod cons are available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Food is locally sourced, organic where possible. The emphasis is on comfort and luxury with the ability to relax and rest in the homely comforts we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Strandeen Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strandeen Bed And Breakfast Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing